Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2024 Crowd Watch

APPSY

Melbourne on a Friday with no fumbleball on should sell out AAMI. 25k plus.

Penrith! and Cronulla should be pushing 50k but will probably land in the low to mid 40s.
Considering the AFL's Grand Final Parade is also that day along with their Footy Fest, could see some walk ups for the Storm game too; They're Vic's last hope at getting any title this year.

And with all due respect to both fanbases (coming from a Titans fan...), I think anything less than 50k is piss poor. Sharkies showed how much they can get to a final back in 2016. Panthers are the hottest ticket in town right now, and have a lot of support.

mattyg

Great crowd tonight. A bit of a shame it’s not Panthers v Roosters next week at Accor (aka west v east). Could have been looking at 60k plus. I think it will get 40-45k which would be a bit disappointing considering a week 1 final got over 50k

I'm in Melbourne this weekend and now the last Victorian team has been eliminated from the AFL, they seem a bit lost as to who to go for and certainly won't be piling into the MCG as if there was a Victorian team.

As a result I think the NRL draws well and can sell out on Friday night.

Accor Stadium has been confirmed as the venue for Panthers vs Sharks:

1726925673377.png

Historically, here's a list of crowd attendances for all-Sydney preliminary finals at Accor Stadium:
- 74,549 Canterbury Bulldogs vs Parramatta Eels (2009)
- 71,212 St George Illawarra Dragons vs Wests Tigers (2010)
- 70,354 Canterbury Bulldogs vs South Sydney Rabbitohs (2012)
- 52,592 South Sydney Rabbitohs vs Sydney Roosters (2014)
- 51,827 Cronulla Sharks vs St George Illawarra Dragons (1999)
- 50,035 Penrith Panthers vs South Sydney Rabbitohs (2022)
- 46,168 Canterbury Bulldogs vs Penrith Panthers (2014)
- 44,546 Manly Sea Eagles vs South Sydney Rabbitohs (2013)

The Panthers and the Sharks aren't the highest possible drawing fixture for a preliminary final in Sydney, so you'd expect it to be closer to that 45,000 mark.

SLRBRONCOS

I wonder if they’ll see how the crowd is building and if too slow they’ll run an incentive like last year.

Some Penrith fans will remember last year and will be waiting/hoping.

RedVee

As a Saints fan I’m a bit out of the action at semifinal time :) , and this year I’m overseas- so really out of the loop.

But I thought the tradition was that both prelim finals were held at the Olympic Stadium? Obviously that’s changed. I must have forgot.

Jamberoo

I'm in Melbourne this weekend and now the last Victorian team has been eliminated from the AFL, they seem a bit lost as to who to go for and certainly won't be piling into the MCG as if there was a Victorian team.

As a result I think the NRL draws well and can sell out on Friday night.

Accor Stadium has been confirmed as the venue for Panthers vs Sharks:

View attachment 94475

Historically, here's a list of crowd attendances for all-Sydney preliminary finals at Accor Stadium:
- 74,549 Canterbury Bulldogs vs Parramatta Eels (2009)
- 71,212 St George Illawarra Dragons vs Wests Tigers (2010)
- 70,354 Canterbury Bulldogs vs South Sydney Rabbitohs (2012)
- 52,592 South Sydney Rabbitohs vs Sydney Roosters (2014)
- 51,827 Cronulla Sharks vs St George Illawarra Dragons (1999)
- 50,035 Penrith Panthers vs South Sydney Rabbitohs (2022)
- 46,168 Canterbury Bulldogs vs Penrith Panthers (2014)
- 44,546 Manly Sea Eagles vs South Sydney Rabbitohs (2013)

The Panthers and the Sharks aren't the highest possible drawing fixture for a preliminary final in Sydney, so you'd expect it to be closer to that 45,000 mark.
Why do you think the teams playing in the AFL GF will have a
bearing on the Storm crowd? It is a public holiday Friday and will be a full house regardless.

Jordan23

Got to say considering the teams towards the top of the ladder are some of the “smaller” fan bases we have done incredibly well smash our season attendance records.
If the dragons had made the semis and gone into week 2, we could have potentially sold out 7/9 finals games

Vee

One thing I'm pissed about Allianz is why not build it to 50k when it was razed, instead of giving it the same capacity? Those extra seats would still be great viewing

Does little to future proof and cater for bigger events
They spent all the cash on gold plating.

Wb1234

As a Saints fan I’m a bit out of the action at semifinal time :) , and this year I’m overseas- so really out of the loop.

But I thought the tradition was that both prelim finals were held at the Olympic Stadium? Obviously that’s changed. I must have forgot.
One was always at the sfs the other at homebush dunno why tho

SouthsCountry

Was at Friday night's game, got out of there okay, and had a great time as a neutral. Sharks fans that did go, the proper diehards, were in full voice, would have been a great atmosphere if more showed up. I did catch the train at 2pm though knowing there'd be trouble later.

Heaps of Swans fans were leaving with 15 to go in their game as I walked past the SCG.

A mate of mine stayed until the end of the Swans game and couldn't get a train until after 1am.

Also on a side note was in rebel sport in the city and some guy walked in and bought a Swans scarf because he "needed one before the game"...bandwagon effect in full force

One more side note, the Swans had a live site and all these things which I checked out when walking past. When I got to the front of Allianz...nothing. It's not like we're short on resources, it's literally out the front of Rugby League Central. We need to fo better on that front.

titoelcolombiano

Considering the AFL's Grand Final Parade is also that day along with their Footy Fest, could see some walk ups for the Storm game too; They're Vic's last hope at getting any title this year.

And with all due respect to both fanbases (coming from a Titans fan...), I think anything less than 50k is piss poor. Sharkies showed how much they can get to a final back in 2016. Panthers are the hottest ticket in town right now, and have a lot of support.
Both AFL grand finalists are Victorian teams pretending to be NSWelshmen and Queenslanders, just like Victorian citizens that pour over the border in record numbers. Plague...

Hopefully Sharks and Panthers do 50k but we are talking two of the smaller fan bases unfortunately.

titoelcolombiano

Ideal top 8 for maximising crowds regular season and finals?

Dogs, Eels, Dragons, Souths, Newcastle, Broncos, Warriors, Dolphins?

This takes into consideration having stadium capacities and fan bases high enough to capitalise on their success and / or ability to swell away crowds significantly.

Honourable mention: Tigers

Omott91

Ideal top 8 for maximising crowds regular season and finals?

Dogs, Eels, Dragons, Souths, Newcastle, Broncos, Warriors, Dolphins?

This takes into consideration having stadium capacities and fan bases high enough to capitalise on their success and / or ability to swell away crowds significantly.

Honourable mention: Tigers
Drop the Dragons, their ground capacity is to small during the regular season to be considered as they'll never average more than 17/18k.