Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025 Rabbitohs Round 7 - Vs Bulldogs

themacemaceman

Well a big TLT. Interesting Cody and Trell in the halves. Only issue I have with that is we might lack some direction but I tells me Wayne is going for all out attack. Be interesting to see which one of Cody or Trell plays right? Also I’m a bit shocked Dodd wasn’t named at 7 that says a lot to me about where the club think Dodd is at. There have been rumblings Wayne isn’t too impressed with him and it shows if Cody is fit that Dodd still can’t make it into the 7 jersey with Sullivan and Humphreys out.

A mate said to me Campbell on wing a bit of a waste I said to him what do you expect with AJ, Rava and Munro out. Stretch has played wing for Australia before and I like him there as well. Tass needs to be better this week if we had fit enough troops I think he would have been dropped.

Aitken stays at centre too which I guess has to happen for now.

Massive boost with Keppie free to play that will help. For us to be in this the forwards must aim up big time this week they didn’t last week. Also we can’t let in soft tries we need to be much better.

Finally I do expect we will have to beat 18 men this week. Cmon Souths pull off a win for the ages I’ll be very emotional if we can do it.

Let’s hope and pray Cody passes the fitness test on Thursday.

Level 6 tickets still quite cheap and selling a few bays sold out on one side!

Dogs fans are all saying now that Gerard Sutton isn’t ref they’ll win easy. I’d love to wipe the smile off their faces.
I wonder if Wayne is playing games and Intended to Start Dodd but didn’t want all the pressure and questions from the media that naming him at 7 would generate.
Having said that , it would be a big ask for Dodd to come in to one of the biggest games of the year and I front of a huge crowd and start at 7.
This game is a big test for us.

speedster

Will be 26 degrees on Friday arvo. We have had a couple of day games in the heat against the Dragons and Sharks and are 1-1 on that score. Certainly, fatigue set in in both games before halftime and for most of the 2nd half. Both games had Souths behind on the scoreboard but Souths won the 2nd half both times demonstrating superior fitness.

I suspect the heat might advantage Souths by slowing down the Dogs intensity in defence well before full time. Providing Souths don't get blown away early before the heat takes it's toll, like we did against the Sharks, this could go down to the wire yet again and Souths have form coming back and finishing the stronger in the heat late.

Dogmatix

Cowboys game in Perth was also warm. Was 26.6 degrees in Perth at 3pm last Saturday and the player interviewed at halftime said the conditions were tough. Cowboys won the 2nd half by 6

Dogmatix

Cody did not train on Tuesday

Rabbitohs: Cody Walker has been named to return from a hamstring injury but he still has a couple of hoops to jump through. "Captain’s run will be his fitness test. He trained [Monday] and was off the legs [Tuesday] because he’s older now. They’ve got to get the old fella off his legs and rest him as much as possible," forward Jai Arrow told media. Englishman Lewis Dodd has been named on the bench for his first NRL game while Josh Schuster has been listed among the reserves after returning to the field in NSW Cup last weekend.

Steenson123

Canterbury
Will be 26 degrees on Friday arvo. We have had a couple of day games in the heat against the Dragons and Sharks and are 1-1 on that score. Certainly, fatigue set in in both games before halftime and for most of the 2nd half. Both games had Souths behind on the scoreboard but Souths won the 2nd half both times demonstrating superior fitness.

I suspect the heat might advantage Souths by slowing down the Dogs intensity in defence well before full time. Providing Souths don't get blown away early before the heat takes it's toll, like we did against the Sharks, this could go down to the wire yet again and Souths have form coming back and finishing the stronger in the heat late.
Canterbury may be "mongrel" like etc BUT they are NOT Melbourne nor Penrith at their top level. There is a worldly gap between Bellamy and Cleary v Bulldogs. Look they have players such as Salmon and Taafe in their lineup. Others too.
Provided we have had a physical freshner - I do not know how much tyre tread came off travelling 5000km in warm, oxygen deprived April conditions - BUT if they have sufficient legs this can be won. Lets all stop this nonsense how "awesome" it would be to sink Canterbury!
We are 6-0 in the past few years against them on Good Friday we have sunk them in two GFs and if the squad is physically good we can sink them again. We sunk Penrith did we not when everybody selected them too!
Be confident, Burt has done this type of thing for several decades. One thinks his team is dead then Presto! We need a dominant performance by Mitchell, need him to be fired up and the forwards to do what they did v. Cleary. Cleary lets recall had a FULL PACK that night and he was desperate to win. Play like this and keep turnovers to a minimum and we shall sink them.

They’ve sold 57,000 tickets and I don’t think this includes Souths reciprocal rights members so if you add about 8,000 of those or thereabouts we are at about 65,000 that’s before ticket sales tonight and walk ups tomorrow.

themacemaceman

D
They’ve sold 57,000 tickets and I don’t think this includes Souths reciprocal rights members so if you add about 8,000 of those or thereabouts we are at about 65,000 that’s before ticket sales tonight and walk ups tomorrow.
Do they still give free entry with Easter show tickets ? That will Bring in a few too if that’s still a thing.

speedster

Canterbury

Canterbury may be "mongrel" like etc BUT they are NOT Melbourne nor Penrith at their top level. There is a worldly gap between Bellamy and Cleary v Bulldogs. Look they have players such as Salmon and Taafe in their lineup. Others too.
Provided we have had a physical freshner - I do not know how much tyre tread came off travelling 5000km in warm, oxygen deprived April conditions - BUT if they have sufficient legs this can be won. Lets all stop this nonsense how "awesome" it would be to sink Canterbury!
We are 6-0 in the past few years against them on Good Friday we have sunk them in two GFs and if the squad is physically good we can sink them again. We sunk Penrith did we not when everybody selected them too!
Be confident, Burt has done this type of thing for several decades. One thinks his team is dead then Presto! We need a dominant performance by Mitchell, need him to be fired up and the forwards to do what they did v. Cleary. Cleary lets recall had a FULL PACK that night and he was desperate to win. Play like this and keep turnovers to a minimum and we shall sink them.
They are deserved favourites based on recent form. History is history and has no bearing on this new era where the Dogs are back to being a tough nut to crack. We're lucky they hadn't quite cracked the code this time last year because if we had to meet them later in the season when they grew an extra arm and leg, they would have toweled us up. That doesn't mean we can't win tomorrow of course and I give us a decent chance providing we get everything right on the day.

Souths to win!!!

speedster

Wayne has made it clear Schuster will be playing "State Cup" this weekend but will be in the frame if he keeps playing and he'll be closer to selection in 1sts down the track.

Probably best case scenario for our backline. Everyone in their specialist positions. I think that means Aitken to the backrow or the bench.
I’m pushed for time been a busy week so a shorter preview!

What an occasion today will be a history breaker going to be about 70,000 there it’s going to be bonkas. The Dogs have been on fire absolute fire to start the year they have threats all over the park. It’ll be a very hostile environment out there today 75percent Dogs fans. But we will have our faithful out there loud and proud too. Boy I’d love nothing more to knock them off with how arrogant their supporter base currently is.

We will be near the Burrow and it’s time to get that South Sydney chant up loud and proud. We are all ready to get right into Atkins as well that’s for sure.

Cmon boys let’s make this a memorable Friday one for the ages! All the pressure is on the Dogs not us!

Everyone get your colours on and FIRE THE f**k UP!!

GLORY GLORY LETS GO RABBITOHS!!!

speedster

I'm sure there will be some positional switching going on but whether that is before kick off or during the game only Wayne knows.

Campbell Graham is the biggest in for this game for mine as it shores up our defence on our right edge and gives us a leaping target for high kicks into the opposition's in goal. He's a sight for sore eyes.

Lots of happy, smiling faces in the captain's run training pics which is always a good sign I feel.

The Dogs have been very good as the hunters fighting their way up the standings but how will they go today as the hunted? How will they handle being clear favourites and seen as heavy weight contenders after their bright start to the season on the back of making finals last year? Will they handle the pressure or will it get to them being expected to win in front of a packed stadium in a finals-like atmosphere?

Souths can go in as the underdogs looking to spoil the party with no added pressure than our own expectations. And if we can start well, it will add even more pressure on the Dogs throughout the game.

Can't wait.

Who on here is going besides me? We are on our way.

I know people coming from 6-7 hours drive away for this game.

Steenson123

Not s
I'm sure there will be some positional switching going on but whether that is before kick off or during the game only Wayne knows.

Campbell Graham is the biggest in for this game for mine as it shores up our defence on our right edge and gives us a leaping target for high kicks into the opposition's in goal. He's a sight for sore eyes.

Lots of happy, smiling faces in the captain's run training pics which is always a good sign I feel.

The Dogs have been very good as the hunters fighting their way up the standings but how will they go today as the hunted? How will they handle being clear favourites and seen as heavy weight contenders after their bright start to the season on the back of making finals last year? Will they handle the pressure or will it get to them being expected to win in front of a packed stadium in a finals-like atmosphere?

Souths can go in as the underdogs looking to spoil the party with no added pressure than our own expectations. And if we can start well, it will add even more pressure on the Dogs throughout the game.

Can't wait.
Not sure exactly how many times The Loft has to say this but I shall re-state it: Canterbury will win nothing they will come up short and they are not and never will be Bellamy's Melbourne or Cleary's Penrith. Let us quit the nonsense that they are "awesome" or the like.

speedster

Not s

Not sure exactly how many times The Loft has to say this but I shall re-state it: Canterbury will win nothing they will come up short and they are not and never will be Bellamy's Melbourne or Cleary's Penrith. Let us quit the nonsense that they are "awesome" or the like.
Settle down mate and stop telling people to "quit" and "stop" giving their opinions and any other BS please. Just talk footy and stop shit talking.