Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2025 Rabbitohs Round 7 - Vs Bulldogs

BotanyBorn&Bred

He seems to find a way though, doesn't he.
I watched Havilli do the same thing, received a line drop out at the halfway line, tottered forward trying to find someone else to take it up. Thinks he's first receiver ball playing forward who don't like being tackled.
What a football team.
Yeah I saw that.

BotanyBorn&Bred

I agree with earlier comments about Keaon too. I am also frustrated by his skip and pause as he runs into the line like many other fans. I think he uses the skip to load up power and bump into the defence but it's not exactly a winning tactic.

So, with Hubby out for next week with Cat 1 symptoms, I would love to see Wayne stick Keaon in the 13 with the hope it ignites his form the way it did last year. Aitken is ready to slip into that edge role by now.

Hoping AJ is back again - not sure how long this time for him - heard almost nothing. But we need him back on the left outside Latrell, Campbell back to right centre with Myers perhaps outside him as Tass has been very poor of late and needs a spell in reggies. And I think it's time to give Jack a run at 5/8 with Cody and Dodd sharing the 7 role while Humph is out. Cody didn't look fully fit to me yesterday or was it father time holding him back?

My side for next week - Gray, AJ?, Trell, CG, Myers, Wighton, Cody, Keppie, Mamo, Tats, Arrow, Aitken, Keaon - bench - Tallis, Havili, Moale, Dodd.
Sullivan will be available, I wonder what happens to him?

speedster

Ideally, Cody would make a very good 14, but I don't think it's likely, or it would sit well with him
As he comes to the end of his career, whether that's this year or next, he will increasingly be mentoring the next gen to take over and I am pretty sure he has spoken about wanting to coach n the future so I don't think he would mind stepping back gradually and letting the younger blokes take over. Jye Gray is a wonderful runner of the football so it would be great to learn the finer arts of ball playing from a master of that craft like Cody.

Not sure round 8 2025 is when that starts to happen though. Probably still a bit too soon.

speedster

Sullivan will be available, I wonder what happens to him?
Yeah, forgot about him initially - I would say Dodd/Sullivan gets bracketed and it's up to Wayne to make the final call. Dodd had precious little chance to show anything in the circumstances yesterday but, still he didn't. Whereas Bud did help us win the match against the chooks.

I can’t judge anyone much yesterday all things considered up against a full strength Dogs whilst we weren’t full strength off a 6 day turnaround from Perth and up against Atkins! I’ve told you all about him over the years.

See why below….

Mahoney knock on 4mins in, Burton 2 metres offside on second try, Keaon dominant tackle six again called on tackle 5, then Havili with ball in tackle 5 getting up to play it there was a leg pull and dragged him down again Atkins calls milking……. Kikau not binned etc…. The list goes on. When you play a top side and you get done on all these calls it makes it hard add on the sin bin and Hubner HIA actually mate I thought we’d lose 52-0 so 32-0 doesn’t feel as bad to be honest.

I tip the opposition now whenever we get Atkins it’s the new rule I made. The club actually put in an official complaint 2-3 years ago about Atkins not that it’ll do anything.

We still would’ve lost but it’s the principle all points for and against are crucial for differential as well and could be the difference between making the 8 or not.

One big concern I do have is after round 6/7 we have made the lowest metres I think out of any side in the comp per game. Metres in the pack is a a big issue everyone knows we are missing a solid hard running prop but Solly thinks it’s a mythology.

Steenson123

You were/are 101% correct re At
I can’t judge anyone much yesterday all things considered up against a full strength Dogs whilst we weren’t full strength off a 6 day turnaround from Perth and up against Atkins! I’ve told you all about him over the years.

See why below….

Mahoney knock on 4mins in, Burton 2 metres offside on second try, Keaon dominant tackle six again called on tackle 5, then Havili with ball in tackle 5 getting up to play it there was a leg pull and dragged him down again Atkins calls milking……. Kikau not binned etc…. The list goes on. When you play a top side and you get done on all these calls it makes it hard add on the sin bin and Hubner HIA actually mate I thought we’d lose 52-0 so 32-0 doesn’t feel as bad to be honest.

I tip the opposition now whenever we get Atkins it’s the new rule I made. The club actually put in an official complaint 2-3 years ago about Atkins not that it’ll do anything.

We still would’ve lost but it’s the principle all points for and against are crucial for differential as well and could be the difference between making the 8 or not.
You were/are correct re Atkins. A First Class Malaka! Even the COMMENTATORS TWICE noted that his rulings on Mahony's fumble and Wighton's lost ball were a let off for Canterbury. His bias was further evident on punishing Aiken twice and continually given them penalties and turnovers.
This looked a FIX from the start. Betting trends and pre-game interviews and complete focus on dopey Canetrbury [I still maintain they will win zero] was re-inforced by Atkins's poor perfromance. Very poor indeed.

Steenson123

In sum, The Loft looking forward, notes the following:
1. The Offense has become offensive. Sterile and poor kick and chase game. Burt must address this pronto or else the Demetriou/Hornby era will begin to look reasonable.
2. Mitchell has to become explosive. Ignite a fire under him. Can Burt figure it out because at present Mitchell is a complete passenger, a sightseeing tourist. Invisible and plodding.
3. The Loft suggests, given the urgency expressed in the above points, Mitchell back to FB [surely he is much fitter now] Wighton to 6, Graham and Tass as centres. Walker at 7 [if he is able to stretch out fully] and Alex on one flank. Try Gray on the other at least he provides speed and enthusiasm.
The squad won 5 straight in a busted season and played quite well with Wighton and Walker as the halves. Wighton has won a CC Medal, a real honour yet he, like Mitchell, is almost invisble at present. Non factors.
If Walker is crook, then try Dodd at 7. As the weather cools he may hit form, he has already proven he can win at a high level. Perhaps more confidence needs to placed in him because his palmares clearly indicates he can play.

Eric the great

Some calls for Trell to take back the #1. Everyone already knows my feelings on this but just remember Jye was one of the only ones who could hold his head high after that debacle.
I don’t think those calls would be coming from south’s supporters we are all in awe of jyes form week in week out he is proving he is a first grade footballer on another topic Wayne has come out today and stated he doesn’t understand some of the ref and bunker decisions and punishments that are being dished out

BotanyBorn&Bred

The officiating was disgraceful. I normally don't like to blame the refs but they played a big part in that result.
Yeah, but in spite of that, they double down on us.
Kikau escapes suspension with a clear swinging arm closed fist punch to the head of Campbell Graham.
3 years ago that was an automatic send off and 2 weeks suspension.
If Kikau had have got Campbell in the jaw instead of the eyebrow, he would have broken his jaw 100%.
And where would Campbell and Souths be???

doyen

Wayne obviously doesn't know the rules of the game any more---I don't ;you don't---the refs ,most definitely don't, either--no wonder the games a shambles---we're playing 'bung rules."

Souths Till I Die

Wayne obviously doesn't know the rules of the game any more---I don't ;you don't---the refs ,most definitely don't, either--no wonder the games a shambles---we're playing 'bung rules."

It's a bit of a difficult situation. Obviously the NRL wants to protect the players but the current state of the NRL now promotes diving and staying down. It's slowly turning into high level soccer. Some players don't really have any kinds of sportsmanship and will get down on their knees like they're praying just to get a penalty. The NRL is setting a dangerous precedent and some games this year have been ruined by the officiating.

In saying all that we were bad on Good Friday. We couldn't complete our sets and we were getting demolished through the middle. I can understand why Wayne wanted Matt Lodge because we are currently being bullied through the middle. Cowboys did it last week, Bulldogs did it this week and the Storm will be focusing in on it this week.

speedster

We need another strong middle, that's for sure. We usually manage a mid-season signing and they said I think we have $150k still available in the cap when they were talking about Smith. We don't need Smith to come over this season. Use the $150k for a power prop forward.