Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2SM and Talkin' Sport.

I worked with a bloke that used to produce the show, pretty sure Hughes buys the air time from the station and then gets all advertising revenue.

I have a mate who had a specialty show on 2SM in the mid 2000's. He said it worked on this model. They bought the air time (for $300 an hour!) but had to source their own advertising. 2SM provided the newsreaders and traffic (at absolutely bargain basement prices).

After working in media sales I would speculate Hughes would be flat out covering the couple of hundred grand per year he would negotiate in broadcast fees and have enough left over to pay himself and "the boys" the most meagre of wages.

Thanks Frank Discussion.

That explains why Heaps is so keen to go to advertisements at about 5-6 mins prior to the 4pm 5pm 6pm break

Sounds like it works (it just works, it really works,) for Hughes otherwise they wouldn't be on the air still.

For sure. But lets work on that $300 an hour figure. The show is on for 10 months, 4 hours a day and at those rates it would cost him $240k in broadcast fees*. Put salaries on that and you are up to over 300k!

He'd be better off doing a self produced podcast.

*I can only assume he has negotiated a better rate than that because it seems a huge number given the caliber of his advertisers (Like Elanra).

Talkin Sport was started in 03 or 04 with the belief that they would hopefully obtained the NRL rights to call some games so that they could make some good coin.
Gallop stopped all that with not giving the rights to call games in 2006 and ever since.

Thats my take on things anyway,

Life's Good

Talkin Sport was started in 03 or 04 with the belief that they would hopefully obtained the NRL rights to call some games so that they could make some good coin.
Gallop stopped all that with not giving the rights to call games in 2006 and ever since.

Thats my take on things anyway,
So they have been stealing oxygen for that long.

Iafeta

They're creating oxygen emission credits with Elanra. It simply works.

If they are on that model, if I was Heaps I'd take Robbo out the back and massacre him. It'd be justifiable homicide

undertaker

Salaries. I'm guessing Hughes $150k, Tunks $70k, Robertson $90k (isn't he sort of like the producer?), Papworth $60k. Hughes is probably the only one with any mainstream appeal because he was a very successful play by play man.

WHAT! No....way......at......all......

All of the above would be very lucky to be on half the amounts you've stated. I know their programs are syndicated to other radio stations in regional NSW/QLD, but John Laws already takes up the vast majority of whatever money is available to pay the presenters of 2SM. Lawsy would be the only one there that'd be comfortably on 6 figures, and even then, its a nice, generous 6 figures given the large number of vacations and sick days he takes, a pattern which started towards the end of his time at 2UE and lead to his first 'retirement' as ratings sharply declined and it was costing 2UE so much that they had to deduct money from his salary to make up for the inordinate amount of sick leave he was taking.

Iafeta

Lawsy loves a sick day. Robbo on the other hand turns up rain hail or shine, sick or not. It's the only feasible explanation for his performance

Iafeta

First call of the day was Mike. Rang in to say he had a very good time on his tour of Northern France. Included a five minute discussion on using Collins French book as it's a good way to learn phrases in French.

I kid you not. This dribble got air time. Considerable air time. Worst thing is mantits Tunks is now using bonjour as his joke Dejuere, sorry, joke of the day.

Mike talking about France is 1000 x better than when Clem would call and ramble on about his son who is a body builder.
ITS A SPORTS SHOW PEOPLE....TALK FRICKEN SPORT!!!!!

Eion

There's plenty of jimmy russling over their mates son Jarrod getting 4 years when those cheats from cronulla only got a couple weeks! Love it

Life's Good

Mike talking about France is 1000 x better than when Clem would call and ramble on about his son who is a body builder.
ITS A SPORTS SHOW PEOPLE....TALK FRICKEN SPORT!!!!!
You're wrong. Its only a sports show between :

Hughes editorials about the Coffs Harbour scandal.
Hughes telling us how bad the Tigers board is because they won't spare him 10 minutes for an interview.
Tunks cracking 'jokes' about the Steelers
Tunks telling us how boards should be run
Gavin explaining theory of relativity
Gavin telling us how GWS are bigger than the Beatles

Generalzod

First call of the day was Mike. Rang in to say he had a very good time on his tour of Northern France. Included a five minute discussion on using Collins French book as it's a good way to learn phrases in French.

I kid you not. This dribble got air time. Considerable air time. Worst thing is mantits Tunks is now using bonjour as his joke Dejuere, sorry, joke of the day.
Tunks pretending to be cultured person. lol

Iafeta

The big Os list for today. From players who started at new clubs for 2017, name the good the bad and the ugly moves. Of course every move fits into one of those, so basically the list became recite to us fifteen players who moved clubs.

Genius stuff.

As much as I don't like Tedesco going to Siemens Sydney City, it was still worth it to hear Robbos epic moan as he went through every phase of grief over it.

Robbo doesn't give a shit about the Tigers. He just uses them to fit in with the rugby league theme of the show. He is a flogball/soccer wanker who played cricket.