Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2SM and Talkin' Sport.

MilkShark

The worst part of the show is now the piece they do with Big leagues ''boss'' Maria whatever the fk her name is.

It's like an open book test.

If they don;t tell her in advance what they are going to ask she wouldn't be able to answer the questions.

undertaker

He Kinda reminds me of defence in the film falling down he also used to stay in his car and pretend he was going to work.

LOL!

Well, we all know it was his close connection with Mark Taylor/Steve Waugh at NSW as to why he wore the baggy green for 4 tests (especially in an era when it was extremely difficult to get into the test team, where you had to consistently perform well at Sheffield Shield to be even considered for test selection, and baggy green caps weren't handed out like Weet-Bix cards compared to today). The 2nd and 3rd paragraphs in this article below make no secret of the fact Gav would've still been managing grocery shelves for the remainder of his cricket career if it wasn't for knowing friends in high places:

http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/623022.html

Also, with Gav and his 'motivational speaking' in schools, maybe he's trying to score a gig as an assistant or warm-up boy at Tony Robbins' next seminar in Australia.

Interestingly, I found a pic of his daughter (don't know if this is the same child as the one in that video), who just coincidentally is engaged to one of the GWS players. Maybe this finally explains why Gav has been spruiking GWS on 2SM

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CahjcfSUMAES8nH.jpg

Eion

LOL!

Well, we all know it was his close connection with Mark Taylor and Steve Waugh at NSW (as well as his involvement with Six & Out, who were all mates of those two) as to why he wore the baggy green for 4 tests. The 2nd and 3rd paragraphs in this article make no secret of that:

Also, I never knew Gav did motivational speaking as well. Maybe trying to break into the same field as the likes of Tony Robbins.

Interestingly, found a pic of his daughter (don't know if this is the same child as the one in that video), who just coincidentally is engaged to one of the GWS players. Maybe this finally explains why Gav has been spruiking GWS on 2SM

He's been spruiking GWS because he's a paid "Corporate Partnerships Ambassador" for the AFL for almost 10 years and specifically for the GWS the last couple.

undertaker

He's been spruiking GWS because he's a paid "Corporate Partnerships Ambassador" for the AFL for almost 10 years and specifically for the GWS the last couple.

Has he ever disclosed that on 2SM whenever he waxs lyrical over GWS? Could be another cash-for-comment type situation here.

Eion

Has he ever disclosed that on 2SM whenever he waxs lyrical over GWS? Could be another cash-for-comment type situation here.
I have heard it mentioned vaguely in the past.

But to be done in cash for comment, you need cash (he probably gets a $10 woollies voucher and GWS cap once a year) and people need to hear the comment. The only people listening are incoherent morons and those desperate enough for any NRL fix they'll tune in half an hour before vomiting blood.

taipan

LOL!

Well, we all know it was his close connection with Mark Taylor/Steve Waugh at NSW as to why he wore the baggy green for 4 tests (especially in an era when it was extremely difficult to get into the test team, where you had to consistently perform well at Sheffield Shield to be even considered for test selection, and baggy green caps weren't handed out like Weet-Bix cards compared to today). The 2nd and 3rd paragraphs in this article below make no secret of the fact Gav would've still been managing grocery shelves for the remainder of his cricket career if it wasn't for knowing friends in high places:

Also, with Gav and his 'motivational speaking' in schools, maybe he's trying to score a gig as an assistant or warm-up boy at Tony Robbins' next seminar in Australia.

Interestingly, I found a pic of his daughter (don't know if this is the same child as the one in that video), who just coincidentally is engaged to one of the GWS players. Maybe this finally explains why Gav has been spruiking GWS on 2SM

That's outstanding news,in fact I thought Gav (the way he carries on)might have been engaged to one of the Gnat's stars.

The worst part of the show is now the piece they do with Big leagues ''boss'' Maria whatever the fk her name is.

It's like an open book test.

If they don;t tell her in advance what they are going to ask she wouldn't be able to answer the questions.

It is utterly awful. She sounds about 12 years old and has no idea about football. Long gone ard thr days of Neil Cadigan. No wonder I haven't bought a Big League in 10 years.

undertaker

Is it my imagination or not that Talkin Sport also used to be on Sunday? Not 100% sure, but think I recall back in 2008 (NRL Centenary Year) listening to it on a Sunday arvo.

Life's Good

Is it my imagination or not that Talkin Sport also used to be on Sunday? Not 100% sure, but think I recall back in 2008 (NRL Centenary Year) listening to it on a Sunday arvo.
I think that's right. I am certain Jimmy Smith was part of it then(weekdays & Sundays)but recall he left over not getting paid.

Talkin sport was on Sundays in 2006. I called them after Newcastle Canberra game when 102 points were scored.

How about the spiel on drugs being a wider community issue yesterday.

Robbo pipes up with "yeah well I remember a well known band (pretty sure he said the name f**ked if I can remember who,) and if you wanted to know all that was going on, well, you'd just go and talk to their sound guy..."

There was a two second silence while the others tried to figure out if Robbo was going somewhere with this or that was the story.

I swear Frenzal wrote Punisher about Robbo.

taipan

I remember many years ago, calling them and ended up having an on air donnybrook with Pappy over Vichy and ru.Pappy got his t*ts in a knot.Graham had to cut the debate, kitchen getting a little hot.

That's the last time I ever rang, my I.Q dropped faster than a pair of daks in a dunny.Went into WTF have I done mode.

I rang once in 2007/08 about Gilly getting the arse for Haddin.

This was before Gilly announced his retirement.

Gav went full genius and Hughes ended it by saying it was a debate for another time.

Nek minnit. Gilly retires.

FlameThrower

Don't punish yourself by listening.
And if you do listen then just accept its D- grade production with same level of quality...

no name

Every day rant of these blokes: 'Grassroots is dying, too much $$$ spent on the elite etc etc.'

A couple of players get done for drugs:
'Every single NRL player should have been drug tested over the weekend'