Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2SM and Talkin' Sport.

no name

Does anybody know where Gavin Robertson is coming from? I am baffled as how this guy holds down a job at 2SM, surely they aren't paying him.

Any time they talk about something he has no knowledge or interest in, he hijacks the conversation and makes stupid jokes.
I only listen sporadically, but when I do I usually change shortly after if he is on.

Does anybody know where Gavin Robertson is coming from? I am baffled as how this guy holds down a job at 2SM, surely they aren't paying him.

Thank @%!& my commute home is only 25-30 mins. Thats all i can handle of that space cadet. How he has a job in sports media is one of those mysteries not even the FBI could solve.
Yesterday he must have injested about a kilo of something...

Iafeta

"That song, my favourite one of theirs though is [enter obscure band song here].."
"Ok"
"You know the one Graham?"
"No I don't ..."
"I'm sure you do, you must, it's a great summer song, you know listening while driving around Forster on holidays"
"Ok"
"I'll tell you what. The first caller who rings in and tells us which band first sung that song, they get a prize Graham. Graham did you swim over the holidays? Graham I imagined you did"

I suppose at least it wasn't flabby man tits Tunks talking about which colour crayon tastes best, or how rugby league needs a CEO who played Origin and knows the game, not a business person because they don't understand traditional rivalries.

The irony of that station is they have an ad that promotes and talks up their newsreaders. Such as the ultra talented Ashhhhhhhhhilly Mills and Margorita Escobar. They certainly aim for the stars.

Country Dragon

"That song, my favourite one of theirs though is [enter obscure band song here].."
"Ok"
"You know the one Graham?"
"No I don't ..."
"I'm sure you do, you must, it's a great summer song, you know listening while driving around Forster on holidays"
"Ok"
"I'll tell you what. The first caller who rings in and tells us which band first sung that song, they get a prize Graham. Graham did you swim over the holidays? Graham I imagined you did"

I suppose at least it wasn't flabby man tits Tunks talking about which colour crayon tastes best, or how rugby league needs a CEO who played Origin and knows the game, not a business person because they don't understand traditional rivalries.

The irony of that station is they have an ad that promotes and talks up their newsreaders. Such as the ultra talented Ashhhhhhhhhilly Mills and Margorita Escobar. They certainly aim for the stars.
Those newsreaders must be good sorts, because they have absolutely no talent otherwise!

Iafeta

The thing that gets me is it should be really easy to get improvement in that field. Firstly, surely they do playback coaching, kind of like they do in call centres, secondly, if they know they're as dumb as oxen why not get them before a news read and ensure they know how to pronounce the names they're about to read. The sad reality is though I think these two are genuinely stupid, take Mills, she can't seem to pronounce her own first name. Ashley, it's not hard, she goes Ashhhhhhhhhhhhhilleee, I mean if you can't say your own name, what sort of criteria did you need to pass in the recruitment phase? Lawsy must feel he's gone to muppet central. The sad thing is, the sporting talkback channel is a great thing for our demo, if it was the Toff and Hughsey it'd be fine, but Tunks is a Neanderthal and Robertson seems to be high on music no one has ever heard of. It's like he's trying to get as a pseudo intellectual which he is not.

macnaz

Surprise surprise ! Graeme the not wanted by any media outlets is critical of ALL the media and treatment of Shitzel Piss lol The guys axe is f**king eenormous .

FlameThrower

Flicked onto 2SM last Friday, 5 minutes about some woman waffling on about how long she had been married and that cooking was the secret to happy marriage....I can see this show is hitting the heights of Radio Stardom.....

redvscotty

SO I have it on this arvo because footy is back and it's a dribbling shit fest, but answer me this.

When they play the highlights of big games over the years to the tune of that Coldplay song, WHY WOULD YOU PLAY HIGHLIGHTS OF STORM VS PARRAMATTA IN A GRAND FINAL.

CHEATING merkinS. f**k.

SO I have it on this arvo because footy is back and it's a dribbling shit fest, but answer me this.

When they play the highlights of big games over the years to the tune of that Coldplay song, WHY WOULD YOU PLAY HIGHLIGHTS OF STORM VS PARRAMATTA IN A GRAND FINAL.

CHEATING merkinS. f**k.

Yeah. f**king eels!!

Iafeta

The best! Just had a news reader go "oh god damn". She didn't realise she was still on. Don't worry love, we all feel the same.

Iafeta

Surprise surprise ! Graeme the not wanted by any media outlets is critical of ALL the media and treatment of Shitzel Piss lol The guys axe is f**king eenormous .

The irony with Hughes is everyone is over and largely forgotten Coffs Harbour. He brings it up at least twice a show on how he's written to the ombudsmen blah blah blah. No one cares skippy, except you.

betcats

The thing that gets me is it should be really easy to get improvement in that field. Firstly, surely they do playback coaching, kind of like they do in call centres, secondly, if they know they're as dumb as oxen why not get them before a news read and ensure they know how to pronounce the names they're about to read. The sad reality is though I think these two are genuinely stupid, take Mills, she can't seem to pronounce her own first name. Ashley, it's not hard, she goes Ashhhhhhhhhhhhhilleee, I mean if you can't say your own name, what sort of criteria did you need to pass in the recruitment phase? Lawsy must feel he's gone to muppet central. The sad thing is, the sporting talkback channel is a great thing for our demo, if it was the Toff and Hughsey it'd be fine, but Tunks is a Neanderthal and Robertson seems to be high on music no one has ever heard of. It's like he's trying to get as a pseudo intellectual which he is not.

I listen to the show most days on the way home from work and this chick is by far the worst newsreader I have ever heard. Every single day she has a stuff up or miss pronunciation that makes you shake your head. The other day she pronounced Grafton as Graff-ton, it seems small but her job is to read what is on the piece of paper, surely it wouldn't be too hard to work out the correct way of pronouncing things. She f**ks up every day! Its actually funny.

LeagueXIII

The irony with Hughes is everyone is over and largely forgotten Coffs Harbour. He brings it up at least twice a show on how he's written to the ombudsmen blah blah blah. No one cares skippy, except you.

And so he should...because the Bulldogs were innocent and men lost jobs and had their reputations destroyed through lies.

I'm sure if something happened to you that was wrong you'd fight for the truth.

It should never be forgotten as an example of corrupt policing and media reporting...it was a disgrace what those young men went through, also the club and the game because people had agendas.

Keep fighting Heaps.

Iafeta

My point isn't whether its right or wrong - its about continually putting it into the public domain. Why keep reminding people of the saga - most people not involved really don't care anymore, and all him repeatedly bringing it allows the uneducated to remember the outline of the incident and put an unfair negative connotation on the club. Fight for it, but do it off air. Its a shame, I'm a big fan of Graeme from when he used to commentate the Warriors games, and I get that its affected him, but I honestly don't see how continually reminding people does him any good.

Gavin Robertson - how good is this champion? I love the deep sigh and "Look if you.. Look, I guess its, look, I don't know, what do you think about it" comments when he's asked a question. He genuinely has no idea whatsoever. Usually he'll resort to some cheap joke or a nostalgic story about listening to a song from the 70s to pass time. Surely there's someone more informed out there who could sit in his place.

Brett Papworth - I think he's actually pretty good.

I agree re Robertson. He reaaaaaaaaaaaally struggles when asking a question. He struggles with everything on that show, except one thing....his ability to say Graham Graham Graham. He has a hard on for him like i have never come across on a radio show before