Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

4 Rounds Down, Who Is The Bench Mark For 2009?

After 4 Rounds.. Who Is The Bench Mark Team So Far?

• Broncos

Votes: 14 12.8%
  • Bulldogs

Votes: 5 4.6%
  • Raiders

Votes: 1 0.9%
  • Cowboys

• Sea Eagles

Votes: 9 8.3%
  • Storm

• Knights

Votes: 2 1.8%
  • Eels

• Panthers

• Sharks

Votes: 3 2.8%
  • Rabbitohs

Votes: 16 14.7%
  • Dragons

Votes: 42 38.5%
  • Roosters

• Warriors

• Tigers

Votes: 6 5.5%
  • Titans

Votes: 4 3.7%

Poppa_Clay85

I think the Dragons and the Bulldogs are certainly leading the way, both teams recruited well in the off season. I'd have to go Dragons only because Bennet is the coach.

I'm a storm fan and I must say storm certianly aren't the team everyone thought they where, never in there career of a football club have they showed such poor form.. :roll:

BeeeeeRad

No team has seperated themselves from the pack yet, as no team has performed well in all their games, and have shown very mixed form.

Meth

Too early to set a benchmark- teams are still finding their feet.

Dragons, Bulldogs and Broncos looking really good out of the blocks though

Dragons definitely the benchmark now, they matched their great defence with some nice attack last weekend. If they can maintain their current side without too much injury or suspension, they'll go a long way.

Didgi

The Dragons, only loss to the Storm where they maybe didn't expect to win, and were still only beaten by 1 point. Broncos were really flat on Friday, and the Dragons capitalized well

aussies1st

Dragons look the best of the bunch atm, defence is probably the best in the comp and they got their attack clicking last week.

FFS. How can you get a benchmark now?
Wait until origin at least. No-one has stuck their nose above the pack at all.

Stewie Griffin

Defensively Dragons are excellent, but I wouldn't say that their attack was clicking last week. Most of the tries came from Broncos errors and I can only remember 1 try that they had in a set play.

petetheileet

Wouldn't quite call it a benchmark being set yet, but....

But physically the dragons at the moment are just that little bit stronger than anyone else.

Won three games on the trot against tough opposition with our only loss being our first hit out with new side and new coach against Melbourne, in Melbourne by golden point.

conceeding an average of only 11 points per game, after playing broncos and storm away and the titans is quite brilliant.

we are easily making more metres than any other team in the comp even with one of the best young props still to come back.

Our kicker is finding more grass and meters then any other kickers in the comp.

We have made less errors than any other team

And over recent weeks have shown we are one of the fittest teams in the comp.

Our attack in just a month has gone from not creating anything, to creating chances but bombing tries, to finishing off attacking raids with tries.

Our left side attack of Cooper and Nightingale is still to return

A total attitude change in the club

I dont think a benchmark can be set just yet

but at the moment i am quite happy to be a saints supporter and i feel we are improving every week!

Dazraider

Titans look great so far this year and just lost against the dragons t win so off the blocks the titans
titans and warriors still my pick for the grand final

KeepingTheFaith

I suppose the Dragons have been impressive against decent opposition, at least defensively they have.

Far too early to say. Plenty of time for injuries to heal and new ones to occur. All it takes is one or two.

the dragons are definitely the round 4 premiers as far as i've seen. they're playing great footy.

Provided some sort of form carries through, Round 10 Dogs v Dragons should be an absolute bumper match :D

Evenflow

I'm a storm fan and I must say storm certianly aren't the team everyone thought they where, never in there career of a football club have they showed such poor form.. :roll:

While the Storm aren't the benchmark at this stage of the season i reckon you're being a bit hard on your team mate. You say never in their history have they shown such poor form but i'm guessing you weren't following them when they missed the finals 2 years in a row in 2001-02.

They're also 2-2 so far this year which is exactly the same as what they were at the same time last year so in that way you can't really complain. While i do think they've come back to the pack i certainly wouldn't be writing them off this early in the season, especially given the eveness of the comp. It's anyone's this year.