Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

7 and 10 wins AFL rights, Does it affect your club?

I think it will affect my club(Melbourne Storm) for the better.

One main thing is that the Storm does not need to complete to the 10 other AFL clubs.

More competitive timeslot for All RL Games incl. Internationals and State of Origin.

and third and final point, THANK GOD CHANNEL EDDIE WILL CHANGE IT NAME TO CHANNEL NINE AGIAN.

Does it affect your club and is it good news for Rugby league in General?

***MH***

i think having channel 9 afl free is a good thing for league. more time and resources channel 9 can spend on league, the better.

Jackal Dog

***MH*** said:
i think having channel 9 afl free is a good thing for league. more time and resources channel 9 can spend on league, the better.

But the question is will they? will ch 9 acutally have the balls to show Friday Night footy in the other states at a reasonable hour? (eg. 8:30pm-9:00pm)

Stevo_G

i seriously don't think the coverage will change for the better in victoria

but i really hope it does

KniGhTs BaTTLeR

What are they going to put on to compete with AFL? Some stupid show like JOEY, if they are smart they will put league on.

BuffaloRules

Will Channel 9 show more League on Sunday arvo's in Sydney and Brisbane??

Have the Footy show go longer... "boots and all" to 1 hour etc... Have League on the box from 12 to 6 each Sunday arvo

LESStar58

Is this official? When did the mail come through?

Regardless, I hope NRL coverage improves in Victoria but I wouldn't be suprised if we continue to be neglected! The only way I can see it getting better is if Len Downes pisses off to parts unknown and never shows his face again!

effnic said:
whats the nrl fan base like in vic?

Small but growing.

Highest State of Origin and NRL GF ratings happen THIS YEAR.

The NRL GF was the in the High TOP 10's for the highest rating show on a Sunday Night.

LESStar58

THIS YEAR as in 2006 or 2005? Stupid question but just clarify it for me....

Origin 3 rated about 300,000 people and the GF was around 400K.

ali

I still hold some hope that 9 will give it a go in the other states. How would it be any different to giving some untried show a go? They know it's a great sport for TV.

Of course, as 9 in Adelaide and Perth is owned seperately, if would have to be a local decision. Hopefully they'll give it a go in Melbourne and we'll get good results in the NT if they continue there NT coverage.

LESStar58 said:
THIS YEAR as in 2006 or 2005? Stupid question but just clarify it for me....

Origin 3 rated about 300,000 people and the GF was around 400K.

Sorry Mate, Last year. God i hate New year.

I think you are selling the GF short because there was 512,000 view and overall it was the 12th in the Top 20 of the week. I have got the Extract of the Herald Sun from the TV section on the Wednesday of that week.

LESStar58

Oh yeah I think it mighta been a "peak" of around 400,000 viewers but I'm not suprised that it was higher!

Mr_Ugly

effnic said:
What time do they show friday night footy in other states?

In Tassie (which is probably the same as Vic), they used to show the games really late (start midnight, 1am or sometimes later). Sundays were worse when they had the F1 rights, as they would play this first. When thre were international sporting events on (golf, tennis etc), they would often bump the game altogether.

Last season however, they showed Friday night games at about 11 or 11:30 (which still means a >1am finish), pretty much straight after the gay-FL. On a few occassions when they had other sports on, they would play the game at 5 or 6am.

I think it is probably for the best if 7 and 10 do get the rights (the AFL hasn't made any announcement to this effect yet, just channels 7 and 10 crowing as yet!). However, Channel 9 has traditionally been ratings driven, and will not be willing to take a severe ratings hit by playing Friday night footy in prime time in AFL territory. Although I would love it if they did, I don't think it would work anyway, as the sports fans in these states would mostly be tuned to the AFL anyway.

One thing that I haven't heard mentioned in the debate about AFL vs NRL tv rights, is that AFL coverage is about 26 hours per week (8 x 3.5 hours), whereas an expanded 16 team NRL from 2007 will be about 20 hours per week (8 x 2.5 hours) ... these figures obviously including pre-game and post-game sumamaries etc. This is 30% more programming from AFL than NRL.

A bit of an aside (probably irrelevant to the point at hand) is that AFL would be a more expensive sport to operate at elite level (18 players on the field per team and about 6 refs, and more strappers, trainers etc travelling with the team).

LESStar58

The thing that pisses me off is that nobody in Melbourne who is dyed in the wool AFL is prepared to "adopt" the Storm as a second team! If the Storm were featured in live games on Friday nite it might drive up interest a tad but its not gonna happen if Nein Melbourne continue with their current attitude towards our game down here!