Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

9 fta.

woodyk2

This season,in my view anyway has been the most pathetic ever coverage wise.Is 9 using a two comp system? I love my footy and like watching pretty much any game. So why do we never see the Sharkies,NQ,Canberra,Warriors,Storm or hell even Manly on a sunday arvo?

woodyk2

Cos 9 don't give a f*ck what we want.

The privileged run the Broncos get is absolutely disgusting.
The run the Bronco's get nearly amounts to insider trading. The sharkies and the Warriors are the most ripped of by far.

Because some of those teams rate better on pay tv and they get second choice after the Friday night games are decided?

Most pathetic? :-k

I'd argue that previous seasons have been pathetic.

- This season we've seen less "single dominated" Friday nights than any since the dual game system came in (i.e. a night where one of the two friday games was impossible to watch or listen to unless you're at it).
- Instead of 12 midnight replays (if they're lucky), interstate viewers in VIC/WA/SA/TAS now all get LIVE Friday night games via GEM
- Cowboys, Canberra, Warriors and Storm don't rate as highly as others in primary markets (i.e. Sydney and Brisbane). Sharks don't rate as highly as other Sydney clubs, although one could argue they deserve a greater chance.

Not saying that's right or wrong either. Just that's how the networks see it.

And for education purposes:

TVCtr-R25.jpg

Flapper

Honestly, the Broncos are far and away the best rating footy team in Qld, of course Ch 9 are going to choose them for Fri night games week after week after week. Once the schedule is fixed that problem won't exist anymore.

woodyk2

Flapper is that fair then for the comp they get a 7 day turnaround more thasn other teams? Not Bronco bashing here,but how is this fair on teams with injuries that get 1/2 and at times 3 days less turnaround?

Deacon

Most pathetic? :-k

I'd argue that previous seasons have been pathetic.

- This season we've seen less "single dominated" Friday nights than any since the dual game system came in (i.e. a night where one of the two friday games was impossible to watch or listen to unless you're at it).
- Instead of 12 midnight replays (if they're lucky), interstate viewers in VIC/WA/SA/TAS now all get LIVE Friday night games via GEM
- Cowboys, Canberra, Warriors and Storm don't rate as highly as others in primary markets (i.e. Sydney and Brisbane). Sharks don't rate as highly as other Sydney clubs, although one could argue they deserve a greater chance.

Not saying that's right or wrong either. Just that's how the networks see it.

And for education purposes:

TVCtr-R25.jpg

I would love to see the NRL on a fixed schedule produce a balanced amount of games so all times get a fair share on free to air tv, i wouldnt care if there was some dull games every now and then. Unfortunately itll never happen

Not whilst we expect a $billion from tv! Can't blame them for showing the teams that rate highest. With an extra fta game from 2015 there will be another opportunity I guess?

Honestly, the Broncos are far and away the best rating footy team in Qld, of course Ch 9 are going to choose them for Fri night games week after week after week. Once the schedule is fixed that problem won't exist anymore.

That's because Queenslanders won't watch anything else. They're the Boston of Australian sports - only interested in their own.

Channel 9 are pathetic, but at the same time how can you blame a TV station for wanting to show the highest ratings games?
Ratings = $$$$$$$$$$ for the broadcaster

BunniesMan

The tv rights deal will be significantly less than it can be if you want completely fair and even scheduling.

Is there comparative figures on what clubs rather te best?

How big is the drop off?

I'd say it's not worth the disproportion in scheduling.
But maybe it is.

So does anyone have that data on hand?

BunniesMan

I mean in Queensland specifically. Brisbane is by far the most popular team in Queensland. I'd be interested to see ratings but I reckon non Broncos FNF rates relatively poorly in Queensland compared to Brisbane games.

That's why they get them so often.

No matter how many "chances" they got, Queenslanders won't want to watch NSW/Victorian/Kiwi teams like they want to watch the Broncos.

BunniesMan

Very true...more importantly...how is the competition as a whole fair?
A look at a list of premiers for the last decade. And a look at how many years teams go without making the finals. After we and the Sharks make it this year no team will have gone more than 3 seasons without playing finals.

Proof the comp is incredibly fair because of such even results.