Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A ‘ let’s get behind our team ‘ thread .

My man Gasnier

Out of good faith for the club I LOVE, I have sent out invitations by sms for a party night next week on the day / night we play either the Cheating Storm or the Rabbits.

RSVP is before we play the Broncos.

Now I can see who my real mates and fellow supporters are.

And yes, I aim to make it a party, not a burial, unless it’s a few donkeys.

Gooooooo Saiiinnnttttssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Your parents let you throw a party? Are they going to buy you a six pack of beer too?

ouryears

actually it was less than 6 months ago.. so half that time period..

but hey..

it's counting skills like that which resulted in WIN coming in to rescue this club.
In football terms my man gaz, ooops mussssbbbyyy, it is almost one year ago.
And yes, since round 10 he has done sweet fu## all.

I hope he steps up as if he does we have a hope.
But not holding my breathe.
He has burnt my hopes more than 30 times now.....that many average games yes.
So my man gaz, let’s review post game.

My man Gasnier

Dip shit.
Go fall asleep in Bondi RSL with your RoRting heartless chooks.

You're the one who wants the dragons to mirror the roosters. You're always pushing for our club to be about wealthy financial backing and TPAs instead of actually scouting rookies.

Don't forget to register your party with the police and let your neighbours know, I'm sure your parents already told you.

Crush

1. SGI have been shite since late May

2. the team is poorly coached in so many areas.

3. also, many individuals look busted.

4. player management (especially post Origin) has been awful.

5. the media has written the Dragons off for weeks.

6. the side plays a red hot Broncos’ side looking for redemption following its round one smashing at the hands of Saints at Kogarah.

7. this elimination final is at Suncorp Stadium, a olace that not only the team has an exceptional poor record, but it’ll be chock-a-block full of rabid Queenslanders baying for blood.

8. SGI hasn’t won a semi since 2010 nor in Brisbane since 2009.

9. there are vital players out due to injury (Vaughan and Nightingale).

and 10. there are unconfirmed reports the side is troubled by at least one star player wanting to leave.

Doesn’t look good, huh?

Remember this though: 2003 and 2007.

Saints have fought (and won) under much greater adversity.

I reckon we’re specials.

Don’t like it? Go put your money on the Nags then.

Dragons :dragon: by 4.
Hmmm, this is new and unusual behavior from you Jimmy. Predicting a win. I like......I like twice.......

dannyt

You're the one who wants the dragons to mirror the roosters. You're always pushing for our club to be about wealthy financial backing and TPAs instead of actually scouting rookies.

Don't forget to register your party with the police and let your neighbours know, I'm sure your parents already told you.
So, what's the problem with wanting our team to be financially solvent and attract TPAs so we can compete with other clubs?

What's the point of scouting rookies if the best they can hope for is 80 minutes on the FG bench?

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Here's a great photo of Changa in full flight.
Hoping Duffy can emulate him this weekend.

sh_chang1965.JPG

1975-final-international-try-graeme-langlands.jpg

1971-clearing-kick-graeme-langlands.jpg

1971-goal-kicking-st-george-v-souths-graeme-langlands.jpg

My man Gasnier

So, what's the problem with wanting our team to be financially solvent and attract TPAs so we can compete with other clubs?

What's the point of scouting rookies if the best they can hope for is 80 minutes on the FG bench?

How has that formula worked for the chooks? One premiership in the last decade? Sounds similar to us.

How about Melbourne? Built their team off promising rookies and now have a team of superstars.

If a rookie is good enough, they will get a go. Not every rookie you see score a try in ISP is the next Greg Inglis.

How has that formula worked for the chooks? One premiership in the last decade? Sounds similar to us.

How about Melbourne? Built their team off promising rookies and now have a team of superstars.

If a rookie is good enough, they will get a go. Not every rookie you see score a try in ISP is the next Greg Inglis.
You need balance, some rookies some experienced players. For the Dragons, some rookie juniors and some from other clubs.

Recruit in a way we progress and don't go backwards but most of all a club needs the right staff in place who can develop or recruit suitable players and then to train them properly and select them on form. Of course proper management of the bench must be a given.

Overseas dragon

You need balance, some rookies some experienced players. For the Dragons, some rookie juniors and some from other clubs.

Recruit in a way we progress and don't go backwards but most of all a club needs the right staff in place who can develop or recruit suitable players and then to train them properly and select them on form. Of course proper management of the bench must be a given.
possm old mate no point in talking to MRS GASNIER .SHE CANT SEE THE FOREST FOR THE TREES

Here's a great photo of Changa in full flight.
Hoping Duffy can emulate him this weekend.

sh_chang1965.JPG

1975-final-international-try-graeme-langlands.jpg

1971-clearing-kick-graeme-langlands.jpg

1971-goal-kicking-st-george-v-souths-graeme-langlands.jpg

Great pics OKB1 ! Those were the days , good ole Cumberland oval where a man could watch a decent game of footy and then walk a hundred paces to the Eels Leagues Club and then finally stagger out and jump into the F.B. Holden wagon and very carefully drive home . And that chap called Changa Langlands a legend .

I recall walking into the car park there one day and this big red Ford Fairlane was just coming in of the main road and who do you think was driving , none other then Billy Smith ! My claim to fame for the next month or so - I was nearly run over by Billy Smith I told my mates . :innocent:

Saint_JimmyG

Hmmm, this is new and unusual behavior from you Jimmy. Predicting a win. I like......I like twice.......

Considering the numerous negative posts I write per game, I figure on the balance of probabilities that one single note SHOULD work in my favour.

Put it down to the many James Boag’s I imbibe on a frequent basis.

LINESPEED

Great pics OKB1 ! Those were the days , good ole Cumberland oval where a man could watch a decent game of footy and then walk a hundred paces to the Eels Leagues Club and then finally stagger out and jump into the F.B. Holden wagon and very carefully drive home . And that chap called Changa Langlands a legend .

I recall walking into the car park there one day and this big red Ford Fairlane was just coming in of the main road and who do you think was driving , none other then Billy Smith ! My claim to fame for the next month or so - I was nearly run over by Billy Smith I told my mates . :innocent:

I remember the day Reg Gasnier did his cruciate ligament at Cumberland oval as he was going for a change of pace in centre field.
He told me years later at Waterbrook, Yowie Bay, where he lived before he went into a nursing home that his big regret was that he missed out on the kind of surgeries available today that would have fully restored his shot knee.
That bloke was a true champion like Changa & Smith.
They were great days.

Crush

Considering the numerous negative posts I write per game, I figure on the balance of probabilities that one single note SHOULD work in my favour.

Put it down to the many James Boag’s I imbibe on a frequent basis.
Have you tried Furphy Refreshing Ale from Geelong?
As a James Boags lover I suggest you buy a case if you arent already onto it.

I remember the day Reg Gasnier did his cruciate ligament at Cumberland oval as he was going for a change of pace in centre field.
He told me years later at Waterbrook, Yowie Bay, where he lived before he went into a nursing home that his big regret was that he missed out on the kind of surgeries available today that would have fully restored his shot knee.
That bloke was a true champion like Changa & Smith.
They were great days.

LINESPEED , they certainly were mate . And yes , I could imagine that many players from those days would had been able to continue on with their careers had those surgeries been there , more so for the ‘ prince of centers - Reg Gasnier ‘ .

Saint_JimmyG

Have you tried Furphy Refreshing Ale from Geelong?
As a James Boags lover I suggest you buy a case if you arent already onto it.

No can do. My sponsor would be “pished” (sic). Besides, my head would implode if my taste buds had something non Boag’s related.