Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A new Jet

Harry Highpants

Hello
Saturday was my first ever visit to Henson Park and I would like to thank all the Jets fans and officals that made it a great day out. I'd almost forgotten what it was like to go to the footy as I'd just about given up going because of the Super League and my team merging. Can't cope with watching St George playing at my home ground.
I will be back on Saturday, again on the hill, to see the Jets take on the Magpies. If I closed my eyes it was like going back to the 70's and I could almost hear the man himself in the distance. . . "It's long enough, it's high enough, it's straight enough".
My only concern was with some of the tshirts that were on sale at the ground. I didn't think that they were very "rugby league-ish" in their design, and to be honest I'm not sure that I could be tempted to part with $35 for a tshirt that doesn't have "Newtown Jets RLFC" on the front. Loved the jerseys the GF (or is it GJ?) brand really seem to be top notch and the Classic Track suits look first class. My new stubby holder has been working overtime since I got it home sliding in the stubbies of the Silver Bullet.
Overall, what a great day out for only $7. Can't believe that I've not been to Henson before!

Jeffles

Welcome Harry.

I must say some of the T-Shirt designs were diappointing. Newtown outsource this to The Love Police, a clothing company specialising in rock music merchandise. They produced other stuff of good designs for us. But this second lot were a bit disappointing. The price is also questionable compared to the standard Jets stuff.

There was a blue T-Shirt. It said "Henson Park" on the front, and "Crowd 8972" on the back (all in white letters). A novel idea I thought but the delivery was hopeless. I think it would've been better if it had "Henson Park: Home of the Newtown Jets" on the front, and Lynchy's quote on the back. ie. "Today's official attendance is 8972".

There was a photo with the 0-0 draw scoreboard. I always thought it was a newspaper photo. Glad they got the copyright clearance to reporduce it on the shirt, but I think the colours (navy on sky blue) disappoint.

There was a T-Shirt of the old Jets crest (the one with the 2 kangaroos on it). But it was a green crest on a yellow background. Hardly very Newtown.

There was also a khaki shirt with the JETS logo in black. That was OK.

----

Still, the T-Shirts are a new dimension to merchandise and they attract another consumer market. I just wish they had a new design that I liked so I could spend some of my hard earned. Looks like I'll stick to my Paramount Shirts Jersey and my 2004 players jersey.

Hope to see you at Henson in the future Harry.

You've got a 2004 player's jersey?

Bastard!

I'll trade you a Shanghai Hairy Crabs Vs China one (the Crabs won).

not interested?

Didn't think so.

Regards,
TDT-1

Jeffles

I don't have one yet. I'm saving for one. We sell them now as well as the Paramount (which I'm also saving for).

--

TDT-1, I'm not as big a Crabs fan as you are. Crab fever is something I'd like to avoid. :lol:

Believe it or not, hairy crabs are a delicacy here rather than an infestation/disease.

And who's making the Paramount ones? It's not those filthy bastards who were ripping us off (jeeze - that's a long list)?

Regards,
TDT-1-

Bluebag

Harry,

What brought you down to Henson for this game, I am glad you enjoyed yourself and hope you make Saturdays at Henson a mandatory for each home game and bring your mates down with you.

Fanny Batter

da semifinal shirt is so cool i bought 1 myself
i went 2 the game on sat and i wont by n-e of the new stuff cos its 2 expensive 4 wot it is.

Harry, u sed "Can't cope with watching St George playing at my home ground". so u r a steelers fan like me. sensational. i luv the steelers but afta the merger it was just st george.i sometimes watch flegg but its hard living in hornsby now.

Jeffles

Everyday more and more people are lured by the Jets. What an age we live in! What a time to be alive!

Steelers fans should come watch the Jets - all you have to do is squint a bit till your vision goes kinda black-and-white.

Then the blue outfits (stripes in the right places and all) will look just like red steelers jerseys.

I used to do that when watching the Steelers for the reverse effect.

Regards,
TDT-1

Newtown Ear

Dear Friends,
i know you've all missed me, especially you Jeffles. but thought i had to comment about the merchandise saga. The Love Police. I'm out of love with them and good fellas i mean get the blue right. Why isn't this famous old club keeping its merchandise completely and utterly in house?

At the moment our Club is on a roll with bigger crowds at Henson, our junior league bigger then ever and UTS going great guns. How keen are our volunteers going to be when they know some people selling merchandise are doing it for a living.

Yes thats right! Under our noses at Henson Park!!!

Bring the merchandise back in house, have people manufacture it under the strictest contracts. We decide on a few retailers to sell it, we keep complete control on it. We are asking for trouble if we dont turn it around immediately.

What do you think Fanny, you flirtatious tart?

Fanny Batter

flirtatious tart?
u dont even no me ear.i dont no n-e1 from newtown
i like the semi shirt but thats it out of the new stuff the rest is bad colors and 2 expensiv. newtown wouldnt let other ppl rip them off would they.at least theres new cloths i c ppl wear on the streets and the jets woud get $$$ from them. i saw a bloke with a hoody at westfield hornsby the other day. i wanted 2 go up 2 him and say 'go the jets' but i didnt

The Wombat

yeah the clobber that they were selling on sat at henson was mainly all good but I still think the 'newtown 81' & and the dark blue Tshirts are over priced and in my mind they dont represent the jets. i like the plane blue 1 with the N and JETS will have to wait till johnny howard pays me again so i can get 1

whats with all the steelers fans comin to watch the jets? where did they all come from????? :? :? :? :? :? :?

Jeffles

The other thing you have to acknowledge is that this merchandise brings in a fair bit of money for the club. I went u to the Hill just before the start of Premier League and that stand was crowded. They must've made a packet that day. It would be costly to deny the club some of this much needed revenue.

Is it possible to please everyone?

No Jeffles I doubt that it's possible to please everyone! All credit to the club for at least getting the Love(less?) Police on board, even if some of their designs are not the standard Rugby League gear. They do however do a great TISM t-shirt :clap:

Bluebag

A lot of this merchandise has been sold outside of thefootball community and so it raises general awareness of the club. We have come a long way in a short time with merchandise lines.

2 True Blues

Welcome to the club mate.
Jets need a big game to beat Wests this weekend. Wests just seem to somehow have the wood on them in past seasons.
If there are not too many injuries we should beat them. Frank SAMIA, Luke HESSION, Mark FAKAHUA had a taste of Newtown defeat when they played for Balmain against us last week. It's about Tere GLASSIE was on the receiving side for a change.
:lol: :lol: :lol: .

But seriously a win on the weekend against Wests, and then Norths the following week will make the Jets position on the ladder very interesting for the run home to the semi's.

Go you mightly Bluebags.

2 True Blues

Hows this blast from the past thread guys. Great to see the merchandise going great guns as it presently is now.

Will there be any new designs for the 2006 season in the pipelines.