Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

A Quick Rinse

Since 73

We surveyed 1000 people and asked them: "after watching the presser, who is the bald guy?"
We took the top 100 answers:
61 people said 'The winning coach'.
12 - 'Someone who doesn't know the result."
9 - 'A guy off his meds.'
8 - 'A guy in denial.'
5 - 'A guy off his meds and in denial.'
5 - 'A dead man walking.'
1 - 'Atkos dad.'

First time I heard Mr Futz interviewed he'd just been appointed. First thought was he sounds a bit like Gazza from the back bar but he must have something because he comes with plenty of raps.
I figured it was an act. Sorta.
Come across as a Hoges type character - likeable knockabout.
Sound a bit simple before dazzling them with science.
It ain't an act.
He is just one of the boys.
Roosters loved him. Robbo did all the thinking. Futzy could pat guys on the back and say "Cracking game" after every loss.
Now he's one of the boys at the shire.
They love him. You can't get dropped.
Win lose or draw only way out of this side is to be injured.
We lost - "Cracking game!!"

Kennedy. Go son. At least we have one player off contract end of this year. Means we get someone ripping in. Nothing like a bit of pre-new contract form.

Which brings us to Ronaldo.
Who doesn't like a bit of post- new contract form?
Imagine signing every player on one year deals...
You'd win the comp every year.

You know it's not your day when Lachie Galvin chops down your front rower under the sticks in the last second to save the day.
Big Tom one-on-one with little Lachie.
Gotta love Lachie. Benji cant teach him anything but he taught him how to tackle.
That's why he can't.
Lachie and Tom.
David and Goliath.
Look out Lachie....Tom's gonna kill ya.
Someone call 000!!
Hahahaha....too funny.
Whoops.
Someone should photoshop Tom's run, with him in big red shoes, red nose and a crazy wig.
Clownsville.
That last 20 minutes.
12 men.
Well, 12 tigers Actually.
Perennial woodenspooners.
Into a cyclone.
On their line.
On their knees.
In the other corner.....the keystone sharks.
Playing their own special brand...all it needed to be complete was Benny Hill music and fast forward.
Easily the dumbest football i have seen since nathan browns tap and pass into lance thompson.
Whats dumber than dumb?
sharkball. Thats it.

Tom kills poor Lachie 2 years ago. Leaves stud marks on him.
2 years ago.
Two years.
Hhhhmm..
How many players have gone backwards in the past 2 years.
Jesse.
Ronaldo.
Tom.
Miss Hynes.
Nikora.
BHU.
How many are in career worst form?
But not AFB. He's gone backwards in only 7 weeks. Anybody else notice he isn't as happy as he was preseason. Or is that just me.

Besides the bloke in the 1 playing lights out footy for a new contract, the only guy on fire gets 20 mins a week.
Makes me cry watching the treatment of Sifa.
Obviously not a coach favourite.

I'm doing the maths but something don't add up.
But ifanddivide by 2 and carry the one I might be close...

....When a player becomes bigger than a club it's all over red rover.
How many consecutive seasons have now gone down the shitter due to the long haired elephant in the dressing room?
Two?

'Mr I'm not happy and everyone needs to know about it.'
The best halfback in our club is tricky.
No-brainer.
Played there all his life and that's all he knows. What we saw today is a guy who doesn't know his role.
What is it?
He doesnt know.
Nobody knows.
Because when the coach explains it he doesn't know.

"They're working it out. They're a work in progress. They went well today but they're still learning."
A load of BS.

What he means is:
"Nicho won't relinquish the 7 jumper because he thinks he's Tom Brady and wants to play SOO so we are all tiptoeing around him and tricky will be 6 and they'll share it- and what the means is when nicho doesn't want the ball tricky can get it. So they're still working it out."
No - you work it out dickhead.
You're the bloody coach.
Nicho is a 5/8. He is playing a 5/8s role and if you put the 6 on his back it won't make any difference to his game. He will sook and cry about not being in contention for the blues 7 but who frigging cares.

But putting the 7 on Trickys back will have a huge impact on his game. And everyone else's.
Then they can all get on with it and stop this charade...because until the coach mans up, drops the act and comes clean about who the f**k is in charge down there it's 3 seasons in row down the shit-shoot.

Chimp

Hard to disagree with any of that… I’m gonna go for a 1-17 review followed by a few general points/questions….;

1 WK - Very very good again. Our best spine player by a country mile.
2 SS - Shitstreet. Offers nothing.
3 MH - Has a go. Got done by Toa, but he’s a reserve playing 1st grade so can’t complain.
4 JR - What’s happened to him? Shit and uninterested.
5 RM - I believe the words are ‘cunnova winger’. Does lots of good, but outweighed by lots of bad. I hate hate hate hate HATE the play acting. Always looking for a cheap/easy way out - and that’s contagious across the team.
6 BT - Somethings not right here. Passenger. Did he run the ball at all?
7 NH - mental midget, but is at least having a dig. Not our worst.
8 AFB - He’s good, we just don’t know how to use him
9 BB - He showed some trickery last week, must have used it all up, maybe we’ll see some more in another 3 years time. He’s the biggest issue in our spine.
10 - Meh
11 - I love this bloke. But similar to Tricky and Ramien, something just doesn’t seem right. Doesn’t seem happy.
12 BB - Tries hard. But meh
13 CM - Tries hard. But meh

14 DA - Shit and a waste of a spot again.
15 ST- Our most potent weapon, yet we don’t want to use him. What an absolute waste.
16 THT - Meh
17 TH - Was ok

We have ZERO killer instinct. We so desperately miss 2 types of player; An Ennis ‘win at all costs’ type player who’ll take someone’s head off if need be and who the team daren’t let down, because he’ll fire a rocket at them. Then a Maloney type player who’s just a winner, who the team know they can rely on when it matters, who the team will listen to and do as he says, because they know he’ll deliver.
We haven’t a clue how to use our best players in AFB and Sifa. Just chuck em the ball and watch em go. Oh, and take Sifa off if he starts playing well, need to keep him a secret.
As per my notes on Ronnie, we love to try and get a cheap easy way out of the shit. We’ve lost our desire to get our hands dirty.
We just don’t look like a happy camp at all. So many players have gone backwards and there doesn’t appear to be any togetherness - they don’t look like a bunch of mates anymore. The tigers lot seem to enjoy Galvins company more than our guys enjoy each others.
We were really boring and shit again, yet still should have won, so there is still hope, and this year is a very even (and soft) comp.
I’m getting so pissed off watching other teams put on trick shots and set plays, yet we literally do nothing. I’ve said this before - in every rugby team I’ve ever played in, the halves (and usually the props who think they’re halves) love nothing more than dreaming up and practicing trick shots, little moves around the ruck, elaborate slingshot type set plays with lots of dummy runners/options - yet our lot never ever try anything. It’s like they don’t enjoy being rugby players, they don’t enjoy creating and trying these things. They’re just 16 nice blokes and AFB going out to play a social game of rugby having not spent any time training together. Like a charity match.
Just shit - boring and shit.

Weaponhead

This comp is wide open and there for the taking. Our mob show no ambition, no desire, no smarts.

Chimp's line above 'they're just 16 nice blokes and AFB going out to play a social of rugby having not spent any time training together' is spot on.

This team should be humming. The spine have been playing together for years but they can't set for a simple field goal. They should know each other's game and role inside out. But they don't. Instead we get lines about Hynes and Tricky taking time to gel.

They are being beaten on effort and execution too often. The best the coach can come up with with is 'lessons" and 'cracking game' delivered with all the passion of a dead fish.

There is time to turn it around but they want to start showing they want it.

Cheese sandwich

Come on guys, don't be mean. They're doing their best!!

They're obviously a work in progress and you can't really judge them till they've all played at least 250 games.

Griffoshark66

Soft comp or not we don't win it. Too many passengers. Agree with the Ennis/Maloney comments. We kick off twice and Galvin has to fall on the ball and lay there unprotected. Rather than f**king belt the shit out of him, we flop down like soft little pillows on top of him...happened twice. FFS. Even Joey or maybe it was Freddy commented on it...he's there to be belted. Put a f**king shoulder into his kidney. Do something. Just f**king do anything you soft merkins.

I look forward to reading the forums over the next few weeks. f**k watching it. I just can't.

roboshark

Soft comp or not we don't win it. Too many passengers. Agree with the Ennis/Maloney comments. We kick off twice and Galvin has to fall on the ball and lay there unprotected. Rather than f**king belt the shit out of him, we flop down like soft little pillows on top of him...happened twice. FFS. Even Joey or maybe it was Freddy commented on it...he's there to be belted. Put a f**king shoulder into his kidney. Do something. Just f**king do anything you soft merkins.

I look forward to reading the forums over the next few weeks. f**k watching it. I just can't.
It's sad isn't it. I wish I could just leave it all behind for good. I really try. I really want to

That's what this useless mob and imposter of a coach have done to our club

shadowboxer

600pm game Friday night - perfect for me. No Kayo for me and probally still working anyways - another great effort from the NRL.
Good option for you. Take a month off. It will help.
On the team, the one word that stands out is effort. Lacking big time. Not sure what is going on, but it’s lacking hard.

Craigshark

I thought Nicho and Trindall were confused earlier in the season and it looked like it. After watching them live last week, it was blatantly obvious nicho is calling the shots or at least he was against Newcastle.

Nicho has a lot of faults. Closing out a game is probably his biggest. His stats yesterday look ok, probably should have had a 3rd (Hazelton) and a 4th (nikora) try assist also, but didn’t. should have kicked one of those field goals yesterday. It is a massive concern he is still setting up the exact same way as he did against the roosters in 2023 and the bulldogs golden point game last year. Wtf is his protection?

how do we know nicho wasn’t the one directing us into position for the shot, only for trindall to f**k it up by going away from the posts, Brailey to hit AFB and whatever other opportunities we totally blew by taking the wrong option?

Someone else pointed out, he is making way too many tackles. This is on Nikora and Ramien. Ramien use to be a rock in defence. He seems to make such shit first contact on nearly every attempt now. Nikora is good for a big hit every now and then or a try, but isn’t really providing anything else. Where are the tough carries?

Why do we continue to hit McInnes with the crash play? Talakai would be a far superior option if we are going to continue to run this play.

Kaufusi.. I don’t care if he has been playing busted, he gets rag dolled way too much for his size and ends up on his back way too much. His offload game is good, but we don’t use it or take advantage of it anywhere near enough.

Stonestreet is shit as pointed out. Unfortunately we have no other options at the moment especially now hiroti has gone down. I’m not even convinced Fitzgibbon would have kept hiroti over stonestreet when iro is back, even though that seems like the most obvious choice to everyone else.

Ronaldo.. fmd.. can produce a play.. cut out some of his dumb shit for a period last season and was much better for it.. now it’s back and costing us.

ramien deserves a stint in reserve grade but he’ll continue to be gifted games. There’s no one else. Gabriel? Too raw probably.

trindall.. far out he escapes criticism here because he is slightly cheaper than nicho.. for every good thing he does he seems to back it up with a couple of shit options. This has been a trend since he has come into first grade and it isn’t getting any better. Where was his ‘kicking game’ in the second half last night? He had a couple of easier opportunities to ice the game with more time to kick a field goal and totally blew them. Did he even run the ball once yesterday?

Hazelton I thought was good yesterday, but should be hauled over the coals for that penalty. wtf was he thinking?

Talakai is a beast. Doesn’t get anywhere near enough minutes. Look at him in the last 10 minutes last night. Why on earth you wouldn’t have stuck him on the edge instead of burns I’ll never know. I get that we’ve made him a middle, but surely he’d prefer to play 80 on an edge than 20 on the middle given the choice. Why’s he get pulled off either just as we are gaining ascendency or on the back foot? Does the coach not trust him? He is easily our best player.

I said earlier in the season we leave way too many tries out there. It didn’t affect us because we still won. Well now it is affecting us. We seem to f**k up basics every week. Look at Melbourne and how crisp they look. Grant Anderson would be our best backline player, but is only a fill in at the storm. Their catch pass and basic fundamentals are so much more superior to our boring shit.

Kennedy.. I’ve been one of his biggest critics. Contract year? Coincidence? Either way, if half of them showed what he has, we’d be in a far better position.

all the problems stem down to the coach. I can only hope he is displaying a different front to what he is behind closed doors, because if he is serious about his comments last night, he can pack his bags and f**k off now. He re-signed this lot, it’s on him to get them going.

DJDL

Hard to disagree with any of that @Craigshark

As @Chimp mentioned above, we don't look happy.
Which has me thinking what if the players are starting to ask the same questions we are?

Questions like:

"Why is it, week after week, just as we are starting to gain the ascendency, and look to be ready to bust the game open, the player mostly responsible for it gets substituted. Substituted for a player who offers absolutely no impact at all"

"Why is there a player in NSW Cup playing the same role and tearing it up who can't get a look in?".

"Why are our outside backs not seeing any clean ball?"

"Why are players not being torn a new one for giving away penalties/losing possession at vital times?"

"Why has Ronaldo not been told to pull his head in and just pay football. It should have been done after Rd1 last year".

On Nicho, he has his moments and came up with some good things yesterday but, as others have said, he's not icing the moments he creates. He's starting to remind me of Michael Gordon - do all the hard work, create something out of nothing, then throw an absolute stinker of a pass or put in a bludger of a kick.

He has the talent, as his Dally M will attest.
But I'm starting to think he won that despite being coached by SFB.
He won it when he still had Bellamy's words echoing around his head.
3 years on? He's lost them now. Now all he hears is SFB and his game has fallen to pieces as a result.

AFP.

Since 73

Bellamy in a presser.
Ricky.
They unload.
They let the world know the players have farked up and let the fans down.
Bith these guys have actually apologised to fans in those public situations.

The players all watch the presser. Ego dictates they do.
The consistent takeaway that it was a cracking game and the effort was great isn't the positive the coach thinks it is.
Why doesn't someone explain this to the guy.
That seed has been planted and he just waters it every week....and thus, mediocrity is rampant throughout the camp.

Imagine Bellamy watching his storm dish up that last 20 yesterday and say he was happy.
f**k...there would have been blood on the walls. And not his.

At the Storm.On Monday video reviews individuals have to stand up and explain a dumb play in front of the team after it is shown.
Total accountability.

Peach & Apricot

Also it seems for large periods in the 20m zone all we had were crash plays to the most lightweight skinny forward out there (McAverage) or telegraphed inside balls to Nikora on an angle. Predictable and pathetic.

shadowboxer

The look on McInnes face says it all really most of the time. I wouldn’t never say disinterested, but the retirement light is at the end of the tunnel, maybe feeling like Rambo was.

R-15-3

Both Tricky and Hynes are to slow at all aspects of their games.

To slow to catch and pass particularly Tricky it’s never in 1 motion it’s broken up into catching, adjusting the ball, then making the decision on who it’s going to then passing.

Same with Kicking its catch, adjust then like they are f**king ballerinas Needing to do their dance steps before kicking.

Running game is pre meditated

Our outside backs have always thrived of fast early ball not this 4th tackle 60 out and try and spread after a slow play the ball.

Noodles tap ons are terrible that’s because it’s taking to long to get to him.

Stop using our middles as link men and spread that ball fast

can any bloke explain to me why these dopes cant set up a drop goal when it counts?

Cowboys Semi 2022 X2 , Roosters Semi 2023, Dogs game Lasy year X2 , Warrior game last year, this game this year X2

million dollar baby stands too close to a shit brailey pass and we kick it into a bloke charging at it. those are just the ones that got charged down!

we did two last year with DAN ATKINSON. he just kicked them

yet Nicholas the wet, he cant f**kn kick it over a blokes head.

why do they suck at this so badly ????

are they gonna learn from this?
no. good. stick a fork in a toaster stuff

I thought Nicho and Trindall were confused earlier in the season and it looked like it. After watching them live last week, it was blatantly obvious nicho is calling the shots or at least he was against Newcastle.

Nicho has a lot of faults. Closing out a game is probably his biggest. His stats yesterday look ok, probably should have had a 3rd (Hazelton) and a 4th (nikora) try assist also, but didn’t. should have kicked one of those field goals yesterday. It is a massive concern he is still setting up the exact same way as he did against the roosters in 2023 and the bulldogs golden point game last year. Wtf is his protection?

how do we know nicho wasn’t the one directing us into position for the shot, only for trindall to f**k it up by going away from the posts, Brailey to hit AFB and whatever other opportunities we totally blew by taking the wrong option?

Someone else pointed out, he is making way too many tackles. This is on Nikora and Ramien. Ramien use to be a rock in defence. He seems to make such shit first contact on nearly every attempt now. Nikora is good for a big hit every now and then or a try, but isn’t really providing anything else. Where are the tough carries?

Why do we continue to hit McInnes with the crash play? Talakai would be a far superior option if we are going to continue to run this play.

Kaufusi.. I don’t care if he has been playing busted, he gets rag dolled way too much for his size and ends up on his back way too much. His offload game is good, but we don’t use it or take advantage of it anywhere near enough.

Stonestreet is shit as pointed out. Unfortunately we have no other options at the moment especially now hiroti has gone down. I’m not even convinced Fitzgibbon would have kept hiroti over stonestreet when iro is back, even though that seems like the most obvious choice to everyone else.

Ronaldo.. fmd.. can produce a play.. cut out some of his dumb shit for a period last season and was much better for it.. now it’s back and costing us.

ramien deserves a stint in reserve grade but he’ll continue to be gifted games. There’s no one else. Gabriel? Too raw probably.

trindall.. far out he escapes criticism here because he is slightly cheaper than nicho.. for every good thing he does he seems to back it up with a couple of shit options. This has been a trend since he has come into first grade and it isn’t getting any better. Where was his ‘kicking game’ in the second half last night? He had a couple of easier opportunities to ice the game with more time to kick a field goal and totally blew them. Did he even run the ball once yesterday?

Hazelton I thought was good yesterday, but should be hauled over the coals for that penalty. wtf was he thinking?

Talakai is a beast. Doesn’t get anywhere near enough minutes. Look at him in the last 10 minutes last night. Why on earth you wouldn’t have stuck him on the edge instead of burns I’ll never know. I get that we’ve made him a middle, but surely he’d prefer to play 80 on an edge than 20 on the middle given the choice. Why’s he get pulled off either just as we are gaining ascendency or on the back foot? Does the coach not trust him? He is easily our best player.

I said earlier in the season we leave way too many tries out there. It didn’t affect us because we still won. Well now it is affecting us. We seem to f**k up basics every week. Look at Melbourne and how crisp they look. Grant Anderson would be our best backline player, but is only a fill in at the storm. Their catch pass and basic fundamentals are so much more superior to our boring shit.

Kennedy.. I’ve been one of his biggest critics. Contract year? Coincidence? Either way, if half of them showed what he has, we’d be in a far better position.

all the problems stem down to the coach. I can only hope he is displaying a different front to what he is behind closed doors, because if he is serious about his comments last night, he can pack his bags and f**k off now. He re-signed this lot, it’s on him to get them going.

he stands too close
the pass isnt crisp enough for his closeness

his wonky action takes too long to execute the play