Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL 2004 - Grand Final thread

Who'll win it then?

• Brisbane

Evilgrowler

PB said:
Port don't know how to win finals. they had everything in their favour against the saints, home ground, sell out, full list available, perfect conditions, and they still only won on the back of one old fart pulling out a lucky Kick over his shoulder that floats through.

Lions will paste them!

I hope you're not a gambler. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Misanthrope

First game of AFL I've ever sat through, and I have to admit I really enjoyed it. Was cheering for Port Adelaide, just because they were the underdogs, and was pleased to see them get the flag. I never thought I'd cheer out loud for a game of AFL. Methinks I've been won over.

chriswalkerbush said:
First game of AFL I've ever sat through, and I have to admit I really enjoyed it. Was cheering for Port Adelaide, just because they were the underdogs, and was pleased to see them get the flag. I never thought I'd cheer out loud for a game of AFL. Methinks I've been won over.

My sentiments exactly! I work with a Victorian girl and I will have a very embarassed retraction on my comments about AFL to make...

fish

Well done to Port they were outstanding and are deserved premiers.Mal Michael I thing summed it up on the lions when he insinuated that to many lions players believed the hype about themselves.They will come back hungrier next season for the loss,well done lions on another great year.

ozbash

chriswalkerbush said:

same here, it was a great game to watch, heaps of biff :D .
2 questions,
1- does the Adelaide coach have to buy a new phone ?
2-just before the kick-off, the players off both teams were knocking the crap out of each other then stopped and started the game,, is that common place in AFL ?

meltiger

ozbash said:
2-just before the kick-off, the players off both teams were knocking the crap out of each other then stopped and started the game,, is that common place in AFL ?

You mean the nancy push and shove?

Yes, you never usually see it though on tellie cause it's off the ball.

CyberKev

ozbash said:
lol, is that right ?
does it ever get serious or is it just some form of ritual ?

G'Day, Basher...

I must say that its refreshing to see a New Zeelundur putting in an appearance on the AFL forum, and speaking proper Engulush as an added bonus :p

Craig's correct in saying that much of what went on last Saturday was little more than preening and posturing.

That's usually as bad as it gets in contemporary AFL, given the amount of cameras that are on you and the constant threat of being rubbed-out at the tribunal. Lynch caused a lot of the commotion on Saturday primarily because he knew it would be his last game (even boasted about belting people pre-match) and you can expect that he'll draw hefty fines when he fronts the judiciary this evening.

While things rarely get out of hand, they did mid-year when a few of my Hawk boys over-reacted to years of typical Essendon thuggery and what resulted was a suitably unedifying donnybrook and some equally unedifying post-match fallout.

Even this was a little tame in comparison to a local derby between the two Perth-based sides a couple of seasons ago when all hell broke loose and several players displayed almost homicidal intent.

There's probably no greater enmity between AFL clubs than that which exists between Port Adelaide & Adelaide (think the Hatfields & the McCoys). While they've usually done a stand-up job of letting their actions do the talking on the field, it was definitely a "two tribes go to war" scenario when the two clubs unwisely chose to have mid-week "team bonding" drinks at the same local hotel a couple of years back. Suffice to say club officials will be ensuring that their respective teams never share the same intimate drinking space en masse again :twisted:

Anyhow, nice hearing from you, Old Son! Its great to see people in hostile territories taking time out to watch some AFL.

CyberKev

meltiger

CyberKev said:
There's probably no greater enmity between AFL clubs than that which exists between Port Adelaide & Adelaide (think the Hatfields & the McCoys). While they've usually done a stand-up job of letting their actions do the talking on the field, it was definitely a "two tribes go to war" scenario when the two clubs unwisely chose to have mid-week "team bonding" drinks at the same local hotel a couple of years back. Suffice to say club officials will be ensuring that their respective teams never share the same intimate drinking space en masse again :twisted:

I thought this was after one of the games between the two clubs?

meltiger

ozbash said:
lol, is that right ?
does it ever get serious or is it just some form of ritual ?

Yes, it's true :)

If a game has ever started without the Fullbacks/Full Forwards putting on the same nancy show we saw at the first bounce on Saturday, i'd be totally shocked.

What you usually don't see is blokes taking fair dinkum swings at each other like what we saw with Lynch, Brown, Wakelin and co during the match.

CyberKev

meltiger said:
CyberKev said:

I thought this was after one of the games between the two clubs?

I stand corrected, said the hypochondriac to the chiropractor...

Said incident did occur on the evening following the match and not midweek as previously reported by errant cyberspatial scribe...

For the benefit of our Kiwi friend, here is a report of the incident...

Mystery over SA brawl
5:10:28 PM Thu 2 May, 2002
Paul Gough
afl.com.au

The fall-out from the much-publicised brawl between Adelaide and Port Adelaide will remain a mystery with the two clubs and the AFL today refusing to reveal which players had been punished for their roles in the incident.

The incident, which involved up to 25 players and which occurred in full view of other patrons at Adelaide’s Ramsgate Hotel on Sunday night, followed a verbal exchange between Adelaide captain Mark Ricciuto and Port tagger Josh Carr.

However despite the incident being the most serious involving off-field violence between players from rival clubs for years – the public will never know which players have been fined for their roles in the incident.

And the AFL, despite its constant claims of being concerned about the game’s image, has also agreed not to make public any action taken against either the Crows or Power players.

Adelaide chief executive Steven Trigg and Port Adelaide chief executive Brian Cunningham both met with AFL football operations manager Andrew Demetriou on Thursday to outline what action they took against their respective players.

However both the AFL and the clubs have refused to release details of what disciplinary measures, if any, the players involved would face.

Demetriou said the AFL had sought and received comprehensive reports from both clubs and the AFL now considered the matter closed.

"The AFL viewed this matter extremely seriously and I wish to stress that both clubs have acted extremely diligently and very professionally to resolve this matter as quickly as possible,” he said.

"Both Adelaide and Port Adelaide have dealt with this matter appropriately internally and the AFL is satisfied that the issue is now closed.”

Adelaide and Port also refused to reveal what punishments its players faced over the controversial incident – instead releasing prepared statements which only said that players had been “disciplined” over the incident.

The Port statement read: “Port Adelaide Football Club takes matters that negatively impact on the game and the club itself very seriously and the Power’s report presented to the AFL confirmed that the players involved had been disciplined.”

However obviously not serious enough to admit which of its players had been disciplined and to what extent while Adelaide’s prepared statement said its players had been “appropriately disciplined” again without revealing what this necessarily meant.

While both clubs refused to reveal what punishments its players faced – Trigg was quick to hose down suggestions the public brawl between the players had damaged relations between Adelaide’s two AFL clubs.

“It (the relationship) has always been strong and I reckon it will continue to be strong,” he said.

Bwahahaha... Strong relationship my buttinsky!!!

CyberKev

meltiger

That's the one :)

Good to see passion for your club amongst the players alive and well in this day and age ;-)

CyberKev

meltiger said:

Good to see passion for your club amongst the players alive and well in this day and age ;-)

:D

Yessum...

I think there's definitely a message in that for Alistair Clarkson...

Before our game with Essendon next year he should definitely implore the boys to concentrate on the game and "save the extra-curricular stuff for the pub/nightclub"

Or, at the very least, the carpark :twisted:

CyberKev

meltiger

CyberKev said:
meltiger said:

:D

Yessum...

I think there's definitely a message in that for Alistair Clarkson...

Before our game with Essendon next year he should definitely implore the boys to concentrate on the game and "save the extra-curricular stuff for the pub/nightclub"

Or, at the very least, the carpark :twisted:

CyberKev

:lol: :lol:

Tell me you weren't at least a little happy to see your boys give those scummers some of their own back ...

CyberKev

meltiger said:
:lol: :lol:

Tell me you weren't at least a little happy to see your boys give those scummers some of their own back ...

Obviously, if they're going to do that sort of thing, then Essendon is clearly the most deserving side for them to do it to. 8)

Interestingly, they only won 4 of 11 games since then and I think it did tear assunder the club's preferred public perception of itself as a rugged, physical unit.

The fact remains, however, that we were 4 goals down and closing before the shit went down, and ended-up losing the game by 12 goals!

At the end of the day it was still loss number 8 on the trot to the tossers, and that's all that matters :(

CyberKev