Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

AFL 2006 -Round 3

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Inexperience isn't really the main issue here, its the 18kg weight disparity that's the killer and, most likely, always will be in similar scenarios.

This was my main point though, it's highlighted to the kid in a very frank fashion, that he does need to pile on some weight to be competitive with some of the forwards in the League.

Talk of playing Roughead down back is all well and good, and as I said earlier in the week I see this as a positive move for club and player, but looking long term, if he is to return to the forward line, you guys are really going to need these younger backs to come through.

Although, if Dowler comes on as expected once he's fit, could Roughead have a long term place in the backline?

I beleive you drafted a young ruckmen in the rookie draft yes?

Mid to Long term (3-5 years), could the Hawthorn spine look like this? -

FB - Dawson (Don't think he'll ever have enough weight to hold down CHB)
CHB - Roughead
Ruck - The bloke taken in the rookie draft
CHF - Dowler
FF - Williams

With Franklin roaming between playing as a true wingmen, to HHF depending on opposition (I am adamant playing him as KPP will restrict him Richo like and he will never reach his true potential)

I would suggest that could be a highly competitve setup. Especially if you can keep Franklin out of a KPP post, he will be extremely hard to match up on, if you have a genuinely good spine seperate to him.

I've left Croad out of the equation, because I figure he's getting on now age wise? That's just a guess though based on the fact he's been around for a fair few years now.

Another question, long term, do you see them using Hodge as a Centremen, or a long term sweeper type role?

meltiger

Cupid Stunt said:
Now there's a keeper... :lol:

Unlike your inhumane hatred of gods team :p , I make an effort to get out and support the Dogs when I can, always been my second team :)

CyberKev

meltiger said:
This was my main point though, it's highlighted to the kid in a very frank fashion, that he does need to pile on some weight to be competitive with some of the forwards in the League.

My normal view is that young players need to be challenged to improve and playing on difficult opponents teaches them much about the game. That said, he can still play on good opponents in a more peripheral defensive capacity, while he works on getting his weight up to a required level to play effectively at FB on big bodied opponents. Its one thing to set a challenge, but you need to ensure that the player can feasibly meet the challenge.

meltiger said:
Talk of playing Roughead down back is all well and good, and as I said earlier in the week I see this as a positive move for club and player, but looking long term, if he is to return to the forward line, you guys are really going to need these younger backs to come through.

Yes. The Clarkson view is that you have to plan well ahead to ensure adequate team structure and balance, which is perfectly sensible. This takes us back to the old draft the "best player" or draft the "best player for team needs" argument. With key defenders, as is the case for key forwards, you have to get them early in the knowledge that they most likely won't provide strong returns for several years. I think it is easier to get capable key defenders outside of high draft picks than it is to get quality key forwards, but that's another argument.

Hawthorn may decide to draft a key defensive player later in the year, but the chances of a Matthew Scarlett type being available are painfully miniscule. This is why I would be happy enough for Roughead to play back across 2006-07. This allows extra time for Dawson to put on weight and find his feet, and also allows time for alternative options to arise.

Joshua Kennedy will almost certainly arrive f/s at the next draft, and he is a strongly built youngster who has impressed in the TAC playing a multitude of positions: key defense, peripheral defense, inside midfield. If he can grow over the 190cm barrier this year, he may be groomed as the new fullback for 2008. Stephen Gilham may also come on at Box Hill in the interrim.

Alternatively, as we'll almsot certainly finish among the top six picks on offer, if other clubs push hard for midfielders, we could snare talented key forward youngster, Scott Gumbleton and look to advance him as a third tall, keeping Roughead down back.

meltiger said:
I beleive you drafted a young ruckmen in the rookie draft yes?

That was McEntee. There was also big Max Bailey who was taken at 18 in the normal draft.

meltiger said:
Mid to Long term (3-5 years), could the Hawthorn spine look like this? -

FB - Dawson (Don't think he'll ever have enough weight to hold down CHB)
CHB - Roughead
Ruck - The bloke taken in the rookie draft
CHF - Dowler
FF - Williams

With Franklin roaming between playing as a true wingmen, to HHF depending on opposition (I am adamant playing him as KPP will restrict him Richo like and he will never reach his true potential)

Possibly, but I doubt Dawson will make it as a FB (first choice at least) and I doubt Williams will remain FF over the long term. I also feel that the Gumbleton option is a long shot and that the Hawk coaching panel has any other future vision for Roughead than to play him up forward.

Boyle remains a wildcard option. At 193cm/93kg he remains a key defensive alternative and has put in time at FB for Box Hill.

Much will depend on how Dowler and Gilham perform at Box Hill this season, and on young Kennedy's capacity to have a growth spurt.

meltiger said:
I've left Croad out of the equation, because I figure he's getting on now age wise? That's just a guess though based on the fact he's been around for a fair few years now.

Croad is 26. He is very athletic and could well play for another 6-7 years as a consequence. Barring injury, he'll still be very much a part of the plan come 2008.

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Unlike your inhumane hatred of gods team :p , I make an effort to get out and support the Dogs when I can, always been my second team :)

What?

I was sure that Hawthorn was your second side.

You're just a big tease, you beast! :badgrin:

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Some have been talking about sacking him though!

That is Richmondesque behaviour lol :(

This is commonplace on Internet fora.

Its one thing to suggest sacking someone, but its another to come-up with a viable replacement.

Sheedy is past it. Matthews, Pagan & Malthouse are all tied-up until the end of 2008, and the only current coaches likely to be available at the start of 2007, will be so because they were sacked in the first place.

Outside of that, the two names getting bandied around are Mark Harvey (assuming he doesn't soon ascend to the Freo head job) & Gary O'Donnell, neither of whom fill me with confidence.

There's always Gary Ayres (who I believe will succeed Sheeds), and while he gets a bad rap, he was overlooked for the position to begin with.

Its not a thing you can have both ways. A lot of tragics want to argue that Hawthorn is too rough & ready to achieve much before 2008, but -- at the same time -- want to deride Clarkson for not having them challenging for the eight here and now.

Decisions like the Dawson one wouldn't want to occur too often this season, but it would take a totally disastrous season for him not to continue on into 2007.

lockyno1

Sheeds is not past it. Cyber, he has a fantastic record as a coach and ANY coach would have been struggling with the list the Bombers had especially last year and the year before. We have done well to avoid the spoon in actual terms! Sheeds is a master coach and Mark Harvey should be the one that takes over him but that won't be for a while yet.

CyberKev

lockyno1 said:
Sheeds is not past it. Cyber, he has a fantastic record as a coach and ANY coach would have been struggling with the list the Bombers had especially last year and the year before. We have done well to avoid the spoon in actual terms! Sheeds is a master coach and Mark Harvey should be the one that takes over him but that won't be for a while yet.

Hmmm.

A vast majority of Essendon tragics and a good many overall tragics were confidently asserting that Essendon had a finals standard list prior to the 2004 & 2005 seasons.

lockyno1

CyberKev said:
Hmmm.

A vast majority of Essendon tragics and a good many overall tragics were confidently asserting that Essendon had a finals standard list prior to the 2004 & 2005 seasons.

I doubt I was one of them Cyber! I said after 01' we were rebuilding towards 2009-10!:cool:

CyberKev

lockyno1 said:
I doubt I was one of them Cyber! I said after 01' we were rebuilding towards 2009-10!:cool:

You crack me up, Lockmeister!

You're coming off an honourable GF loss with a side that only a few short months earlier had been talked of as a threat to the Collingwood streak of 4 flags in a row; and the position the club is really in, is that it is starting a rebuild toward a flag some 9 years later??!!

With that sort of long-term view I think you definitely need to devote your energies to getting an Old English Sheepdog back out to sea, given that they can only survive for a mere 15 years on land.

The post 2001-GF Essendon rebuild for the following decade...

I reckon you spin a better story than Sheeds himself :p

meltiger

CyberKev said:
This is commonplace on Internet fora.

This was in the newspaper!

Trust me mate, I've been staying from most footy forums other than here and PRE last few months. Sick of the Hawthorn V Richmond arguments lol

Surely you must have noticed my vitrol towards Hawthorn has been much more restrained.

CyberKev

meltiger said:
This was in the newspaper!

These days I think its the Internet forums that direct a lot of "so-called" journalistic endeavour.

meltiger said:
Surely you must have noticed my vitrol towards Hawthorn has been much more restrained.

Calm before the storm, mate.

Give it another week or two and you'll be back to the point of needing to be restrained... ;-)

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Calm before the storm, mate.

Give it another week or two and you'll be back to the point of needing to be restrained... ;-)

You lost to Collingwood, :x

I figure that's all the punishment anyone deserves :lol:

meltiger

Well the first piece of the Tiger puzzle has fallen in, Humm as predicted has been promoted to the senior list. Good luck to him and let's hope those saying he's a tad 'soft' are wrong.

Very, very pleased to also noticed last night that one Cleve Hughes has been named on the extended interchange bench at this stage. :clap:

Even if Clever doesn't get a run this week, I only see it as a matter of time before he's stalking our forward 50.

CyberKev

meltiger said:
Good luck to him and let's hope those saying he's a tad 'soft' are wrong.

Would one of those persons be a Mr Craig Edwards from Melbourne's west? :)

meltiger said:
Very, very pleased to also noticed last night that one Cleve Hughes has been named on the extended interchange bench at this stage. :clap:

Even if Clever doesn't get a run this week, I only see it as a matter of time before he's stalking our forward 50.

Yes, have to get him in there...

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Would one of those persons be a Mr Craig Edwards from Melbourne's west? :)

Not at all, as I said yesterday, I'm prepared to be proven wrong on him :)

& yeah, we have to bring Cleve through, did you catch nospam29 last night? (Think Wednesdays now), they are saying on PRE TW was hinting at him being very close.

To already be this far ahead of some of the draftee's from the year before is sensational, I can't wait to see him play.

AuckMel

I'm surprised people actually tipped Brisbane.

For all money they look like a team on the down side.

camsmith

I tipped brissy...and if they could kick straight they might have got a bit closer and might have had a sniff... I still dont rate St Kilda too much on the last three games.. 4th - 8th place is my prediction for them.