Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

After Match thoughts *Spoiler*

Robster

Even though we lost by 8 I can't help but feel dissapointed by the Warriors handling , they completed something like 40% completed sets, only 20% of their moves fell into hand (or something like that) they need to settle down more, sure the first 10 minutes was great, a few talent moments at the end but that didn't cut the mustard to my satisfaction, the defence was poor, its like the Warriors think its a game of touch when their defending, a little touch will do it. It was Men against boys in occasions in the Match when the broncos were on attack.

Players which impressed

Tony Martin - Great solid player made a break, can easily see he's more of attacking player since he left to England from the Storm.

Karl Temata- despite the awful pass towards the end, he was probally the best forward for me.

Francis Meli- a few dreadful errors, including the stuff up try which I think spoiled the match, but a few strong hard hitups, was very solid on attack.

Brett Webb- great feet, great couple of tries, needs to work on defence. But will wear the Queensland shirt one day.

Players which didn't cut the mustard

All of them

Stacey Jones- you would hardly ever see this player in this group, but I'v seen Warriors reject Cliff Beverley perform better. Jones was allright. But thats it, he acted like just a player in the team.

Guttienbiel- the biggest overated Warrior in the 21st century, I mean What the heck was he thinking when it was the last tackle and all he had to do is pass it and the Warriors were in for a possible maxim 6 points, but No he holds onto and gets tackled and 15 secounds realieses he should of passed so he pass's it on the ground and gets penalised. He never looks like to break the line of defence, and I feel he doesn't make enough tackles either.

Toopi - Todays performance was shocking, who would of thought he played amazling in last years test to score a wonderful 3 tries, todays performance was bartercard cup level.

Others were just quiet I'm afraid, sure a close game, most had a rare good moment I suppose but far from the Warriors best protential.

And for Murphy- not the best winger in the NRL performance, but I found him to be okay, not much chance's for him to show what he really got, but decent enough to have him as a regular first grader, but I think fa'afili will be in the team next week.

Kakihara

Pretty much agree with you there mate escpecially the comment about toopi although he does this every year where it takes him a few games.

We really missed seu seu and bethams experience out there today.

I think the coach needs to start training the team to use the right side of the field to attack cause today pretty much showed what happens when the left side isnt working.

Evilgrowler

Sitting in the northern stand at Suncorp, in the first half, had the Warriors used the unmanned winger on the left rather than going right, the Broncos would have been in serious trouble.

ripper

Betham deserved what he got - Swinging arm tackles at a coconuts head is a no-no, ever wondered why there nicknamed coconuts? Just ask Monty

Martin seems to worth every penny so far, he was unlucky to have 3 sideline conversions first up but he seems to be better then Webb

The team missed Big Jez up front. A lack of go-forward at times, TeMata isn't a prop.

Murphy was a passenger. I know some people have said he didn’t have much ball, well he should have come off his wing and gone looking for the pill and made the effort to get involved or have a few runs out of dummy half. When he did run from dummy half he ran straight into the markers, Big No No. Murphy also has to have faith in his inside man. Vinnie Anderson is a Kiwi International for godsake, and he isn’t one to shy away from making a tackle either.

Jones lacked match fitness which is understandable and he will bounce back with more time on the park.

The 5/8 position. We really need to sort this out so we can get a partnership going with Jones. If Leuluai isn’t up to it maybe Hohaia (if Fit) or Perenara or Ropati should come in.

Tony Martin is not a 5/8, but for his first game back in the NRL he was solid, made some good breaks also.

Guttenbeil again was the quiet achiever of the pack. Was good on defence and averaged good metres with each carry on attack.

Koopu, like Guttenbeil just knuckles down and does the dirty work, came up with a couple of errors but with slippery and humid conditions it was expected.

ozbash

Tony Martin - Great solid player made a break, can easily see he's more of attacking player since he left to England from the Storm.

i thought he was pathetic, he did little of what was expected and 1 run does not a center make..
Guttienbiel- the biggest overated Warrior in the 21st century, I mean What the heck was he thinking when it was the last tackle and all he had to do is pass it and the Warriors were in for a possible maxim 6 points, but No he holds onto and gets tackled and 15 secounds realieses he should of passed so he pass's it on the ground and gets penalised. He never looks like to break the line of defence, and I feel he doesn't make enough tackles either.

what game were you watching wobsta, itxt,ed sky with gutts my MOM.
his defence was awesome and some of his hits left some very wobbly broncs..

Toopi - Todays performance was shocking, who would of thought he played amazling in last years test to score a wonderful 3 tries, todays performance was bartercard cup level.

toopi had lockyer to cover while martin went missing.
he was excellent in attack and was fired up.his cover work was fantastic.

murphy did nothing.

stace was very quiet but i reckon he will come right in the next game or so.

wai koopu was outstanding.
feka and lauaki went bloody well but i think they were a prop shy in the heat,, hats off to te mata but he simply isnt big enough.
looloo ? fantastic,, bit rusty but what potential.
vinnie anderson was good and solid, bit slow to turn but what else is new.
ali, i thought he did ok, was shutdown all night.
faumuina,, give this guy a couple more rounds and he will be unstoppable.
meli, first game of the season and i reckon he was just fine.

we played a bloody good team today, the broncs were hungry.
lockyer got away with blue murder (martin) and we lost the plot a little when monty went off.

good on the broncs, they deserved their win and the breaks went their way.

hampstead was a f**king disgrace (as usual)

playdaball

A couple of further thoughts...

Is there room in the warriors for both Sione and Ali?? If so should Ali be back on the LHS?

Hurry back Monty!! We need some solid defence around the rucks.

Good to have a goal kicker it will help this year.

Bring back Henry - sorry Murphy and Robster.

Iafeta

ozbash said:

i thought he was pathetic, he did little of what was expected and 1 run does not a center make..

what game were you watching wobsta, itxt,ed sky with gutts my MOM.
his defence was awesome and some of his hits left some very wobbly broncs..

murphy did nothing.

stace was very quiet but i reckon he will come right in the next game or so.

wai koopu was outstanding.
feka and lauaki went bloody well but i think they were a prop shy in the heat,, hats off to te mata but he simply isnt big enough.
looloo ? fantastic,, bit rusty but what potential.
vinnie anderson was good and solid, bit slow to turn but what else is new.
ali, i thought he did ok, was shutdown all night.
faumuina,, give this guy a couple more rounds and he will be unstoppable.
meli, first game of the season and i reckon he was just fine.

we played a bloody good team today, the broncs were hungry.
lockyer got away with blue murder (martin) and we lost the plot a little when monty went off.

good on the broncs, they deserved their win and the breaks went their way.

hampstead was a f***ing disgrace (as usual)

T Martin: Tried hard, showed enthusiasm to get involved and make a difference. 2/4 wasn't a fair reflection of his goal kicking compared to last season it would have been 1/4, Webb would not have nailed that sideline hummer. Players were happy diving out wide trusting Martin, whereas last year they may have tried to get more in field out of lack of trust.

K Te Mata: Our best by far. Great effort, very proud of him.

Looloo: Made a crucial error, but made some crucial darts also out of dummy half. Wouldn't mind seeing that option explored further in combination with Latu in the absence of Monty.

Ali: I was impressed with the improvement in his D.

Smurf: Out played by Martin. Therein lies a change. Murph didn't do too much wrong admittedly, but he didn't go looking for work and back up as Martin did. Both are extremely quick, only one tried to work himself into a position to use it.

Toops: Worst performance for a year for him. Dodgy, extremely dodgy. The dropped ball after half time where he seemed disinterested was bemusing.

All in all, horrid performance. 20/41, nothing good to write home about there. Most players should hang their heads in shame. They were unfit, and unco-ordinated. Unless both improve dramatically, and they play with more intelligence, that won't be the last unpredicted embarrassment.

tHe_MaC

If Vince Anderson knew how to pass, Murphy would have seen alot more ball.

Admittedly Murphy needs to go looking for more work, but as a Winger you would expect to see the ball from your centre atleast more than once in the whole game, especially from an International winger.

Vinnie Anderson is a Kiwi International for godsake

Exactly, why the hell didn't he pass the ball. Or Say Make a break like a centre does? Get him in the damn forwards and Martin in Centre, and get a proper 5/8 FAST.

Now all the calls for bring back Henry? He is the most overated player in the warriors bar none.

And Someone tell Frances Meli to listen to the coach. Or tell him the meaning of what a 2 handed game meant.

Oh and Ozbash, turn on your eyes they went missing between the start of the game and fulltime.

ThrashViking

The handling was often poor and some of the options were piss poor
Brent Webb was the best Warriors player on the day,He made some crucial tackles and he created something out of nothing when he had the ball in his hand
The Warriors were missing some vital go-forward by the forwards,There was some crap tackling by certain players and Lockyer & Berrigan simply carved us up-Jerry Seuseu & Betham were missed big time
It was a exciting game to watch but Brisbane shouldve beaten us by ALOT more
it was A weak preformance,We need to step it up by several gears to get even close to the Dragons next week

Auckland4ever

Rusty performance, like every other team this weekend, bar the Dogs(ironically).
Just not enough respect for the ball in our own half, especially in the wet. The heat did play a part, but it affected both teams, not just us. I dont think the Broncos had any more in the tank than us in the last 10 mins, we just gave them enough possession by playing dumb football.

Webb was the only Warriors player to stand out for me. Te Mata made some good line breaks & put in his best performance, IMO. Luaki looks like he has plenty of strength, but seems to lack the pace to get over the advantage line. It was his first game, though. It may take a few to get him up to NRL pace.

On the positive side, there were enough signs for me to suggest once the ring-rust is gone, we'll be tough to beat.

PJ Marshal

has Betham broken his arm?

Man people should know if they take coconut head high you will only get hurt

LeagueNut

ThrashViking said:
The Warriors were missing some vital go-forward by the forwards, Jerry Seuseu & Betham were missed big time

Dead right. We had nobody to fill the role of a 'straight-up-the-guts' hit up prop, instead everybody out there seemed determined to off-load at every opportunity. :evil:

I actually thought Ali played his best game since his injury, he was a lot more involved in general play and his defense has improved. But like all our forwards he seemed to spend a hell of a lot of time on the bench for some reason ... ?

But hey - IT'S JUST A MATTER OF FAITH - Warriors to win on Saturday!!

Meth

We missed Seu Seu and an extra reserve, for sure. Stacey looked a bit shy, but he picked up in the last quarter. He looked as good on defense as I've seen him.

Players who impressed me...Brent Webb, Awen Guttenbiel, Karl TeMata and Ephame Lauaki

Players who didn't....None of the backline, bar Webb. I'm sure they'll kick on from here.

Season starts this saturday boys.

JoeD

I feel he doesn't make enough tackles either.

Don't know if you saw the stats but according to channel 9 Gutts made the most tackles in the game.

I thought they missed Monty in the second half, missed a bit of leadership. Its not all doom and gloom though, from what I saw of the other teams over the first round I think we'll make the top 4.

HAHAHAHAHA! Give me a break buddy. I wonder if you noticed how many times Meli had to mark 2 men while "only when I feel like it" Toopi was swanning around in his only little world.

If excellent means that he made one or two half-arsed runs across field and dropped the ball then yeah, you're right. But then I expect rose-tinted glasses when it comes to Toopi.

AliN

Yeah Guttenbeil was in the backgroud doing what he does well, tackling.

Monty going off turned the game, we seemed to be lost.

Yes Ali's defence has improved a little, but after 20 or so minutes, he was stuffed.
Alot to work on but some definite positives in the game. A tough ask for the 1st up game, and we'll definitely improve.

Luaki looks like he has plenty of strength, but seems to lack the pace to get over the advantage line. It was his first game, though. It may take a few to get him up to NRL pace.

Exactly what I thought. He looked like a good Bartercard Player struggling to make an impression. He was going in for big hits and bouncing off, and I was surprised that he didn't seem to have much pace. But perhaps he'll be able to get up to speed- it remains to be seen.

Kiwi

I think a few people are being very harsh on the warriors, Toopi was really the only one to have a shocker apart from maybe Murphy.

The rest played alright, not their best, but what do you expect from game 1 of the season? I think both clubs will improve and make the top 4 this year, Broncos and Warriors.

On the Warriors dropped ball, as I said in another forum, it was mostly because of the conditions and the Warriors not adapting their style to the wet, and good Broncos defense. The Broncos scambled well, hitting the second phase support players real quick making it hard for them to hold the ball. It's something you gotta do against the Warriors or you lose, the Broncos did it well.