Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Alan Jones tells Eels players that to win the NRL Premiership it takes hard work

I can't believe that there are so many experts here on motivational and public speaking, it blows me away..

eels81236

Alan Jones is an extremely succesful and influencial man. Having heard him speak before, I'd imagine that every player took at least something out of the meeting. Just dont let him "escort" you to a bathroom whilst in the UK.

AS for cost, how do you quantify what he is worth? We can only pay what the market determines he is worth. I'm sure the cost would have come from the predetermined football budget and not an "extra" added to the bottom line. If they believe that his speech is worth more to the team than the alternative then so be it. I don't really see what the problem is. :?
Maybe would should put the cash towards a southern stand? :sarcasm:

Oh.....and look for Brian Smith to replace Robbo in the 7 by round 4.

Runaround Man

Stagger, you need to be careful talking about getting blown away in a thread discussing Alan Jones.....what will people think??

parra pete

well yeah obviously...:sarcasm:

btw, it's a real bummer that snoopy Collins is tied up with Penrith, we could of done with him instead of that joker Jones.

Probably could have. At least Snoopy is a fair dinkum bloke.
Maybe they could have even got Jazza...ANYONE but ALAN JONES.....

parra pete

well yeah obviously...:sarcasm:

btw, it's a real bummer that snoopy Collins is tied up with Penrith, we could of done with him instead of that joker Jones.

WHY would you say that Stagger? BTW --- It is "Could have" Stagger...not "could of...." If you are going to be a sh*t slinger try to get it right. :lol:

BTW ....I would imagine that Snoopy would be a mate of Paul Osborne's also....Both had time with the Raiders, and both played with St George.
There are not too many better blokes in Rugby League than Wayne Collins and I am privileged to call him a friend.

parra pete

I take it you're not a fan of mr Jones pete.

I don't like him at all. Peter Fitzsimons wrote an interesting article on Alan in the Fitzfiles a couple of weeks ago, and I really enjoyed reading Chris Masters "JonesTown".
If you can get a copy of it, get one........ it is sensational.
It provides a real insight into the life of the motivator.

BUT Stagger is a fan of Jonesy, so he must be terrific. He must like things about the bloke that I don't. I haven't met Alan, personally so I wouldn't know.
BUT I do know Wayne Collins, and I know he is genuine in his love and passion for Rugby League.

the guy is a succes but his narrow minded views to a perfect world are what divides the sheep from the fox

Sometimes things arent either black or white-They lay somewhere in the middle.
could pass this onto ray as well.

I don't like him at all. Peter Fitzsimons wrote an interesting article on Alan in the Fitzfiles a couple of weeks ago, and I really enjoyed reading Chris Masters "JonesTown".
If you can get a copy of it, get one........ it is sensational.
It provides a real insight into the life of the motivator.

BUT Stagger is a fan of Jonesy, so he must be terrific. He must like things about the bloke that I don't. I haven't met Alan, personally so I wouldn't know.
BUT I do know Wayne Collins, and I know he is genuine in his love and passion for Rugby League.

so where do you get the idea that I like him? truth be known I've never listened or watched a program of he's ever hosted and probably never will unless I'm forced to, but as far as I'm concerned he wasn't dragged at the club to spruik the players about his political agendas either, I also don't particularly have a high opinion on Fitzsimons either, he's nothing more than a grade 1 sh*t stirer who I'm happy to tard with the same brush as Jones...

I find it funny that you have the hide to talk to me about genuine people and yet you believe the contents of an unauthorised biography about a bloke you don't like and probably never met, however I'm happy that we have one thing in common and that is we both have a genuine friend who's an assistant coach at a rival club but I'll choose not to advertise it.

Gazzamatta

Say what you want.
The guy is successful and has had an amazing career.
A Grand Slam Rugby Union Coach.
A First Grade Rugby League Coach.
A speech writer for the Prime Minister.
A continual ratings winner with his radio show.
Not many are as versatile and so successful.
I dont see any negatives what so ever. A change in routine is never a bad thing.
In Ozzie and DA we trust.

Queen_Crown.jpg

parra pete

so where do you get the idea that I like him? truth be known I've never listened or watched a program of he's ever hosted and probably never will unless I'm forced to, but as far as I'm concerned he wasn't dragged at the club to spruik the players about his political agendas either, I also don't particularly have a high opinion on Fitzsimons either, he's nothing more than a grade 1 sh*t stirer who I'm happy to tard with the same brush as Jones...

I find it funny that you have the hide to talk to me about genuine people and yet you believe the contents of an unauthorised biography about a bloke you don't like and probably never met, however I'm happy that we have one thing in common and that is we both have a genuine friend who's an assistant coach at a rival club but I'll choose not to advertise it.

HIDE....!!!! Don't make me laugh.....
Don't be afraid to let people know what you think, even though it may be against the grain, and never be afraid to discuss friendship and always stand by your friends..
I find your constant sledging of Snoopy very very strange to tell you the truth.
Wayne is a genuine 'good guy' and one of the most 'fair-dinkum' blokes one could ever meet. An absolute credit to the game, and there should be more like him.
As for Jones, his 'unauthorised' biography says it all. I find it strange that he didn't sue Chris Masters for defamation. Maybe he thought it was a true account?
I also took great interest in Chris's 'Four Corners' story on the man. Mmmmmm interesting.