Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Alan Jones tells Eels players that to win the NRL Premiership it takes hard work

They were probably thinking -------
"Why doesn't the Club give me more credibility to figure out for myself what is required to be successful, instead of listening to this bloke espouse the bloody obvious.
"Do they REALLY think I am that thick?"

would you kick up this big a stink if say, they got Fitzsimons in to talk to the lads??...seriously Pete, would you?

parra pete

At least Pete Fitzsimons has played at top level.
You are the one who took me to task originally for daring to have an opinion. Remember your sledge of Wayne Collins..A sledge for the sake of a sledge, and a half smart arse comment about one of the fair dinkum good guys of Rugby League....Why didn't they get Jimmy Swaggart or whatever the bloke in charge of Hillsong is called. Same result.
I don't care who they get. I just think FOR MOTIVATION, if that's what they were looking for, they pulled the wrong rein if they got Alan Jones - and, as reported, he told them to forget about what happened last year..and that to win a premiership takes hard work.
FMD...if they need to be told that, by a bloke like Alan Jones who is a multi millionaire, the team has NO CHANCE in 2010.
I would give the players much more credit than that....
But as I said, Jonesy had great success with Jacin Sinclair, Tricky Trindall and Craig Field so who am I to talk....
Can you just imagine Jack Gibson getting Alan Jones to address his players....:lol:

At least Pete Fitzsimons has played at top level.
You are the one who took me to task originally for daring to have an opinion. Remember your sledge of Wayne Collins..A sledge for the sake of a sledge, and a half smart arse comment about one of the fair dinkum good guys of Rugby League....Why didn't they get Jimmy Swaggart or whatever the bloke in charge of Hillsong is called. Same result.
I don't care who they get. I just think FOR MOTIVATION, if that's what they were looking for, they pulled the wrong rein if they got Alan Jones - and, as reported, he told them to forget about what happened last year..and that to win a premiership takes hard work.
FMD...if they need to be told that, by a bloke like Alan Jones who is a multi millionaire, the team has NO CHANCE in 2010.
I would give the players much more credit than that....
But as I said, Jonesy had great success with Jacin Sinclair, Tricky Trindall and Craig Field so who am I to talk....
Can you just imagine Jack Gibson getting Alan Jones to address his players....:lol:

he coached the last team to win a grand slam!..so what's your point?? :lol:...btw Petey you're getting a little testy about the snoop Collie Col joke, I'm sure there are friends of Tim Smith here rolling their eyes in irony.

i dont give a rats arse if they get pauline hanson in to talk to the players as long as they get some benefit from it maybe its not so much what he said but the way he said it that was inspiring im sure he is doing something out of the ordinary to earn his keep or people would stop paying him

p.s. pete, alan jones may not have played at the top level but he has coached at it (in two sports no less)

parra pete

So! I wouldn't get Peter Fitz either. We have had him twice out here, and whilst I love his writing and his public speaking, he is very aloof. I reckon he would be hard to get to know. I have had him and Lisa stay at our Motel when he came down for a Sportsperson of the Year Award night many years ago, and caught up with him when he came back for a Drought Relief Night a couple of years ago. He spoke really well on both occasions, but his PR after his duties were completed needs some brushing up. I think he may be shy, believe it or nor.

BTW - Let them roll their eyes. I call 'em as I see them, as no doubt you do too.
BUT I would be interested to know where you have OBSERVED Wayne Collins in action which enables you to bag him, in a very personal way, and poke fun at his NRL image.

So! I wouldn't get Peter Fitz either. We have had him twice out here, and whilst I love his writing and his public speaking, he is very aloof. I reckon he would be hard to get to know. I have had him and Lisa stay at our Motel when he came down for a Sportsperson of the Year Award night many years ago, and caught up with him when he came back for a Drought Relief Night a couple of years ago. He spoke really well on both occasions, but his PR after his duties were completed needs some brushing up. I think he may be shy, believe it or nor.

but would you still carry on like a petulant little child if Ozzie asked Fitz to come in and chat to the boys?

BTW - Let them roll their eyes. I call 'em as I see them, as no doubt you do too.
BUT I would be interested to know where you have OBSERVED Wayne Collins in action which enables you to bag him, in a very personal way, and poke fun at his NRL image.

Pete, I've seen Wayne play for Canberra and St George throughout his playing career and the team he assisted over the last few years has under achieved..as you said, i call it as I see it, just like you do..;-)

so you're right, we should let them roll their eyes..hit em with the truth, right between the eyes..;-)

parra pete

By saying I can't see Jones being of any use, how does that make me petulant? FMD...

This is my original post....

Good stuff Jonesy (*yawn*)...If the players need to be told the things you told them they shouldn't be in the NRL.
In my opinion, the amazing and courageous Kurt Fearnley would be a better motivational speaker to address the players. Now THERE is a bloke who has had to overcome adversity to achieve his goals.

AND THIS WAS THE RESPONSE FROM STAGGER...

well yeah obviously...
btw, it's a real bummer that snoopy Collins is tied up with Penrith, we could of done with him instead of that joker Jones.

Typical GCC answer...In other words "DON'T HAVE YOUR OWN OPINIONS". The City know best...All bow down and worship the idols...

parra pete

Listening to Al motivate would be like attending the annual banjo joke tellers convention. It's all been said before.

A tabloid reporter went to the annual banjo joke teller's convention to report on it for her newspaper. Part of the convention was a joke competition. The first comedian came out and said, "Number 236." The crowd burst out laughing. The next comedian walked on stage and said, "Number 1265." Around of laughter gripped the audience. Some of the people around the reporter even fell out of their chairs. Another one came out and said, "Number 876." The chuckling lasted for minutes.

The confused reporter turned to the person seated next to her and asked, "I don't get it. Why are they just saying numbers?"
The guy replied, "Well, we know all the jokes by numbers, so all the competitors have to do is give the number."
The next comedian came out and said, "Number 834." Silence. Not even a guffaw...
The reporter asked, "What happened?"
"Some people just don't know how to tell a joke."
The next comedian came out and said, "Number 1254." The audience erupted with raucous laughter. More hysterics than any of the previous comedians.
The reporter asked, "What happened?"
"That was a joke we had never heard before."

AND THIS WAS THE RESPONSE FROM STAGGER...

well yeah obviously...
btw, it's a real bummer that snoopy Collins is tied up with Penrith, we could of done with him instead of that joker Jones.
call me stupid but isn't he saying he would rather have snoopy than jones? :-k

parra pete

call me stupid but isn't he saying he would rather have snoopy than jones? :-k

Hey, yeah....he sure was. Snoopy would have been better value too. (that is - In my opinion)

Mate, I would never call anyone stupid - or an idiot - for having a view different to mine.