Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

All Hail King Arthur

Strider pointed out something in another thread that I thought was a fantastic point - he said that for the first time in a long, long time, our players have a structure in attack with set plays, bodies in motion and decoys. This is undoubtedly the result of intelligent coaching.

I was initially against the signing of King Arthur, as I felt Taylor had more First Grade runs on the board - but King Arthur has made me eat my words, and I owe him a thank you and apology for doubting him.

Whilst we have had some hiccups this season, the team is playing (on both sides of the ball) better than I have seen them play in years. There is communication and trust in defence; there is scintillating attack, and a willingness to spread the ball wide early; and there is intelligent footy being played in the attacking forty.

To add to this, King Arthur maintains a level of professionalism, and he demands very high standards - it was a breath of fresh air to see him say that we need to be better after putting 40 points past the Sharks (and I agree with him). To have a coach who doesn't rest on his laurels and demands perfection is just amazing, and King Arthur is doing a hell of a job.

Our most important signing in years IMO.

:clap: :clap: :clap:

I also wanted Taylor and am happy to be proven wrong. In our poll I don't think anyone picked him anyway. They did in a smart arse way when some voted for him after the announcement. :D. He really did come from left field and if anything he was a player's endorsement with Sharpie sticking his neck out.

He has shown that he is one of the best young coaches in the game and the feel that I get is similar to what Brian Smith did when he first arrived in 97.

Can we just enjoy their form at the moment without blowing our loads?

If we have a few dud games (a distinct possibility) then there will be merkins calling for his head.

spiderdan

*arthur's'

And yeah, he has done a great job so far. Seems to not get carried away with a win and similarly doesn't panic when the side loses or gets smashed. Hopefully he keeps it going and so far has been a great asset for the club to acquire.

Joshuatheeel

If we have a few dud games (a distinct possibility) then there will be merkins calling for his head.

Seriously I am blowing my load after the shit of the last two years. We can actually dream of making the semis rather then just hoping we are still in the game after twenty minutes.

I wanted anyone else but Jason Taylor. Glad we got Arthur. He has done well to put a very competitive team together - a blend of experience, youth and players wanting to prove a point. He was helped by the clean out and acquisition of Peats, Hopoate and Norman who were the by product of previous coaches.

What he has done is make the players believe in what he wanted and what they wanted. He has formed a very cohesive unit which can compete with any team in the NRL. I am confident of making the eight. I don't think we can win the whole thing just yet BUT we can go very close on the coat tails of Hayne, Sandow and what Brad has done.

it's amazing the difference the way we look in attack and defence of the last 3 or so seasons. Not blowing my load just yet but it is great to finally get a horn again.

Seriously I am blowing my load after the shit of the last two years. We can actually dream of making the semis rather then just hoping we are still in the game after twenty minutes.

It might have just tickled me in the testicular region but I haven't blown my load yet. If we win a premiership then I will probably take off after an atomic load blow.

Gazzamatta

I enjoy not hearing the usual excuses such as "Its not Kearney's or Ricky's Team", etc. It proves that good coaching can make a difference no matter the roster. Its wonderful preparing to watch a Parra game knowing my team will compete. I too would have preferred Taylor. Silly Gazza.

Who is blowing their load?

I'm praising our coach by saying he has done a great job so far. I'm happy that he's bringing what he has to the table.

Maroubra Eel

I'll take 4th on the ladder after 10 rounds, although I was hoping we would be a bit higher up at this stage. Oh well.

I also wanted Taylor and am happy to be proven wrong. In our poll I don't think anyone picked him anyway. They did in a smart arse way when some voted for him after the announcement. :D.

Nah mate. Several of us voted for him (or at least favoured him in the posts associated with the poll) before the result was known.

Anyway. He has done a great job thus far, both with the team and in keeping a distance from the Board.

Theres no reason we cant take out the premiership other than if injuries hit or bad form or bad refs...

Nah mate. Several of us voted for him (or at least favoured him in the posts associated with the poll) before the result was known.

Anyway. He has done a great job thus far, both with the team and in keeping a distance from the Board.

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=426789&page=201

In the first poll Twiz replaced "other" with Brad Arthur after the announcement. Nice one Twiz :D. I do concede that someone may have put in a vote for "other" and nominated Arthur in their post but I just couldn't be bothered reading all 201 pages. What I do know is that our very own Pou did mention him somewhere and I give him credit for it as you may have too Baz. In any event I've never been more glad in being wrong about something.

I still reckon his appointment came from left field and would never have happened had Ricky not walked and Arthur narrowly missing out on the Cowboys job.

T.S Quint

Strider pointed out something in another thread that I thought was a fantastic point - he said that for the first time in a long, long time, our players have a structure in attack with set plays, bodies in motion and decoys. This is undoubtedly the result of intelligent coaching.

I was initially against the signing of King Arthur, as I felt Taylor had more First Grade runs on the board - but King Arthur has made me eat my words, and I owe him a thank you and apology for doubting him.

Whilst we have had some hiccups this season, the team is playing (on both sides of the ball) better than I have seen them play in years. There is communication and trust in defence; there is scintillating attack, and a willingness to spread the ball wide early; and there is intelligent footy being played in the attacking forty.

To add to this, King Arthur maintains a level of professionalism, and he demands very high standards - it was a breath of fresh air to see him say that we need to be better after putting 40 points past the Sharks (and I agree with him). To have a coach who doesn't rest on his laurels and demands perfection is just amazing, and King Arthur is doing a hell of a job.

Our most important signing in years IMO.

:clap: :clap: :clap:

Whist I agree with most of what you have said, I don't know how you can be so happy with our defence.
We have coneded 227 points - 4th worst in the League.

Letting the Sharks score 24 against us was disgraceful. Getting pumped by the Roosters and Cowboys was even worse.
We still have a long way to go. But I'm glad it's Arthur who is leading us.

slippy

I know it's a whole lot of what-ifs but we really should've beaten Manly (dudded by the refs) and beaten Wests (shot ourselves in the foot). This would have us sitting equal 1st.

The Roosters game was just a disgraceful 2nd half that was 2013's lack of confidence in our boys coming out (and no Peats).

The hiding against the Cow's could've been completely different if Sandow scores right after half time. A learning curve for sure, playing a red hot Cow's at home on a Saturday night (they just bashed the premiers in the same conditions).

We have every right to be blowing our load over this season so far! Absolutely stoked to be going into the bye on the back of two wins. Now lets rest up and lets attack the middle third of the year.

Proud to be a Parra fan, our loyalty is paying off.

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=426789&page=201

In the first poll Twiz replaced "other" with Brad Arthur after the announcement. Nice one Twiz :D. I do concede that someone may have put in a vote for "other" and nominated Arthur in their post but I just couldn't be bothered reading all 201 pages. What I do know is that our very own Pou did mention him somewhere and I give him credit for it as you may have too Baz. In any event I've never been more glad in being wrong about something.

Yeh, that rings a bell. I think my first preference once Ricky's 'oops see ya later' was confirmed was Neil Henry, as he is a competent coach without any baggage at our club. But once the field was narrowed down BA Barracus was the man.

Anyway, good on him, I'm not getting carried away....we'll probably get hammered a couple more times this year (e.g. Storm / Souths if we get them on a bad week).....but what we've shown this year is an ability to turn it around the following week. I just wish we could put Ken Sio in for some cosmetic surgery so that he doesn't look so worried all the time...even after scoring.

Yeh, that rings a bell. I think my first preference once Ricky's 'oops see ya later' was confirmed was Neil Henry, as he is a competent coach without any baggage at our club. But once the field was narrowed down BA Barracus was the man.

Anyway, good on him, I'm not getting carried away....we'll probably get hammered a couple more times this year (e.g. Storm / Souths if we get them on a bad week).....but what we've shown this year is an ability to turn it around the following week. I just wish we could put Ken Sio in for some cosmetic surgery so that he doesn't look so worried all the time...even after scoring.

Feels so much like 1997 when Smithy came. We ended up making the finals that year and our inexperience showed up in the semis when we bowed out. We however made our first semi appearance in 11 years. We also had to make tough calls on some good players coming off contract (Karl Lovell and Jason Bell come to mind) and had huge attacking weapons with the "Canterbury 4. "