Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Allan Langer or Andrew Johns - Which halfback achieved more?

Slappy

Sir Biffo said:
Alfies defence! The old "trip em up" tackle!

lol, you beat me to it!

Langer certainly achieved more in the tripping stakes!

Langer was fantastic, but the fact that Johns is regarded (by some) as the best player of all time should be indicative of what he has achieved as a player!

I reckon Johns.

Sir Biffo

Darth Bobo said:
Only after the league changed the rules to handicap him. Alfie perfected tripping over the big blokes before the league came up with some bizarre tripping rule that you needed 2 hands on the opposition before you could trip em over. It was one of the many devious acts the NSWRL came up with to hamper Alfie's brilliant defensive technique, I'm sure the QLD's will remember it.

Oh bullsh*t! Tripping is considered dangerous in any sport and I don't care if he perfected it or even put a bloody mattress underneath them to break their fall. He was too much of a midget to tackle like a man so he had to stick out his size 6 boots to trip up anyone who came near him.

Stranger

Rugby league is a team game and i believe the premierships are the real team achievement

:lol: So because langer had 3/4 of the QLD team and half the aussie team beside him, his personal achievements are more? The question is which has achieved more, and Joey has achieved more by himself than langer has...

put them up against each other, head to head, brisbane vs newcastle, qld vs nsw from 94 to 2002 and the only time i can remember that johns outplayed alfie was origin 1 2002, whereas alfie owned johns on many occasions. alfie by 10000 miles, stuart was the 2nd best halfback and then johns.

ParraDude_Jay

pennywisealfie said:
put them up against each other, head to head, brisbane vs newcastle, qld vs nsw from 94 to 2002 and the only time i can remember that johns outplayed alfie was origin 1 2002, whereas alfie owned johns on many occasions. alfie by 10000 miles, stuart was the 2nd best halfback and then johns.

:roll: :roll:

Johns easily.

iggy plop

Azkatro said:
Allan Langer, was halfback with 4 premiership-winning Brisbane Broncos sides. Played 37 games for Queensland (including Tri-Series), winning 19 of those as halfback (with 1 draw). Represented Australia in I think 22 Tests.

Andrew Johns, halfback with 2 premiership-winning Newcastle sides. Played 23 games for NSW, winning 7 as halfback (with 1 draw). Represented Australia in 18 Tests.

Langer also played with the severe handicap of being shorter and weighing less, so consequently it is fair to add 50% to his achievements to even up the scores.

I believe Allan Langer has achieved much, much more as a halfback than Johns has or will, therefore making him the better player by default.

ALF is better for mine.

JJ

Azkatro said:
Allan Langer, was halfback with 4 premiership-winning Brisbane Broncos sides. Played 37 games for Queensland (including Tri-Series), winning 19 of those as halfback (with 1 draw). Represented Australia in I think 22 Tests.

Andrew Johns, halfback with 2 premiership-winning Newcastle sides. Played 23 games for NSW, winning 7 as halfback (with 1 draw). Represented Australia in 18 Tests.

Langer also played with the severe handicap of being shorter and weighing less, so consequently it is fair to add 50% to his achievements to even up the scores.

I believe Allan Langer has achieved much, much more as a halfback than Johns has or will, therefore making him the better player by default.

The inference that Qld won because Langer was at half is faulty - Lewis was at 5/8 for a number of those wins.

The inference that Langer is a better player because the Broncos won more premierships than Newcastle and he played more origins and tests is also wrong (verging on dumb).

The inference that you should add 50% to anything he achieved because he was little, is absurd... maybe we could subtract 50% as well beacuse he played for the best club of the 90's??

Langer achieved more yes - he played at a stronger club, and suffered fewer injuries... Was Vautine a superior player to Sironen because he played more origins and won more premierships??

Qld's win rate in SOO dropped when Lewis retired, and one could argue that Stuart had the better of Langer at that level.

Brisbane won a premiership immediately after Langer's retirement, Newcastle can barely win a game without Johns...

My vote, Langer achieved more (laregly due to circumstance), but Johns was the better player...

did langer ever play hooker for his state? johns did to make way for kimmorley.
Did langer always get picked for australia? no, because stuart was a damn good halfback and pipped him for the spot, but most of the time, langer was halfback. correct me if im wrong but kimmorley has played halfback for australia more times then johns.

RABK

Go look in the Lewis thread for the reasoning behind Johns selection at Hooker PWA.

This really is stupid, Johns vs Lewis yes. Johns vs Langer, no. If you can't admit that Johns is a better player then Langer then you've got sh*t for brains.

Individually Johns has achived more then any other player in the game, he has literally done it all. Team wise yes Langer achieved more.

Do a run down of the two, rate them on different facets of the game. Johns would KO langer in every facet, fair dinkum...defense and kicking game Johns would win 10-1. Go on, do it some QLD'r.

Whats the bet they give Langer higher then 2 for defense? :lol: Could Langer even kick the ball 30 metres?

gotta love the offseason.
Whats next...a who is better thread for Paul Green and Jason Taylor?
How about a Scott Wilson vs Paul Carige thread.
Naaaa this one is what i am looking forward to....Lee Murphy vs Lapina Kafusi.

nospam49™ said:
I met both players in 1998 during a Test match training session.

Both were really great, really friendly. I got them both to sign about 178 footy cards each. Johns was giving Langer some stick because I had more cards of him. :D

Thats heightened my oppinion of both considerably, like to see the stars taking time out for the fans.

Theres no doubt Langer was a very good even sensational player on his day, but saying his better then Johns is merely hot air.

No halfback has ever been the complete package that Joey is.

Langer's Broncos side was packed with international players. He was behind the best forward pack in recent history. While he was a fantastic half I don't think he can be compared to Johns. The way he carreid Newcastle in the back end of this season was phenomenal

Jono078

I don't want to go offtopic or anything...

But alot of people on this forum still think Lockyer is the best player... Why dont we ever get him in comparsion to anyone else ?

BTW, i'll say it again, Johns is the best player I have ever seen. Therefore Johns > Langer.

Azkatro

Red and Blue Knight said:
This really is stupid, Johns vs Lewis yes. Johns vs Langer, no. If you can't admit that Johns is a better player then Langer then you've got sh*t for brains.
Does that mean I'm special? I would have to be if I have sh*t in my head that actually carries out the duties of a brain. I don't even smell either.

Individually Johns has achived more then any other player in the game, he has literally done it all. Team wise yes Langer achieved more.
That's a bit veiled - team-wise? Rugby League is a team sport; why does everybody insist that all of Johns' achievements were done without any assistance whatsoever? That sh*ts me, because it's absurd.

Do a run down of the two, rate them on different facets of the game. Johns would KO langer in every facet, fair dinkum...defense and kicking game Johns would win 10-1. Go on, do it some QLD'r.

Whats the bet they give Langer higher then 2 for defense? :lol: Could Langer even kick the ball 30 metres?
You know, you might be right. Thanks for pointing that out, because it's proof that Alfie was all that more special a player - despite all his shortcomings and weaknesses (can't kick, can't tackle, can't pass, whatever) he still took countless Broncos and Origin games by the scruff of the neck and killed the opposition. And he did it without all those skills. That's just incredible! Imagine what Johns could do if he had anywhere near Alfie's ability, with those skills!?

You've just somehow convinced me that Alfie was even better than I realised before!

sooperdooper

ok my opinion:

langer V Johns as a player....
johsn a much better player than langer.

however langer did acheive alot in this game!! he is a lil champion!

i dont know how johns is the best player of all time. he didnt really stand out until 2001, he was a great player before then but not superb. Langer was an elite player pretty much the whole way through his career. saying johns is better is like saying ewen mcgrady is the best of all time coz he played awesome one year. alfie wins so easy.

Raiders Plight

Ricky Stuart's playing achievements would have to rate up there

3 premierships, 4 grand finals
clive churchill 1990
dally m 1993
rothmans medal 1993
14 games for NSW with 8 wins at half (NSW most successful halfback)
3 MOM awards for NSW
Winning Australian halfback on 1990 and 1994 kangaroo tours