Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Amone guilty.

Amones sentencing date is set for early December.

Her Honour spent a long time considering her decision and no doubt drafting it and probably doesn’t want a successful appeal against her. Memory serves she was about 2 or 3 weeks later than expected.

Amones lawyer indicated an appeal, and said he didn’t agree with it.

We assume he is challenging the finding, not the penalty because he hasn’t received any penalty yet.

I’m not sure what grounds he thinks are unsafe or where the court erred.

It is not easy to overturn a decision, simply not agreeing with it doesn’t cut the mustard ( everyone would get off then).

Seems that he may want to take the I.d issue all the way.

Same clothes at the airport was an interesting finding.

I would also like to see her other reasons.

Which does not detract from my interest that he didn’t give evidence. He hasn’t proven he was somewhere else. That’s not his job, he doesn’t bear the onus, but common sense suggests it would go some way to assisting the court.

Lets say he wins the appeal and Her Honours finding are not supported. I understand that there were some shortcomings with the investigation. Fatal? I’m not sure.

Does he go again like Haynesy?

And if so, during the process, who does he play for? I’m sure a few clubs like mine would consider explaining it all away. Get a handful of games out of him. No shame in the NRL, we’ve seen it many times.

I think there were calls to exclude him from the nrl now. I could go with that while the guilty verdict remains in place.

Still some twists and turns in this sorry saga to play out I’d say.

Crush

He has quite some work to do to achieve that.
Having Flanno as coach is in his favour as no doubt he won’t tolerate BS from the kid and will hold him to a higher standard than he has delivered that past few years.

The kid needed guidance at the dogs and appeared to receive nothing.

just my 2 cents
Hey Miller, my old man is a Sharks supporter, he’s very knowledgeable. Reckons Kyle will be solid without being anything brilliant. Hard worker, good legs tackler, won’t let anyone down. Reckons that’s why he did quite well at hooker.
Is he going to be electric? Nope. But he’ll do a good job and will raise the bar of the general culture at the joint. A much better option than Amone.

Dragon Blood

Plenty on here are saying why did Flanno let go of Sullivan but surely he would have factored in that there was a high probability that Amone would lose his case and go to jail so I am sure he has a plan. Now whether that plan is Flanno Junior and Hunt and whether it's a good/selfish plan I don't know.
My prediction in the Bud Sullivan thread before he was released was :-
1. Amone would be found guilty and potentially do time
2. CHunt didn't like playing with Bud as I believe he saw him as a threat to the beloved 7 jumper
3. Chunt and Flanno made a pact to release Bud and sign Flano Jr
4. Flano will struggle to sign the marquee players he wants and will struggle in 24' and then be sacked before the end of his contract
5. Dean Young takes over as head coach.

3 out of 5 have come to fruition already, let's see what happens in 24' and beyond. I hope I'm wrong on 4 & 5 even though I'm still pissed at Flano for letting Bud go.

Hey Miller, my old man is a Sharks supporter, he’s very knowledgeable. Reckons Kyle will be solid without being anything brilliant. Hard worker, good legs tackler, won’t let anyone down. Reckons that’s why he did quite well at hooker.
Is he going to be electric? Nope. But he’ll do a good job and will raise the bar of the general culture at the joint. A much better option than Amone.
Couldn’t agree more with that assessment. If Flanno can get his kicking game working much better than it has been he will do the job well. I do think much of his issue with Chooks and Dogs was confidence. He was certainly shafted around and whilst some of his performances warranted concern, the treatment would have destroyed the kid to some degree.
To his credit he fought his way back.
Now Flanno can work on getting him back to the controlling 7 he was leading up to NRL

Blood Shot Eyes

2. CHunt didn't like playing with Bud as I believe he saw him as a threat to the beloved 7 jumper
4. Flano will struggle to sign the marquee players he wants and will struggle in 24' and then be sacked before the end of his contract

3 out of 5 have come to fruition already, let's see what happens in 24' and beyond. I hope I'm wrong on 4 & 5 even though I'm still pissed at Flano for letting Bud go.
God forbid if No 5 comes to fruition....that'll just about do me

Nutz

Considering he's been actually found guilty of the offence, surely the club's hand is forced. We have to sack him don't we?
I think under the "no dickheads policy" if still in vogue, the club can sack him.
If it is, players contract can be terminated only in consultation with the integrity unit.
Since Amone's likely punishment was below the NRL no fault threshold he was allowed to go back and play with Saints.
If no dickhead policy is not in force then the club would rely on the NRL to deregister his contract I guess and that could mean more legal action??
There has to be more to it though.
If unacceptable behavior and it's consequences are drawn up in a contract and a player signs it and the NRL ratifies it then surely that it....sack to dhead.

The standard of proof is beyond reasonable doubt.

The identification issue will be grounds for appeal.

Amone’s Counsel has rolled the dice.

High risk/reward strategy. As another forum member stated, his prospective sentence discount is toast.

Here is some commentary on the guilty plea for the panel to consider:

B4C1571F-3748-4B1C-BF9D-809907FBA975.jpeg

Source: https://www.judcom.nsw.gov.au/publications/benchbks/sentencing/guilty_plea.html

And I guess he could have pleaded early to the charges although disputed the facts.

Gardenia

Amones sentencing date is set for early December.

Her Honour spent a long time considering her decision and no doubt drafting it and probably doesn’t want a successful appeal against her. Memory serves she was about 2 or 3 weeks later than expected.

Amones lawyer indicated an appeal, and said he didn’t agree with it.

We assume he is challenging the finding, not the penalty because he hasn’t received any penalty yet.

I’m not sure what grounds he thinks are unsafe or where the court erred.

It is not easy to overturn a decision, simply not agreeing with it doesn’t cut the mustard ( everyone would get off then).

Seems that he may want to take the I.d issue all the way.

Same clothes at the airport was an interesting finding.

I would also like to see her other reasons.

Which does not detract from my interest that he didn’t give evidence. He hasn’t proven he was somewhere else. That’s not his job, he doesn’t bear the onus, but common sense suggests it would go some way to assisting the court.

Lets say he wins the appeal and Her Honours finding are not supported. I understand that there were some shortcomings with the investigation. Fatal? I’m not sure.

Does he go again like Haynesy?

And if so, during the process, who does he play for? I’m sure a few clubs like mine would consider explaining it all away. Get a handful of games out of him. No shame in the NRL, we’ve seen it many times.

I think there were calls to exclude him from the nrl now. I could go with that while the guilty verdict remains in place.

Still some twists and turns in this sorry saga to play out I’d say.
Oh god help us again!! So, if he is appealing then they can't make a decision whether to stick with him or sack him until the court process is over and his salary is tied up while he drags this on.

Here we go again.

Gardenia

The standard of proof is beyond reasonable doubt.

The identification issue will be grounds for appeal.

Amone’s Counsel has rolled the dice.

High risk/reward strategy. As another forum member stated, his prospective sentence discount is toast.
Its reprehensible to go the mistaken identity route and shows no ownership of his actions. The Judge would take a dim view of this but I guess the lawyer is doing what he can?? I read fingerprints matching Amones were on the car? If true I do not see how he can appeal.

Its reprehensible to go the mistaken identity route and shows no ownership of his actions. The Judge would take a dim view of this but I guess the lawyer is doing what he can?? I read fingerprints matching Amones were on the car? If true I do re not see how he can appeal.

I suppose it’s his right and occasionally magistrates make mistakes.

There’s a lot at stake. I get your point though.

If he goes to gaol, I’m wondering how he’s going to be classified ie who he’s going to living with.

He’s capable of extreme violence.

And the annual pay cut.

Let’s say he does a standard 40 hr working week as a footy player. I’m just using this as a guide

On $400k a year.

Per hour gross @$192 an hour.

Let’s say he gets a yard job at Gaol well he’ll be earning about $2 an hour.

Then he will have that spend up thing and buy junk food.

So his income is reduced by a factor of 96 times. Imagine if you or I had to cop that?

Then the battle for roofies injuries and psychological damage, pain and suffering.
That will probably take care of what he’s saved or earned.

Gardenia

I suppose it’s his right and occasionally magistrates make mistakes.

There’s a lot at stake. I get your point though.

If he goes to gaol, I’m wondering how he’s going to be classified ie who he’s going to living with.

He’s capable of extreme violence.

And the annual pay cut.

Let’s say he does a standard 40 hr working week as a footy player. I’m just using this as a guide

On $400k a year.

Per hour gross @$192 an hour.

Let’s say he gets a yard job at Gaol well he’ll be earning about $2 an hour.

Then he will have that spend up thing and buy junk food.

So his income is reduced by a factor of 96 times. Imagine if you or I had to cop that?

Then the battle for roofies injuries and psychological damage, pain and suffering.
That will probably take care of what he’s saved or earned.
I can see its his whole life ahead of him ruined for one mistake so that is why his Lawyer is trying everything. I just think its a bit of a gamble and he would have been better off showing remorse and pleading guilty and going for a very light sentence as a result. Having said that the tradie could have been fatally injured and its a very serious matter.

Yes, I think it’s an extremely serious offence, if the property and aggro connected to the car wasn’t enough, he grabbed a hammer and rushed up on the roof. Roofie had to jump houses to escape, no doubt thought he was going to bashed senseless or worse. So fleeing for his life he gets badly injured.

Life threatening, absolutely, let’s not be shy about that. It was a dog act to do to someone.

At this time, he is prey and junior is hunting him with a weapon. I think there’s another guy as well.

It’s so serious, I think her honours only realistic option is gaol. If she does anything else, it sends the wrong message to the community.

I think this is the advice junior got and feeling cornered, he goes make or break on a technicality.

As you suggest @Gardenia court may find that because of this not guilty plea, he has no contrition or regret about it.

His youth and good prior record, will give him some discount. Send him off to a shrink, get his old man to try to exculpate him, but at the end of the day, I can’t see any other alternative.

The other thing is that she sends him to gaol, and he can appeal, she’s done her bit and its in the hands of others.

She can give him bail during his appeal, probably should give him bail.

He’s crossed the line for me, he’s a violent criminal and he’s very dangerous whilst he has that aggro temper thing going on. Did he think he was in a movie?

The scary thing is that it could have been any of us, just doing our job or minding our own business and all of sudden neighbourhood nature strip vigilantes take exception to our presence.

I’m usually very cautious about backing the cops and stuff for various reasons, but in this instance, I’m much more inclined to back them. They got their conviction, Im all good with that.

Slippery Morris

NRL should bring in a rule on players found guilty of a serious crime such as this and that is to be de-registered from the NRL immediately and to be re-instated at least a year after they are released and to play for his initial club unless they don't want him. Give the club first crack. This way is more favourable to the club who is impacted most and leaves the penalty to the law systems in place for the player committing the crime.

Rather than have a stand down rule which is pretty poor especially if the guy is later found innocent or is not charged.

Stand down should be a flat 12 week ban only and that is for bringing the game in disrepute. The way it is now it is as if the NRL assumes the player is guilty and it can drag on for years due to the timetables of the judicial system which can take over a year or 2.

NRL should bring in a rule on players found guilty of a serious crime such as this and that is to be de-registered from the NRL immediately and to be re-instated at least a year after they are released and to play for his initial club unless they don't want him. Give the club first crack. This way is more favourable to the club who is impacted most and leaves the penalty to the law systems in place for the player committing the crime.

Rather than have a stand down rule which is pretty poor especially if the guy is later found innocent or is not charged.

Stand down should be a flat 12 week ban only and that is for bringing the game in disrepute. The way it is now it is as if the NRL assumes the player is guilty and it can drag on for years due to the timetables of the judicial system which can take over a year or 2.

Some good points here.

Some kind of benefit should go back to the club who is most adversely effected.

We pump hundreds of thousands of dollars into these nerf balls.

What he did to your club was grossly disrespectful.

saintmar

IMO You are 100% CORRECT on every point.
I am pissed and FURIOUS Flano let Bud go.
I feel the outcome of this decision will be define his stint here.

Mojo

IMO You are 100% CORRECT on every point.
I am pissed and FURIOUS Flano let Bud go.
I feel the outcome of this decision will be define his stint here.
I hope your fury is mostly directed at Hunt. He’s obviously jealously guarded the 7 spot. I think Hunt’s machinations have had huge negative impacts upon STGI - including the contracting and extending of Hook.

Kilkenny

I would be surprised if he is sentenced to a full time custodial sentence unless he has a prior history for convictions involving violence.

His sentence will most likely involve something lesser than full time imprisonment .

He is entitled to leniency and should be allowed to demonstrate rehabilitation in a firm other than imprisonment.

Many people in society make a mistake or mistakes, often for more serious offences and are giving second chances.

Not downplaying what he did, but probably entitled to a second chance.

saintmar

I hope your fury is mostly directed at Hunt. He’s obviously jealously guarded the 7 spot. I think Hunt’s machinations have had huge negative impacts upon STGI - including the contracting and extending of Hook.
Yes I agree with you but if you and I can see that Hunt jelously guarded the 7 spot and Sully had no chance of ever influencing a game when Hunt was on the field and on top that the negative impact on the club with all his machinations,why couldn't Flano see it?
This is why i am frustrated and disappointed with Flano,he had the most PERFECT opportunity to let Hunt go and keep Bud who was rightfully touted as our future and to use Hunts' overpaid salary to reshape our playing roster.
Instead he released Bud and kept the ageing Hunt and this imo sends the wrong signal in the player market to both players and their managers of where this club is heading with their pathways and opportunities for players.
Hence our current recruitment results.
IMO Golden Opportunity for a turn around LOST.