Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ando gone if we miss the finals

eels81236

And a notorious supporter of the camp who is stirring up all the crap on this site.

It's the start of the bring back fitzy campaign and they don't give a rats about destabalising the team or club.

Mate you are the one carrying on the most with the Fitzy vs 3P crap.
Why is it that whenever someone says anything remotely negative about the current board or the current situation you are accusing them of being in bed with Fitzy and his assumed "team"? Must it be that when somebody mentions that they are dillusioned with the obvious goings on at the club at the moment that they are automatically Fitzy supporters?
One could also ask the same questions of yourself. Do you really believe the current board are infallable and therefore beyond criticism/reproach/scrutiny? Are you in bed with them? Are they your buddies and that is why you have such admiration for them?

If you really thought about it and done a little research i'm sure you would discover that a large percentage of the population here that are expressing their concerns did in fact vote for your beloved 3P or a mixture of both old and new representatives. Myself included. To think that every comment made here has the alterior motive of supporting Fitzy then you must be extremely naive....

Bulldog,
Is Steven Kearney really that good of a coach?? His name gets mentioned every time another coach is in trouble but never lands a head coaching gig!!!
Coaching NZ in one-off tests, or short 4 nations series is a long way different coaching a NRL team for a full season.
Big MAl will go down in Origin folklore as one of the great origin coaches, but he couldnt cut it as a nrl coach either....

Carnster of Campbelltown (Reply)
Mon 16 Aug 10 (11:19pm)

No-one really knows how Kearney would handle the NRL as a head coach. He has helped Bellamy admirably and guided NZ to the World Cup alongside Wayne Bennett. I just think Parramatta’s board has handled this issue terribly. Imagine how Daniel Anderson feels? The board is basically saying if you don’t make the finals, you could be sacked.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:35am)​

Do you have to belong to the right church to “belong” at Parra?

Enquirer of WSydney (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (02:34am)

I don’t think religion is an issue. Anderson guided Parra to the grand final last year and everyone thought he was a genius. And he lost to a team $1.3 million over the salary cap. He is a good coach who has done everything right. Yet this board - that has only been in office for five minutes - are looking elsewhere. Disgraceful.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:38am)​

I couldn’t agree more Bulldog, here is a guy that shook off the ghosts of chook raffles past at Parra to bring them their only success for years and years.... and now they want to undermine him while the finals are still within reach???
I think Anderson’s dignified public response should be commeneded.

Lester Diamond of Crows Nest (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (04:10am)

He was appointed by Denis Fitzgerald - that seems to be Anderson’s only mistake. The new board has sacked anyone and everyone associated with Fitzgerald. It appears a vicious vendetta.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:40am)​

Sack the board, bring back Fitzy

Martin (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (06:30am)

Fitzgerald was always extremely loyal to his coaches. Some say too loyal when it came to Brian Smith.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:41am)​

I think parramatta are that desperate to win a premiership they will do anything and everything 2 try and get it yet we cant keep our own juniors in our team.

drew89 of merrylands (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (06:57am)

what do you think of the NEW board? have they brought anything positive to the club?? is there any members of the board you seem to be positive for the club? it seems that the progress the new board have made has all been firing anyone associated with Fitzgerald and it nearly been 1 and half years. Also they were highly critical of the OLD board and built a campaign lead on false information. But i look at this way, atleast the Old board didn’t critise the players, coach and club as they are doing now seeminly on a weekly basis and leak information out of the club on a daily basis. seems like some of them just want to be a SOMEBODY cause most of the new board are NOBODIES? your thoughts???

ND of Sydney (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (07:02am)

You present a strong argument ND…
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:43am)​

This is just one of this years mid year trades or trade talks. The NRL must go back to end of year trading. As for the Eels board wheres the Blue and Gold Loyalty. Anyone 2nd generation, parramatta junoir or long servicing past and present players & coaches should have every effort to keep them let along give them the respect this great club is known for.

King Budda of Central Coast (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (07:21am)

Here’s some ‘logic’ for the board.
Parra made the 2009 grand final largely on the back of 2 men: Anderson, and Jarrad Hayne.
They’ve failed to repeat it this year, so the logical thing to do is sack those 2 men: Anderson and Hayne.
It all makes sense, doesn’t it?
lol.gif

smo of sydney (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (07:24am)

Bulldog,
I thought 3P were the answer for Parra, I’m not so sure now. I don’t think the senior players would be happy if Ando got the sack
Jim

Jim of Sydney (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (07:41am)

Anderson has the support of the players. He is a strong character who doesn’t take any rubbish. But he is certainly respected at Parramatta Stadium.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:44am)​

Whilst I agree with you about the board’s treatment of Anderson ( I think he should at least see out his contract), I do believe they are entitled to ask question of some of his decisions this year.
1. Why has it taken him so long to drop mortimer, when his form has been very ordinary all year?
2. Why is Cayless still in the starting side with Poore & Mannah on the bench?
3. Why have we lost some good players (mateo, keating, Inu) & signed no one
4.Why has it taken 22 rounds for Anthony Mitchell to be given a run, when he has been killing it in the lower grades for several years, & Parra have had no spark out of dummy half all season?
However, all of this should be done at the end of the season, not 3 weeks from the finals!!

macca of Nth Avoca (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (07:46am)

Look every coach makes mistakes through a season. But should Anderson’s errors ensure he is punted mid-term?? The answer is no.
Dean Ritchie

**COUGH** fitzy lover **COUGH**

Marky F of Golden West (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:05am)

Say what you like Marky but if Anderson is punted, Parramatta’s board should be ashamed of themselves.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:53am)​

Who cares. Parramatta seems to implode like this at the end of every season, why are we surprised when it happens this year?

Ben of Collaroy (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:06am)

You obviously care, that’s why you emailed....
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:57am)​

Paul Osborne has been a very popular figure so far but his decision to take a trip down to Melb. to speak with Kearney was thoughtless, disruptive and stupid. Did he think it would have no ramifications for the teams campaign? you should only take on a new coach if he is an improvement. You can not say that about Kearney and Anderson. Your thoughts…

Eely of Parra (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:08am)

Ossie was under some pressure from his board. He and Anderson are mates.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:58am)​

I know this is a bit off-topic Bulldog but the Eels are going after the wrong guy in Quade Cooper. If there’s any Wallaby they should be chasing it’s Will Genia. Genia looks like he could be a great halfback, which also means Mortimer could stay at five-eighth, his best position. While i’d like to see Cooper in league he looks a bit flakey to me and definitely not worth what the Eels are offering.

Marvo of Auckland (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:08am)

I think the story has been fabricated and blown out of propotion. Ando is well respected and treated by the players, management, directors and the fans..Paul Osbourne in Channel 9 cleared the air last night.. so this topic should be shelved for now. You may proceed but are you prepared to apologise to us the parra fans on Saturdays Daily Telegraph front full page if Daniel keeps his position next year??

Rahm of sydney (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:19am)

Rahm, why would I apologise? I am saying Anderson should keep his job!!! And I am glad you have allowed me to ‘’proceed’’ with my blog. Appreciated.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (11:59am)​

Hi Bulldog. They sure do have short memories. The fans last year would have kissed Andersons backside if they had the chance and this year, they continually bag him. Its always the coach thats responsible these days and the reason being, the players are spoilt, little sooks and if the coach says anything about them that maybe the truth, the cant handle it

MicktheDragon (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:26am)

Hey Dean,
I really can’t understand why your backing Anderson so much. Before they made that run to the finals I think they were coming second last after 17 rounds, with a good line up that other teams would envy.They bought well in the off season with Poore, Tahu & Shackleton & how have they gone this year...pretty hopeless. They should be in the top 3, easily. He has made some awful decisions (playing mortimer at half & Robson at hooker than 5/8. The only thing that I agree is the Board say way to much out of school which is embarrasing.

The Mayor of Singlet on (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:26am)

Totally agree. Pull your head in ozzy. Ando could possibly one of the most successfully coaches at parra of the last 20 years.He may even take us to 2 GF’s in 2 years - I cant work out the logic here?? As a loyal eels fan I have total faith in him!

changa of Eastwood (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:27am)

Don’t blame Ossie, blame the board. And remember there are elections in December and April.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:02pm)​

It seems to me Daniel Anderson has had a lot of success at clubs in his first 1 or 2 years and then sides he coaches drop off after that. I agree tho board are a joke and I see that Fitzgerald is sniffing around again which can only be to the detriment of the club. I say get rid of most of the board and try and start a fresh

David of Alexandria (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:28am)

Timing is everything and the board’s timing could not be worse. Isn’t it common sense to wait until the end of the season?
Anyway Anderson has been a good coach and just last year he almost coached Parramatta to the Premiership.
The question: does Anderson have the support of the players?

Matt of Sydney (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:39am)

Matt of Sydney (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:44am)

Monday night is a big ratings winner for Fox. And they tip in a lot of money for the rights. The game needs cash.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:01pm)​

Hi Dean, I agree the Parra board seems to be very petty and childish but they pale in comparison to what the referee’s are doing!
I had nothing at all riding on last night’s game and I turned it off in disgust following the Gasnier “try”.
We might as well be playing gridion if all we need to do is get over the line. Heck, Brent Kite must have thought so with that pass for the Foran “try”!
The refs and their boss have all lost touch with rugby league reality.

Roland (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:52am)

You’re right mate… it’s bonkers talk… especially because the alternative in question is Kearney who has accomplished zero! (Having Wayne Bennett hold your hand when you coach NZ actually counts against Kearney in my opinion)
Possibly a bigger point of concern is that this obviously destabilising information has been leaked. There’s unhappy campers in that club.

Liam of Sydney (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (09:59am)

Bonkers talk??!! I love it Liam....
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:03pm)​

Daniel Anderson showed he is made of the right stuff by making the decision to drop overrated Mortimer at the weekend (and didn’t it pay off!)
Mortimer is lucky to make the run on side for Wentworthville yet you clowns at the DT beat him up as some sort of super hero just cos of his surname!
You guys also beat it up when Anderson got stuck into Hayne and turns out Hayne comes out and plays the house down after Anderson gave him a bit of a kick up the backside.
Why would they sack him?? Because he’s not a yes man??

Justin' Time Drew of My Mum's House (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (10:14am)

Mortimer was sensational last year. Were we supposed to ignore him? Next time we will and whingers like you will compailn again about the lack of coverage and praise.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:05pm)​

Deano,
Check the million and one articles written by DT on Parramatta last year, I’m pretty sure you’ll find that by his own admission Anderson didn’t get Parramatta to the finals last year, Hayne did.
That being said, I’m happy for the board to question the coach… I don’t pay memberships to watch a team play with no heart. Player’s/Coaches aren’t making six figure incomes to put me to sleep, I’ll read a Rothfield blog for that.. On the other handt I’m not happy when the CEO goes on a “secret” trip to Melbourne. That shows absolutely no respect for the coach and in turn the team at a very crucial time of the year. The Tigers/Eeels game is set to be a beauty, but it’s certainly to be overshadowed by this non sense.

Steve Smith of Sydney (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (10:18am)

Anderson coached them to the GF. Why won’t people acknowledge that?
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:06pm)​

G’day Dean,
As an Eels’ fan, I totally agree with you about how the board are now acting in a very stupid manner. I think some of them are starting to panic, and despite their denial, it does appear pay back time for anyone hired under Fitzgerald’s management. Personally, I think too much emphasis is placed on the coach these days, and players aren’t scrutinized about their own performances enough. Parra’s so called problem/s is/are not the coach. If they wanna spend some money, go & buy a good 6, 7 & 9. Also, have they started planning for Hindmarsh’s eventual retirement?

Tim of Gold Coast (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (10:20am)

Parramatta are a rable pure and simple; I’d almost rather be associated with the Sharks if I was a professional in the football world - shame they wouldn’t be able to pay me though.
Also in the search for the great Parra halves savior why isn’t anyone sniffing around Sam Tomkins from Wigan? He is something special.

Frank of ACT (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (10:23am)

Dog,
It’s no coincidence how you Tele hacks love to highlight the trials and tribulations of ARL-aligned clubs such as the mighty Eels (my 2nd favourite team), St Merge, Wests and the mighty mighty Roosters (also my 2nd favourite team) by plastering any negative stories (be it player behaviour, team form slides or boardroom rumblings) on the front and back of the paper.
But when a Super League affiliated club (such as the Broncos, Storm, Sharks or Warriors) comes a cropper the story gets buried deep in the bowels of the publication.
It’s wrong.

Ben Djerkovic of I'm better than you cause I live in Rose Bay (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (10:25am)
josh replied to Ben Djerkovic
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:21pm)
As a Sharks fan, Ben all i can say is WTF are you on about! no one gets smashed more than us you tool.

You are now barred from this blog Ben. You have shown yourself to be a complete fool. I will post it though so other people know. Super League has been over for 13 years. Get a life.
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:10pm)​

So why are you publishing the story. If this was kept in house and not splashed and sensationalized by the media then the players would not read about it in the papers. Then maybe they could get on with playing footy instead of worrying if Anderson will be there next year or not. As a Souths supporter and playing the eels next week and maybe for a birth in the finals on line sensationalize it all for it’s worth i hope it derails it bigtime. As a league lover leave the ^#&# alone

Rabbotoh Member of Bundaberg (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (10:27am)

Because we are a newspaper. We find NEWS.....
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:11pm)​

Dean, can you honestly say that this Quade Cooper nonsense is fair dinkum. Surely you and your colleagues must know that this is all a beat-up but you choose to keep pedalling it cos it sells papers. Parra are obviously being used as a bargaining chip and to be honest I can’t believe they’re that dumb. Maybe its whoever’s sanctioning these talks and wasting the Eels time and resources that should be looking at the sack, not Anderson.

NoHojuNoCry of Killarney Heights (Reply)
Tue 17 Aug 10 (10:27am)

You are a dribbler mate. Cooper has met Parra officials twice and with the NRL marketing department yesterday. Are we to ignore that? I love how people like you - who aren’t journos - think you know what a news story is....
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:08pm)​

Bigfella

Thanks Gronk.

To me that illuminates perfectly that there is an anti-board agenda being stirred up in the Tele.

I stand by my comments that there is an equivalent agenda being driven on these boards.

I am sure that part of that is engineered, with the usual faceless, sub-200 post participants, running around every thread hijacking it in to an anti-board / 3P thread.

I believe a few people have been conned into falling into line with it.

For the record, if it is definitively shown that there was a malicious leak by a member of the board, I will not take a view because I support them (and I have no link to them, I don't know them, I don't do business with them, I'm not hoping to curry favour with them because they say hello to me on game nights at the club).

But at present there are many many other possible explanations for how the story broke - including other people leaking, or it not being a leak at all.

And, at the end of the day, I have no problem with players and coaches having some accountability demanded of them.

My biggest gripe about the joint for 24 years is that there has been too little accountability. Too many people got and kept jobs because of incumbency or nepotism, and mediocrity has become acceptable.

I will judge people on observable facts, and not rumour innuendo and propaganda.

I stated my reasons in another thread why personally I think Ando should keep his job next year. But I support the fact that there should be review and accountability.

parra pete

lols - no, no thankyou. but im sure they are lovely! :lol:

I don't know David at all, but Nick is a good mate...and a terrific journo and bloke.
The thing I admire about Nick is that he writes the positives of the game, not the negatives...and he has a cliche`for EVERY OCCASION...
He is a great writer, in my opinion.

To me that illuminates perfectly that there is an anti-board agenda being stirred up in the Tele.

I stand by my comments that there is an equivalent agenda being driven on these boards.
Are you sure you're not confusing it with Jan-April 2009...? :sarcasm:

Casper The Ghost

Mate you are the one carrying on the most with the Fitzy vs 3P crap.
Why is it that whenever someone says anything remotely negative about the current board or the current situation you are accusing them of being in bed with Fitzy and his assumed "team"? Must it be that when somebody mentions that they are dillusioned with the obvious goings on at the club at the moment that they are automatically Fitzy supporters?
One could also ask the same questions of yourself. Do you really believe the current board are infallable and therefore beyond criticism/reproach/scrutiny? Are you in bed with them? Are they your buddies and that is why you have such admiration for them?

If you really thought about it and done a little research i'm sure you would discover that a large percentage of the population here that are expressing their concerns did in fact vote for your beloved 3P or a mixture of both old and new representatives. Myself included. To think that every comment made here has the alterior motive of supporting Fitzy then you must be extremely naive....

I am not into taking sides or ganging up just for the sake of being part of a gang BUT what an excellent summary of factual-reality you have presented eels81236 :clap::clap::clap::thumb

84 Baby

Because we are a newspaper. We find NEWS.....
Dean Ritchie
Tue 17 Aug 10 (12:11pm)

So true Bulldog. You guys find 'news' everywhere...

I don't know David at all, but Nick is a good mate...and a terrific journo and bloke.
The thing I admire about Nick is that he writes the positives of the game, not the negatives...and he has a cliche`for EVERY OCCASION...
He is a great writer, in my opinion.
Yes Pete, but can you confirm that he is 'lovely'? ;-)

hybrideel

That being said, I’m happy for the board to question the coach… I don’t pay memberships to watch a team play with no heart. Player’s/Coaches aren’t making six figure incomes to put me to sleep, I’ll read a Rothfield blog for that.. On the other handt I’m not happy when the CEO goes on a “secret” trip to Melbourne. That shows absolutely no respect for the coach and in turn the team at a very crucial time of the year. The Tigers/Eeels game is set to be a beauty, but it’s certainly to be overshadowed by this non sense.

Hilarious

caylo

Whilst I agree with you about the board’s treatment of Anderson ( I think he should at least see out his contract), I do believe they are entitled to ask question of some of his decisions this year.
1. Why has it taken him so long to drop mortimer, when his form has been very ordinary all year?
2. Why is Cayless still in the starting side with Poore & Mannah on the bench?
3. Why have we lost some good players (mateo, keating, Inu) & signed no one
4.Why has it taken 22 rounds for Anthony Mitchell to be given a run, when he has been killing it in the lower grades for several years, & Parra have had no spark out of dummy half all season?
However, all of this should be done at the end of the season, not 3 weeks from the finals!!

1) this we can agree on but we all know why Mortimer was kept in the side and that is because he was signed for 250K as our future halfback

2) Do you watch football, Cayless has been great this year IMO

3) Mateo 400K, Inu over paid, KK we over paid Mortimer why would we make this mistake twice.

4) It was actually mentioned by Anderson that he wanted to give him a run 6 weeks ago but he got injured and was not physically fit to play in the NRL, and with MK dropped I assume Anderson was looking to bring up Mitchell around then.

Why are people so stupid. While Anderson has made some mistakes this year it isnt like we have been horrible. I think Anderson has improved our forward pack and got the best out of Hayne but our real problem has been 6, 7 and 9. In the last 3 seasons he has tried to manufacture Hayne into a 5-8 and has looked at bringing Thurston, Cronk, Kimmorley, Barrett and Orford over and now looking at RU for options, the reason we havnt found a halfback isnt from lack of effort.

Last year with Mortimer and KK perfromances they probably thought that they were going to get lucky but they have failed to back it up. In that period thou they have got Thurton, Barba and some NYC jnr across to challange and replace some of these guys.

hasman

There is an attitude problem at the club far deeper than poor coaching.

We have never been able to perform with the pressure of expectation

Over those 4 failed seasons, we have had 3 different coaches, now that says something...it is not the coaches fault.

IMO...very stupid to sack DA, who could have foreseen that Mortimer would struggle this much leaving us with no halves.

Mate think again, we havn't won the Comp Since 1986. How Many players have we lost since 2002. New Players and New coach since then we didn't win the Ring. Why aren't we in the Top 4. Why are we strugling to make the 8. Look at the Roosters how many coaches have they lost since 02 and they won the comp that year. I can assure you that Parra have lost alot more players then the Roosters.

parra pete

[/RIGHT]
So true Bulldog. You guys find 'news' everywhere...

Yes Pete, but can you confirm that he is 'lovely'? ;-)

Yes, I can confirm that he is a lovely young married family man..and more importantly, a Parra man.... (Ssssssh)

fish eel

PARRAMATTA chairman Roy Spagnolo said last night he had assured coach Daniel Anderson his place as coach of the Eels next year was ''not an issue''.

Anderson's position has appeared in jeopardy since news broke last Friday of a meeting between Eels chief executive Paul Osborne and New Zealand coach and Storm assistant Stephen Kearney.

It had been suggested that if the Eels failed to make the semi-finals, the board might would consider whether Anderson should see out his contract.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/eels-back-coach-20100818-12f6y.html

Schiltzenberger

Forget Ando.

Ossie and the board should be tarred and feathered if we lose Horo.
I'm not saying Horo is a huge loss but it will be the straw that broke the camel's back. We are losing plenty and are gaining nothing, yet Ossie is still running around flashing cash to Quade Cooper, who will probably not even come to Parra.

I feel sorry for Ando to have such imbeciles presiding over his future.:(

It reminds me of those Survivor food auctions. There is always 1 or 2 idiots sitting there at the end with all their cash and no food.