Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ando's bill

millersnose

cheese said:
Souths wont touch him.

...you only have to visit http://www.rabbitohs.com/burrows/hutch/ to know what the majority of supporters think of him, and the opinons of some of people on that board seem to carry a fair bit of muscle

all this talk of deadwood and loosing cultures is a farce
why? we never won anything

well we sure as hell werent getting better were we

and we use to win a majority of our games

especially given lang has landed one now against all odds
I fail to see what this has to do with cronulla. If anything, it backs up the deadwood/losing culture remark.

but totally uncomparable ....totally different squads

it says that if lang can win a big one at penrith that it doesnt necessarily mean anderson would get it at the sharks

think about the squad he had at melbourne

that was a damn good squad as was the canterbury squad

We've been through this cheese.
The difference was that lang got the halves & front rowers he wanted.
he did want another front rower but was denied.
It's all about getting the right team together & a just a bit of luck.
Lang never had that at Cronulla & the teams over acheived.
It is exactly the real issue & directly comparable.
it hs nothing to do with deadwood.
It has to do with ability & the mix.

millersnose

i daresay the squad ando had at melbourne was vastly more talented than the squad lang had at penrith

and they only had to play the stains in the GF :lol:

cheese

millersnose said:
well we sure as hell werent getting better were we

and we use to win a majority of our games
True .....but he broke the mould, the mould that was only 85% good enough. Sure we were farged, but atleast we are now building towards something
it says that if lang can win a big one at penrith that it doesnt necessarily mean anderson would get it at the sharks

think about the squad he had at melbourne
Agreed.......

But lang didnt seem to be able to get us the big one, so there's no harm in trying some new tactics. Those tactics seem to have been the wrong ones, but im loving the look of our squad for the next couple of years, so lets see wht happens.
reef said:
We've been through this cheese.
The difference was that lang got the halves & front rowers he wanted.
he did want another front rower but was denied.
It's all about getting the right team together & a just a bit of luck.
Lang never had that at Cronulla & the teams over acheived.
It is exactly the real issue & directly comparable.
it hs nothing to do with deadwood.
It has to do with ability & the mix.
agree ...

but why didnt we have that team?!

because the people running the club are a bunch of tight arsed gimps?

or because lang was great friends with just about everyone in the team, and had become too close to be able to make the "tough" calls?

I reckon its a little bit of both, moreso the 1st.

Either way ....Rapes is here. And i think we have a squad that we can build from over the next couple of years. I just wanna see some footy

cheese said:
because the people running the club are a bunch of tight arsed gimps?

or because lang was great friends with just about everyone in the team, and had become too close to be able to make the "tough" calls?

I reckon its a little bit of both, moreso the 1st.
I think you'd be surprised at the way langy used to handle the players.
he was not the easy going bloke you see in the interviews or walking down the street.
If you need an example , cast your mind back a few seasons & the absolute sideline shallacking Stevo copped for a high tackle he made.
langy just kept it coming. I thought he was going to hit him!

cheese

ahh yup ... i'd forgotten about that.

Still, you'd think langy would be more attached to his squad than stroppy opes..... unless your noddy of course. Especially considering he had seen alot of them grow up from president cuppers to 1st graders.

One thing I agree on through all of the Anderson drama was the age of the reserves.
Langy had that problem due to funds & the contracts tht had to be honoured. He did not have the budget Anderson received.
FFS Langy could not even keep Richo.
The youth in the lower grades & more important the ability is now much higher I believe.
But, we still have to keep them here.

What might or might not have happened, it's impossible to tell. Stuey is the man, and he has won things in the past, he may just be the 'culture' we were looking for.

cheese

pretty hard to keep rusty though, when souths throw a reserve grader 200k.

looking forwad to seeing him go round this year, i reckon he's still got plenty to offer, not to mention he's a f**king champ.

But yup, we've got alot of talented young blokes that should be peaking nicely within the next few years. Keeping onto them could/will be tough

The Popper

Who said Lang was a bad coach? Not me. He's joined the long list of coaches who didn't win a competition with Cronulla but have won premierships with other NRL teams - Kearney, Provan, Gibson, Glossop, Anderson, now Lang. Have I missed any? Sorta gives me a complex, this does. :(

Well, I'll say this. Raper won a premiership at the Sharks, albeit a lower grade comp, let the culture begin!

How many coaches have been sacked?
If this guy succeeds surely it is a precedent.

Sharks came 4th
Ando got hired
Sharks came 4th
Sharks came 12th
Ando sacked.
I simply do not see his case, and neither do the Sharks lawyers obviously.

Craig Coleman is probably keen to see him win. He could sue Souths.

Time will tell.

Aries

fizman said:
Boys a couple of things.
Aries, This is the first time I have heard that the club offered to pay Andersons last year out?? Is that right Mate??

Soz fizman, I cant confirm that he was offered his last year payment. I made that assumption from the fact that the 2 sets of Lawyers have been talking for the past few months since his sacking. That’s what they do. They start at "nothing and we should sue you"... They threaten to sue for millions. Next would have been... "well, we are willing to pay the last year of his contract out"... They come back and say "not enough..." and state their terms.

Lawyers being lawyers, want to drag it to court, because they get payed either way, and lets face it, they aint going to get much out of a settlement of the last year of CA's contract. Lawyers are going to make lots more if they drag it through the courts, or threaten to... The more they get CA, the more they get in payment

Lawyers have nothing to lose, they get payed either way... It's CA or Cronulla that looses!!

The Whippet

Mr Angry said:
Craig Coleman is probably keen to see him win. He could sue Souths.

Craig Coleman will be unable to sue Souths because he has to register his case within 12 months of his dismissal and he was dismissed 12 months ago, or close too it.