Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Andrews Johns NEXT Immortal?

brooksy19

Bring back John Fifita said:
Jeezus, some people in here would dish out Immortal titles like condoms at an orgy...:crazy:

IMO the only bloke who could possibly be the next immortal ahead of Johns would be Mal Meninga - why? Because he dominated his position and his sport at the highest level for such a long time. Along with his impressive representative career, he suceeded for a long time in the NSW/ARL, captaining Premierships with the Mighty Raiders sides of the late 80's/early 90's. And above all - he was just plain devastating, absolutely feared by all opposition. The site of Big Mal in full cry made me shiver in the safety of my loungeroom chair..

But I still believe Johns should be next.

Agreed, some of these blokes want any man that won a premiership and played Origin to be an immortal. I reckon they need to make a clearer guideline for entry.

Hall of Fame: 4 inductees per year

Immortal: 1 inductee every 10 seasons.

Raider_69 said:
exactly, hence why i wouldnt be introducing anyone for a long time, and johns is a long away from being inducted... hell if it were up to me, he wouldnt even get in, for mine the immortals were about having class on and off the paddock, johns gets a pass mark for one but certainly not the other

some of those past immortals would have got up to a fair bit of mischief off the field , the difference is you just never heard about it.

Johnny Raper has a few interesting stories to tell.

Coaster

strewth_mate said:
It's really a vacuous concept. It was introduced quite recently, so perspective is always going to be a bit iffy. Everyone is afraid to upset the legacy of former great players, because while everyone's heard of Messenger, Langlands, Raper, Churchill etc., you'd think a large proportion of league supporters have never seen them play, including myself. So there's a list of people that have been revered for years, and their names can be rattled off for any argument, and it's deemed conclusive and untouchable.

When the Immortals thing was introduced, it seemed a given that there was a list of these people that would gradually be added, so that much is a formality. To some, it's almost blasphemous to consider adding someone from a more recent era over someone from the 50's, for instance. So what happens in 50 years from now? Will we still be picking from the honour roll that exists today? If it's still going, it's really only going to become more of a farce IMO. There's a different kind of hype that's built up around different eras.

I dont think its a farce, in fact i think you just proved what an Immortal is.

Its a legend, a bloke that gets talked about decades after seeing him. Johns may be an Immortal, but i think the only judge for an Immortal, is time itself.

sooperdooper

johns is a cert to be an immortal..... but the next one? im not tot sure!
he has created alot of things the modern game basis itself on! he is an unreal player

however i think the likes of sterling and fittler may stake a claim before him!

Bring back John Fifita said:
Jeezus, some people in here would dish out Immortal titles like condoms at an orgy...:crazy:

IMO the only bloke who could possibly be the next immortal ahead of Johns would be Mal Meninga - why? Because he dominated his position and his sport at the highest level for such a long time. Along with his impressive representative career, he suceeded for a long time in the NSW/ARL, captaining Premierships with the Mighty Raiders sides of the late 80's/early 90's. And above all - he was just plain devastating, absolutely feared by all opposition. The site of Big Mal in full cry made me shiver in the safety of my loungeroom chair..

But I still believe Johns should be next.

Fittler dominated for 15 years at all the same levels Meninga did , maybe he didnt send shivers down peoples spine but unlike Mal He proved dominant in 2 different positions and to a lesser extent a third at lock.

curious said:

Its a legend, a bloke that gets talked about decades after seeing him. Johns may be an Immortal, but i think the only judge for an Immortal, is time itself.
exactly.

i have no doubt in 10.. 20.. 30 years we'll still be talking about andrew johns. this is the real sign of an immortal. they are in fact immortal in the only way one can be - in memory.

curious said:

Oh exactly, what I was getting at is, like someone mentioned, clearer definition. There may be a number that are eligible with whatever criteria there is now, but might be more suitable for a 'hall of fame' type thing. I can imagine though there needs to be the inital 'catch up' with the consideration of a century's worth of players...

mongoose

Meninga, Johns and Sterling are the only players of the modern era who will be considered. They are icons of the game and were household names for people who know nothing about the game of rugby league.

Fittler, langer, daley were brilliant but have not stamp there name onto the game like the aformentioned 3 players.

Apey

mongoose said:
Meninga, Johns and Sterling are the only players of the modern era who will be considered. They are icons of the game and were household names for people who know nothing about the game of rugby league.

Fittler, langer, daley were brilliant but have not stamp there name onto the game like the aformentioned 3 players.

+ 1 tbh.

Razor

But since he is from NSW its obvious that he will go in ahead of every great QLDer from the last 25 years. (LEWIS, LANGER, MANINGA)

Yeah I was gonna' ask the same question,if not I think Fittler,amonst others should get it before Johns.

Lewis is already an immortal.

Langer should never be an immortal. Fittler also shouldn't be an immortal

Both Hall Of Fame, sure. But not immortal. Immortal status should be the ultimate best-of-the-best.

Having said that News Ltd will ensure he is instated quick smart.

News Ltd have nothing to do with the immortals.

Same with the Hall Of Fame. Run by the ARL solely. No News Ltd involvement.

And if News Ltd did have a say, players like Langer, Stuart, etc. would be in before him since they were News Ltd players.

Notell

brooksy19 said:
Agreed, some of these blokes want any man that won a premiership and played Origin to be an immortal. I reckon they need to make a clearer guideline for entry.

Hall of Fame: 4 inductees per year

Immortal: 1 inductee every 10 seasons.

That's an excellent idea. I would modify it to say 2 inductees per year, maximum not minimum, and allow flexibility to have 2-3 Immortals every 10 years.

Notell said:
That's an excellent idea. I would modify it to say 2 inductees per year, maximum not minimum, and allow flexibility to have 2-3 Immortals every 10 years.

with HOF they do 6 a year I know that its something like

2 Pre WW2
2 from 40's and 50'2?
2 from 1960-now?

its something along those lines.

as for 3 immortals every 10 years I think it might cheapen the title a bit, because if you start that from now, by 1947 you could have almost 20 immortals, I would say no more than 2 per 10 years except maybe with the centenury next year, they might induct a few.

i have no problem with inducting X players per year to a hall of fame.

but the immortals - there should be obligation to ever add to that list. it should happen when it is deemed a player has reached that height.

brooksy19

Marshall_magic said:
with HOF they do 6 a year I know that its something like

2 Pre WW2
2 from 40's and 50'2?
2 from 1960-now?

its something along those lines.

Yeah thats fair enough. can't forget the earlier generations.

Noa

mongoose said:

Lol at those who say Langer isnt an immortal but Sterlo is, Sterlo himself would tell you Langer was the better player, in fact Ive heard Sterlo say himself no-one has dominated the NRL like Alfie.

Langer 4 titles to Sterlos 4, but sh*t all over him when it came to performing at SOO and Johns for that matter.

And its true, the Immortal tag is a bit of wank, it was started by League Week for Christs sake as a promotion.

Noa

I agree, should have been 3-4 years ago.

*Actually if Johns is made one before Mal that is a disgrace.

LESStar58

Look, if you are taling halfbacks then IMO Johns is behind Sterling Langer and Stuart in the pecking order.

On the other hand; when is enough enough? Clive Churchill's widow was in the paper today saying that while she thinks Joey is a good player that if you start making players immortals left right and centre it cheapens the honour.

Balmain_Boy

I think with Immortals, they should set at maximum inductee level allowable, so it doesn't get cheapened, but no minimum. The idea being that immortals are such special players, there's no guarantee that any particular decade will produce one.

hrundi99

Meninga HAS to be next...

There is nothing important he didn't achieve in the game, and his presence is virtually without peer.

The list of players, coaches, administrators, etc who respect him is endless.