Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Angus

Spot On

What and there’s no other teams that would be desperate for an NRL place? There’s plenty of sports that cope without having a salary cap.

Probably a couple that could make a fist of it if their war chest is big enough and someone or something (huge club/business) is prepared to sink money into it. Otherwise..... nope.

... and what finances the black hole that is a RL club and who saves them when they go broke??? This isn't the USA with a population of 300 million plus. No one watches league compared to the big overseas sports. It's miniscule really.The private ownership model is hit and miss as well.

The cap is good. Just isn't implemented and policed well. Then you have a situation where there's seemingly no legal way to really scare or punish those who lie, cheat, steal and are corrupt. The punishments for cheating are a slap on the wrist. Player managers are the biggest manipulators of clubs and salaries we have. They need their heads pulled in. The TPA system is making a mockery of the cap.

The NRL is weak and now powerless to effect big change due to the RLPA.

It's all upside down.

That said, this is an 'Angus' thread and somebody at Souths needs an arse kicking for letting him go. If he is not a priority signing for Souths then who is????????????

Rabbitoad

Atm media companies pays for content. Content drives the TV rights deal. TV rights fund the game. Leave clubs to spend at will and you'll lose half of them. Lose half of them you lose your content. Lose the content you lose your TV deal. Lose the TV deal and the game has no money.

The sooner the NRL publish TPA's the better. It will then give the fans a very good look at just how much clubs have above the cap to spend. No reason not to. The RPLA has recently stated something needs to be done re TPAs but I have zero faith it will be for the good of the game and the fans, as the recent CBA has shown us. Some of the rubbish the NRL has agreed to is simply stupid.

This shit just aint that hard to sort out imo.
Spot on Spot on

callmack1

Good morning callmack
Yes mate,definitely deflated the Christmas spirit some what.
I definitely don't want the flog in a Bunnies guernsey next year,give him to the scum now.
If you browse through Twitter and Facebook 90% of the comments want the prick running around with the Bears or out of the club all together.
Cheering on our team just won't be the same knowing that the flog is a f..king rorter wearing the mighty red & green.
I for one will be behind the southern goal posts at ANZ during the warm up giving him everything he deserves,which I would much prefer not bagging out a player in our colours,he has to go now!
Hey mate.

I'm kind of torn as to what we should do.
Umm no

The following players were part of the roosters salary cap for 2017 and are no longer at the club

Paul Carter
Dale Copley
Kane Evans
Michael Gordon
Aiden Guerra
SKD
Jackson Hastings (Not sure if he ended up being included but as of November 30 2016 he was being paid by the club)
Jayden Nikorima
Mitchell Pearce
Connor Watson
Johnny Tuivasa-Sheck

I'll let old mate R20 provide completely made up figures of what these players were paid.

That's not to mention the $2.4M increase in the cap from 2017 to 2018 which alone can cover the wages of Teddy and Cronk without even worrying about what percentage of their wage is made up by TPA and thus excluded from the cap..

Don't let the truth get in the way of a good story though.
I didn't actually take the increased salary cap into account, my bad.

Still, what STID said is correct, most players base contracts have been increased.

I still think the Roosters are over but maybe not as much as I thought.

Do you really think you're under?

Here that Callmack here is a Rorter claiming your claim is ignorant......
It may well be ignorant... but it's my opinion.

I think everyone here is just upset at losing one of the best players we’ve had in a while. I don’t blame Crichton for leaving at all but it’s definitely a big blow for our rebuild. Every club goes through periods where it’s really difficult to recruit and retain players. Generally it’s much easier when you’re at the top. When you’re winning, you’re happy. When you’re at the bottom you’ve got to be prepared to lose some good players. Souths made a big call on the value of Crichton and it may come back to bite us or it may benefit us significantly in recruitment for 2019. Richo has put his job on the line here imo.
Hit the nail on the head there bro.

I didn't actually take the increased salary cap into account, my bad.

Still, what STID said is correct, most players base contracts have been increased.

I still think the Roosters are over but maybe not as much as I thought.

Do you really think you're under?

Yes, i would be astonished if they were dumb enough to knowingly rort the cap.

As has neen discussed the cap is a complex system involving TPAs as well as back/front ended deals. Add to that increases in the cap as well as base salaries and it is difficult to judge any club's use of the cap.

They work within the system. Is the system fair? That is another debate.

callmack1

Yes, i would be astonished if they were dumb enough to knowingly rort the cap.

As has neen discussed the cap is a complex system involving TPAs as well as back/front ended deals. Add to that increases in the cap as well as base salaries and it is difficult to judge any club's use of the cap.

They work within the system. Is the system fair? That is another debate.
Imo, I wouldn't be surprised.

The whole system needs to be looked at and thankfully, it seems that the NRL and RLPA are going to do just that.

Rabbitoad

North’s, a Perth team, Brisbane 2, NZ 2. I don’t think you would struggle to find teams to compete.
Norths couldn't afford to buy the Titans and the Warriors can't find anyone to buy them.

At best you could get a second Brisbane team and maybe a Perth team.

Four clubs nearly went broke with the salary cap in place. There's no way the NRL could keep 16 teams long term without it

Pommy

Norths couldn't afford to buy the Titans and the Warriors can't find anyone to buy them.

At best you could get a second Brisbane team and maybe a Perth team.

Four clubs nearly went broke with the salary cap in place. There's no way the NRL could keep 16 teams long term without it

That’s not strictly true for norths plus they would find it much easier if they were staying in Sydney.
Pretty sure there are people wanting to buy warriors but value it differently to the owne, again not the same thing as nobody wanting to buy it.

Rabbitoad

That’s not strictly true for norths plus they would find it much easier if they were staying in Sydney.
Pretty sure there are people wanting to buy warriors but value it differently to the owne, again not the same thing as nobody wanting to buy it.
They couldn't afford the price being asked, making me think they couldn't afford the money it takes to run a club long term.

Even then, four clubs nearly sent themselves broke with the cap in place.

Even if all those options you mentioned stepped up to replace them, it'd only take one more club going down to ruin the NRL's broadcasting deal.

If there were viable options lined up ready to go, the NRL would have expanded by now. They'd be turning down money if they didn't.

The cap does it's job in regards to keeping clubs alive, it just needs to be fine tuned.

Pommy

They couldn't afford the price being asked, making me think they couldn't afford the money it takes to run a club long term.

Even then, four clubs nearly sent themselves broke with the cap in place.

Even if all those options you mentioned stepped up to replace them, it'd only take one more club going down to ruin the NRL's broadcasting deal.

If there were viable options lined up ready to go, the NRL would have expanded by now. They'd be turning down money if they didn't.

The cap does it's job in regards to keeping clubs alive, it just needs to be fine tuned.

Perth by your own admission is a viable alternative. The NRL is after looking after itself the interests of potential clubs the international game etc don’t even come in to it.

Rabbitoad

Perth by your own admission is a viable alternative. The NRL is after looking after itself the interests of potential clubs the international game etc don’t even come in to it.
I would think Perth would be viable, but if they were ready to go the NRL would give them a licence.

More teams equals more games. More games equals more money.

Mixo Joe

I think everyone here is just upset at losing one of the best players we’ve had in a while. I don’t blame Crichton for leaving at all but it’s definitely a big blow for our rebuild. Every club goes through periods where it’s really difficult to recruit and retain players. Generally it’s much easier when you’re at the top. When you’re winning, you’re happy. When you’re at the bottom you’ve got to be prepared to lose some good players. Souths made a big call on the value of Crichton and it may come back to bite us or it may benefit us significantly in recruitment for 2019. Richo has put his job on the line here imo.
Mixo Joe may have some breaking news soon that will alleviate the pain of losing Crichton to the scum rorters. The sombrero manipulators (I won't call them cheats) desperately want him for next year and my impeccable sources tell me that there are current negotiations for this to happen. It involves 2 players. Stay tuned!!

Souths Till I Die

Mixo Joe may have some breaking news soon that will alleviate the pain of losing Crichton to the scum rorters. The sombrero manipulators (I won't call them cheats) desperately want him for next year and my impeccable sources tell me that there are current negotiations for this to happen. It involves 2 players. Stay tuned!!

This tells me 1 of 2 things. The roosters are desperate for a premiership next year or Cordner has seriously f**ked his knee.

southsport

Thanks Joe, daily updates please.

callmack1

Cheers Joe, keep us updated. I'd love to alleviate the pain.

So do you mean it involves us getting two players?