Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Choc Watmough

half_back

My big concern is that Scott has been purchased to protect sandow

Worries me too. The good old days of having someone protect another ala tonie carroll are gone. You can't afford to commit two men into the same attacking player. With everyone running the same out the back block play with a lead runner on the edge as soon as Scott angles in to defend Sandows man or shifts out to cover him he exposes a hole for the lead runner or alternatively space on the outside.

I heard Moeroa talk not long after his debut that his job was to protect Sandow and watched with interest at how time and again he got exposed, people criticise him for his reads although if the instructions are for him to hold and protect Sandow he will always get caught out when the ball is shifted. The same will more than likely happen to Scott.

Good coaches will quickly expose this. Unfortunately when defending on an edge every man must commit defensively to his opposite and also be willing to shift and pick up the extra man. To add a third proposition of someone else's man as well as your own and the slide is too much in today's game. Sandow needs to learn to defend which I think is past him.

but but he is the ben kennedy Manly had all those years ago lol

I was and and still aint a fan of his signing, we really should have gone for Trent Merrin, the guy has fresher legs and his best is yet to come, plus we get to see Sally at our games

why is that concerning

Scotts greatest asset is hes an 'enforcer' in defence
It's concerning because it means we will be re-signing him. These last two games have proved he is not the answer at 7. Sure a few games down the track he will have a stormer of the back of a great team effort but he cannot win you a tight game down the stretch or execute a basic game plan. Foran and Norman would be my halves next season.

Bigfella

Mate the last four years have proved it.

Has he ever even strung two good games together?

He is hopelessly erratic, and even on his good days is a massive defensive liability.

Maybe last year of the back of a great team effort and Hayne, without Hayne there taking the game by the scruff of the neck he is even more rocks and less diamonds.

zipzip man

useless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sandow re-signs- i lose faith in BA. I will probably complete full transformation to the dukes team.

Watmough was a silly signing.Good for 2 or max 3 yrs.4 was silly. He will slowly decline next year and into his 3rd year will be in wenty.I doubt he makes his 4th year.I reckon we will somehow offload him early.Maybe even after next year.

You talking a guy who played grade from a young age and played lots of origin and footy.He is banged up. We panic and took him. He would of been a good singning for a team who was ready to win a premiership the next 1-2 yrs.Not ideal for us.
Merrin would of been better.

zipzip man

I don't know why everyone is onto Chrissy... you serious?

He is our only shining light and the only player who seems to be able to spark us now that Hayne is gone. He has played extremely well for the last season and a bit if you ask me. He looks fit, he's improved his defense and he is a natural footballer. I'd love to know who we sign and who plays half for us if we lose him??

As for Watmough saying he would be a good signing for even a year or 2 is way off. I watched him play last year and I was hoping we wouldn't sign him as he's best football is about 3 years behind him. If anything he seems worse since he has played for us!

EelsFan05

I reckon Choc will play 2-3 years then retire and get his money on the coaching staff. He was signed to get Foran here, I'm sure of it. He's a warrior and a leader that has mistakes in his game because he is a competitor. He had a shocker yesterday, but he will come good.

Sandow is a good flashy player.But good halfbacks control a game.They stem the flow when getting dominated. They do the right plays at the right time.Sandow just has moments off brilliance but cant control a game.He would work in a melbourne style team.

Kornstar

I don't have a problem with Watmough. Yeah he's made a few errors but at least you can see his effort unlike the other nuffies we have who show no effort at all.

I think he will be an asset to us on and off the field but with the shit team his is in he is trying way too hard. That intercept he threw, while f**king annoying was a direct result of how bunched we were and he was trying something to get something going.

We were gone from the start and after 15 minutes we looked like we were still full from all the Easter eggs they ate on the Sunday before the Tigers game.

TheRam

LOL, never expected much from Watmough in the first place but he hasn't even met those lowly expectations. Scott won't be any better either IMO.

but but he is the ben kennedy Manly had all those years ago lol

I was and and still aint a fan of his signing, we really should have gone for Trent Merrin, the guy has fresher legs and his best is yet to come, plus we get to see Sally at our games

This.

I know we are just fans, but buying two veterans on big money(of course they are) when all you will get is injuries and inconsistent performances, when there are young guns at their peek available, is just plain stupid and a rookie coach mistake that may cost him his job in the long term.

And for those that are paying out Sandow behind a losing pack, how did Foran and DCE go in there last game. Forwards win games halves dictate by how much. And by halves I am also including the modern second 5/8th in the fullback, who offers nothing in the way of link play.

Chipmunk

150odd NRL games and not one Finals match says enough for me. We will go nowhere with Sandclown

This.

I know we are just fans, but buying two veterans on big money(of course they are) when all you will get is injuries and inconsistent performances, when there are young guns at their peek available, is just plain stupid and a rookie coach mistake that may cost him his job in the long term.

It might cost him in the long term but given our club's history I'd say Arthur is more concerned about seeing out his current contract.