Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anthony Griffin Extended Contract

thebigredv

I am happy that Griffin has been given a one year extension, thats not exorbitant and based on the work he has shown in roster re balancing and providing opportunities for the young guys is a sensible decision.
If we want to recruit a bit more quality for 2023 or keep our juniors you need to have a stable coach.

It might be that when we have a stable quality roster that a different style of coach would be better suited but for the position we are in Hook is what we need.

If we wanted to recruit quality for 2023 we should have already done so under the current trade rules. We've already missed out on a host of talent for next year in key positions despite having freed up cash.

The extension does at least give players certainty of their coach if considering signing up. It's clear we need to strengthen this team further. God help us if we end up near the bottom again - years more pain.

redv13

I can see the logic, he’s building a team, we managed to extend all the juniors during the off season plus attracted some decent signings so the Club wants stability to keep everyone happy.

However Hook’s coaching & team selections last season were pretty dodgy. Persisting with Norman for the entire season was indefensible plus our lack of resolve in defence was a huge concern.

I look at it this way, if Hook succeeds then great! If not there’ll be a very good team for a better coach to take over in ‘24. Either way I’m confident better days are ahead.
Good to see you warming to Hook mate 👍🏻

Jersey No 14

I feel the Love.
What? Did you think he was going to immediately win the comp?
Let's not forget - WE were a train wreck - And the players Well - Any one for a B.B.Q.
Patience people.

I just hope they have learnt to tackle - there is not much courage in last years actions

Jersey No 14

My only Gripe -
Paul Vaughan should of been banished to the naughty corner for last year - Not Sacked.
Aaron Woods - Really. I've got a better skill set - and I'm well retired.
I just hope he doesn't sink the ship. After all, it only takes one moment.

I can testify to that.

soc123_au

Someone on the Dragons board must have seen a pic of T Baz yawning on insta and figured Gus would be on the phone trying to mend fences with the Griff Dawg.

Seriously though, it's not a bad call. The mess that he inherited was never going to be a quick fix, he needs time without the pressure of contracts to get the systems in place. His claims about setting Penrith junior systems up are laughable, but he played his part and would have picked up valuable lessons. I still think bottom 4 for you guys this year, but the pain will pay off by 2024 and beyond if Hook is left to get on with it.

Illusion

I would say that the board and management like what they have seen from him. Yes, I hear what happened with Price and the peanut but fingers and toes crossed I think Griffin is a lot better than those two.
Agree mate but we have to remember these same people extended Mary's contract as well , they like what they saw ..... I know Hook is at least an experienced coach , but surely they could have waited at least a few games in ..... Its may be. a good thing now everyone knows including the coach where they all stand ..... So lets hope we are playing finals footy this year or its back to the drawing board ......

Crush

Someone on the Dragons board must have seen a pic of T Baz yawning on insta and figured Gus would be on the phone trying to mend fences with the Griff Dawg.

Seriously though, it's not a bad call. The mess that he inherited was never going to be a quick fix, he needs time without the pressure of contracts to get the systems in place. His claims about setting Penrith junior systems up are laughable, but he played his part and would have picked up valuable lessons. I still think bottom 4 for you guys this year, but the pain will pay off by 2024 and beyond if Hook is left to get on with it.
You reckon we are going backwards?
Didn’t finish bottom 4 last year and everything that could go wrong did go wrong.
This year should be much improved.

Anyone have any details? Are their performance clauses? Kpi indicators and does he or the club have further options in a renewed contract?
My 2 bobs worth is that maybe we might make a saving if indeed the boys on the park perform this year?? Time will tell.
Apparently the contract is weighted in the Club's favour. Hopefully there's more detail coming
For what's it worth, here's a snippet from news.com.au (published 3 hours ago)...

The team’s statement announced the club had made a decision at a scheduled board meeting this week to activate a clause in the club’s favour to extend Griffin’s deal until the end of 2023.

Although I can't see that anywhere on the official statement.

soc123_au

You reckon we are going backwards?
Didn’t finish bottom 4 last year and everything that could go wrong did go wrong.
This year should be much improved.
It depends on how much other teams improve I guess. You only got out of the bottom 4 on points differential. I see more improvement coming from the Dogs and Broncos. My pic for bottom 4 would be you guys, Cowboys, Tigers and Dogs. You could easily make a case for a few other teams being there as well, so that could put you higher up.

My main point though was really that my expectations would be pretty low for this year and next, but after that I can see you being set up for a good run of sustainable results. Kind of similar to Penrith when Ivan arrived for his first stint. A few years of pain on the ladder, but laying a solid foundation for continued good results.

Jersey No 14

One point I would ilke to make
For too long Melbourne have been picking up washed up no-name players and making them real stars.

I would like that trait to be part of our DNA.
Positive example - Wendell Sailor
We have great juniors - Getting the best out of what we have to the point they exceed expectations

denis preston

As far as I am concerned the board made the right call.

Year 1, Griffin cleared the decks of most of the deadwood.

Year 2, he has a squad which closely resembles what he feels we need.

Year 3, Griffin consolidates and fine tunes the squad, with the gun juniors having had the experience of year 2.

The last thing we need is Griffin having to look over his shoulder with the media beating it’s drum attempting to create a negative story at the first sign of a lapse in team performance.
Seems to me they are looking for one or two big signings for 2023/4 so the first requirement player managers look for before they will talk to you is a settled coach.