Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anyone else tuning out

Djay

I dunno, we have a ways to go, the Boston Red Sox (baseball for those that don't know) had to wait over 100 years between World Series Championships. Fans were born, lived their whole full lives, and died waiting for it.

I'm not sure we're quite there yet. But it'll absolutely be the sweetest sports moment of my lifetime, I'll tell you that.

I'm saying currently, around the globe we would be one of the most scrutinised sporting organisations going around.

Some of the shit we have endured over the past 10 years is more then some fans endure in a lifetime. If you haven't turned away yet I doubt you ever will, hence why I am saying it would have to be one of the greatest days if not the greatest day of my sporting life and normal life.

Just hope I'm not waiting 100 years because it probably means I won't be here to see it.

ash411

I'm saying currently, around the globe we would be one of the most scrutinised sporting organisations going around.

Some of the shit we have endured over the past 10 years is more then some fans endure in a lifetime. If you haven't turned away yet I doubt you ever will, hence why I am saying it would have to be one of the greatest days if not the greatest day of my sporting life and normal life.

Just hope I'm not waiting 100 years because it probably means I won't be here to see it.

Agreed, you never hear of other teams that cop it in the media as much as we do.

Yeah, it definitely will, it's gonna be hug a stranger emotional.

Me too, I don't think I'll make it another 70 years, that'd make me pretty damn old by then..

At least part of the reason that we cop it in the media is because many people associated with the club behave like f**kwits. There's no shortage of ammo. Have a look a the last 5 or 6 years....while the media might exaggerate some of the shit, even the most conservative journo would have a field day with almost unbelievably stupid (and worse) stuff that we've been involved in.

parra pete

Parra Pete's great grandchildren have already witnessed us win the comp 4 times.

Give me a break.....:lol:
My great great grandfather's great great grandchildren have though.

"I have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord"...ie the signing of Ken Thornett.

"I have been to the top of the mountain, I have seen the promised land"....Grand Finals, 1976 and 1977.....

Entered the promised land 1981....82....83...86... bin there done dat....

I have said to a mate of mine who is a shytehouse golfer that he will get a hole in one before Parra win a premiership.

Nothing surer.

I've made 2

One was just a dam fine shot, the other however was a shank that hit a tree and bounced onto the green and into the hole.

Took a lot of skill to hit the tree at just the right angle.

I've made 2

One was just a dam fine shot, the other however was a shank that hit a tree and bounced onto the green and into the hole.

Took a lot of skill to hit the tree at just the right angle.

Yep. In a lot of ways it comes down to luck. I've seen some rubbish shots go in and some amazing ones miss.

lingard

we have BA and currently 6th on the ladder so we have form and a decent coach

we could go to shit from here if we lose points and Norman but I will still be a fan and front up every week to watch and support them because I have done it since I was a kid living in Isabella St North Parramatta

its what I do

I'm similar to you. I grew up watching Parra with my dad and my two brothers (Rydalmere Avenue East Parramatta before it became James Ruse Drive). My brothers and dad are dead now. I've followed Parramatta for over fifty years - and it sometimes meant carrying on a family tradition. A legacy of sorts. Like a religion, I guess; but maybe more like some sort of thread that ran right through the middle of most of my life. Something that was always there no matter what else happened.
But I'm starting to think about what (if anything) this club really means to me anymore. What does the Parramatta club represent, exactly? Not excellence on the field. Not fighting spirit or consistency. Our 'good guy' image (which was something to be proud of) is rapidly deteriorating. Our administration is a joke. Our captain (who was lauded as a strong character on and off the field) is in a rehab and has a gambling problem. And now we are cheats. Geez, unless Jarryd Hayne comes back I don't think this bloody club is going to have my support for much longer. I couldn't care less about us not winning premierships. I've supported this club through thick and (very) thin for fifty years, so I'm not a fair-weather fan. I'm just finding it hard to have any respect for anyone at the club anymore. Except Brad Arthur.
I wont be watching the Newcastle game. Don't care one way or the other. This club has got a lot to answer for and a long way to go before it can count me in as a supporter again.

Noise

I reckon a lot of fans are feeling like you Lingard. Crowds numbers wil be embarrassing in a few weeks. To be honest I reckon the only thing that would get fans back on side (a little) would be the announcement of Hayne signing. At what cost and whether the NRL allow it is another question.

I'm similar to you. I grew up watching Parra with my dad and my two brothers (Rydalmere Avenue East Parramatta before it became James Ruse Drive). My brothers and dad are dead now. I've followed Parramatta for over fifty years - and it sometimes meant carrying on a family tradition. A legacy of sorts. Like a religion, I guess; but maybe more like some sort of thread that ran right through the middle of most of my life. Something that was always there no matter what else happened.
But I'm starting to think about what (if anything) this club really means to me anymore. What does the Parramatta club represent, exactly? Not excellence on the field. Not fighting spirit or consistency. Our 'good guy' image (which was something to be proud of) is rapidly deteriorating. Our administration is a joke. Our captain (who was lauded as a strong character on and off the field) is in a rehab and has a gambling problem. And now we are cheats. Geez, unless Jarryd Hayne comes back I don't think this bloody club is going to have my support for much longer. I couldn't care less about us not winning premierships. I've supported this club through thick and (very) thin for fifty years, so I'm not a fair-weather fan. I'm just finding it hard to have any respect for anyone at the club anymore. Except Brad Arthur.
I wont be watching the Newcastle game. Don't care one way or the other. This club has got a lot to answer for and a long way to go before it can count me in as a supporter again.

You're not quite far off the way I'm feeling at the moment.
I've followed them for 45 years, and I've never seen the club at a lower point. It disgusts me as to what we have become. Purely and simply..........a laughing stock.
I'll still be watching on Monday night though, I just can't miss it.
But I have lost a great deal of interest. I know that because the losses just don't hurt as much anymore.

emjaycee

You're not quite far off the way I'm feeling at the moment.
I've followed them for 45 years, and I've never seen the club at a lower point. It disgusts me as to what we have become. Purely and simply..........a laughing stock.
I'll still be watching on Monday night though, I just can't miss it.
But I have lost a great deal of interest. I know that because the losses just don't hurt as much anymore.

Yep... 38 years since I used to get the bus down Windsor Rd on a Sunday afternoon as a 10 year old to watch the games from the Hill at Cumberland.
Already committed (i.e. paid) to go to Darwin in a few weeks for the Titans game and don't see myself missing any other home games either but only because it's what I do, not because I feel excited to be going and watching MY team.
Had the stuffing knocked out of me in last 3 months because unfortunately I knew what was coming in the breach notice and why and the why has pissed me off more than the what.
Majorly disappointed in all aspects of our club right now.

T-Boon

I am not the slightest bit bothered by the cheating, it is the leaks that ruined it for me.
The fact that there is some snake/s in our club eager to bring us down for their own good and that we are never going to be able to be certain who they are or get rid of them.
Add that to what is in my view the main problem, that the game is now an ugly eyesore, and it becomes pretty easy to say "over it".

phantom eel

Sadly our current state of affairs is the culmination of all the instability and self-interest that started innocently enough with a rally and bbq in late 2008... in reaction to Fitzy's statement (regarding the pokies tax and club industry more than anything) that he couldn't guarantee the club's futue in five years' time.

None of the Boards since then - and very few of the employed staff it seems - have been up to the job enough to stay around, absorb, develop or even pass on valuable corporate knowledge. All the chopping and changing of CEOs, coaches, management and key staff of the past 7 years left us desperate to play catch-up after our leanest years, and we even f**ked that up.

Shme of it was we had a fairly good squad that looked to be going places, even without Watmough and Morgan (who never played firsts this year), and Foran not quite being his usual 100%. The loss of Peats will hurt, Junior's been a loose cannon and best to let him go imo, and now Norman is looking at a mid-season court case. One or two more losses, and I fear it wil all fall apart, blowout scores, downward culture etc again. :(.

Chipmunk

Just a quick question for those who are a bit closer to the club, presuming that DA is gone now in this, but are Tim Mannah, Luke Burt and Nathan Cayless the only three people left in any capacity at the club, either player, staff member, management, coaching staff or board member, since Fitzgerald left as CEO in 2009?

Is there anyone else in any capacity?

phantom eel

And that guy that plays the piano in the club, Lance Rudd...? Think he's been there since before 2009 as well.

emjaycee

There would possibly be some people in the footy club, in roles like membership, game day, corporate, etc. but I couldn't say for sure.

Parraren

Chin up mate.

These are very tough times right now no doubt.

Something you wrote sparked my interest to respond to;

"...what does the Parramatta Club represent exactly.."

For me, the Parramatta Eels Club represents more than just the directors, the players and coaches. These people will always come and go but it's you and me and the rest of us nut jobs in here and the ones that turn up every week, every year, in your case 50 years, that's what Parramatta represents. It's us. We are Parramatta, the fans that live and breathe it. Don't lose sight of that.

ThingFish

What a pack of whining d!cks. The true Parra supporters on here have the right to call all pussies out. Any so called fan even thinking about tuning out, was really never a fan, and can never be a fan of ANY team they choose.

Pretty terrible reading what some hardcore fans are saying about the club, but totally understandable.

We really are a joke at the moment. I hope the shit-headed merkins at the club and all the knob head factions are happy with themselves.

What a pack of whining d!cks. The true Parra supporters on here have the right to call all pussies out. Any so called fan even thinking about tuning out, was really never a fan, and can never be a fan of ANY team they choose.

Yeah well a true fan wouldn't carry on like a whiny bitch about another fan. Any so called fan, turning on another fan was never really a fan, and can never be a fan of ANY team they choose.