Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Anyone else tuning out

Noise

Yep... 38 years since I used to get the bus down Windsor Rd on a Sunday afternoon as a 10 year old to watch the games from the Hill at Cumberland.
Already committed (i.e. paid) to go to Darwin in a few weeks for the Titans game and don't see myself missing any other home games either but only because it's what I do, not because I feel excited to be going and watching MY team.
Had the stuffing knocked out of me in last 3 months because unfortunately I knew what was coming in the breach notice and why and the why has pissed me off more than the what.
Majorly disappointed in all aspects of our club right now.

If you knew all along what was coming (and I don't doubt you) why the f**k was sharp lying through his teeth the whole time? I assume if you knew, he also knew....

What a pack of whining d!cks. The true Parra supporters on here have the right to call all pussies out. Any so called fan even thinking about tuning out, was really never a fan, and can never be a fan of ANY team they choose.

Respectfully, I completely disagree.

We all deal with things differently , and our club has been torn spart due to the inconsiderate actions of a few people.

I've been passionate about this club for 16 years (not as long as esteemed posters such as Suity and lingard), but I feel empty and unmotivated to keep going on.

It sucks for me, personally, because Parramatta was something my dad introduced me to, and it brought me such joy - and it also helped to remind me of the great man.

Sadly, though, I'm finding it a struggle to really care any more.

I will never abandon the club, but I sure as hell understand why some people might, and I, for one, won't think any less of them for that.

Chin up mate.

These are very tough times right now no doubt.

Something you wrote sparked my interest to respond to;

"...what does the Parramatta Club represent exactly.."

For me, the Parramatta Eels Club represents more than just the directors, the players and coaches. These people will always come and go but it's you and me and the rest of us nut jobs in here and the ones that turn up every week, every year, in your case 50 years, that's what Parramatta represents. It's us. We are Parramatta, the fans that live and breathe it. Don't lose sight of that.

That was lovely.

Truly, Eels fans are some of my favourite people.

Was watching NRL360 last night and they sat around the coaches table and said that the Eels need to get their house in order and that some clubs are "just able" to avoid the problems that the Eels are facing.

I get that other clubs don't have (alleged) merkins like Fitzy and Spags and were not cursed with an (alleged) lunatic CEO, leakers, random merkins, f**kwits and tools.

I get that other clubs don't have a gun half who has suffered a marriage breakdown, (alleged) gambling issues plus an (alleged) overdose.

I get that other clubs don't have a gun prop who (allegedly) mixes with the wrong jihads and (allegedly) road raged a merkin on the M5.

I get that other clubs don't have a gun 5/8 who had dinner with the wrong (alleged) jihads and other colourful identities and then (allegedly) gets caught a few hours later with pingas (wow coincidence that).

Now, back to the "get their house in order" thing, how the f**k could even the best CEO/Chairman in the world avoid the cluster f**k flow of events that have occurred and, more to the point, avoid it happening again ?

Good luck to whoever you are, mate/lady because you'll be pushing the tide back with a broom.

================================

Actually unlike others here, I have felt worse about our team. Compare now with the years when our halves were Chris Thorman or Michael Witt. We might not have been in (as much) turmoil in the back office, but at least we have a great coach and some world class players in our ranks.

If I can use a real estate analogy, in the days of Thorman etc we owned a fibro house in a shit suburb. Now in 2016/17 we own the worst house in the best street, in the best suburb.

There is work to do and we might need to gut the joint, deal with the termites (does someone have Ray Donovan's number?), re-wire the electrics and deal with rising damp BUT f**k me dead we're on a winner here. :thumn

phantom eel

Now, back to the "get their house in order" thing, how the f**k could even the best CEO/Chairman in the world avoid the cluster f**k flow of events that have occurred and, more to the point, avoid it happening again ?

I reckon you hit the nail on the head...
I get that other clubs don't have (alleged) merkins like Fitzy and Spags and were not cursed with an (alleged) lunatic CEO, leakers, random merkins, f**kwits and tools.
If our new CEO/adminstrtion can manage to fix that, then I reckon everythinhg else falls into place and sucess isn't too far away.

The answer is the NRL governance recommendations somehow making our Board something that the factions/warlords no longer want to seek to control. If it means having 4 NRL Board appointees out of 7, or 5 out of 9 or whatever, and three year terms with staggered elections for the rest then so be it imo - for long enough until Fitzy, Spags and their mates all stop their campaigns.

T-Boon

If we get a good win against the Knights will it break the circuit of negativity since the NRL sanctions announcement? I think so.
We will not make the 8. But there are a few questions that can still be answered and we could yet go into 2017 in a positive frame of mind yet. For example I have serious questions about BA's coaching in terms of attack. Does he have anything other than structure?

Incorrect

If I can use a real estate analogy, in the days of Thorman etc we owned a fibro house in a shit suburb. Now in 2016/17 we own the worst house in the best street, in the best suburb.

Spags has some mates who want to buy the place, rip it down and put up some units even though it's only zoned for houses.... he's got some contacts in the council he reckons can make this happen...

Chipmunk

If we get a good win against the Knights will it break the circuit of negativity since the NRL sanctions announcement? I think so.
We will not make the 8. But there are a few questions that can still be answered and we could yet go into 2017 in a positive frame of mind yet. For example I have serious questions about BA's coaching in terms of attack. Does he have anything other than structure?

Our attack would improve immensely if our forwards could win the play the ball area more often. They could start by receiving the ball on the advantage line instead of 3-5 metres behind it.

Spags has some mates who want to buy the place, rip it down and put up some units even though it's only zoned for houses.... he's got some contacts in the council he reckons can make this happen...

OK they're simply unfounded allegations. Just like this one ..

Tax insiders say the pattern of Spagnolo-related companies using the same liquidator, in this case Peter Ngan, having a Spagnolo employee, Xavier Lo, control proxies at creditor meetings and having related entities as small creditors is similar to a "phoenix operation", and is a top priority for the Tax Office.
http://www.theage.com.au/news/lhqnews/police-tax-office-move-in/2009/07/06/1246732285836.html

lingard

Chin up mate.

These are very tough times right now no doubt.

Something you wrote sparked my interest to respond to;

"...what does the Parramatta Club represent exactly.."

For me, the Parramatta Eels Club represents more than just the directors, the players and coaches. These people will always come and go but it's you and me and the rest of us nut jobs in here and the ones that turn up every week, every year, in your case 50 years, that's what Parramatta represents. It's us. We are Parramatta, the fans that live and breathe it. Don't lose sight of that.

Thanks, mate. I'll think about that. That's food for thought. Cheers.

My dad started taking me to cumberland in the late 70's & then on to Belmore & Parra stadium and everywhere else in Sydney to watch games. He lives out bush now so we dont get to many games these days, maybees once or twice a year. So i usually call him the night or morning after a game to talk footy and such, its our regular catch up. Anyways, i was on the phone to him tuesday morning, telling him that I was over it & had had enough & prettty much wouldnt be interested in the rest of the season.
He said that he hoped he was still around next year & he'd talk to me then. Tried to call the merkin tonight & he didnt answer, so either he meant it or has carked it.