Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Around the Grounds

Winning a comp usually propels a couple of surprise players into the Kangaroos team every year. Wouldn’t be the first or last time that it’s happened. It’s a shame for Best but if you’re playing in a wooden spoon team that was as bad as us and getting virtually no proper attacking opportunities all year then you miss out on opportunities.

Yosh

Happy for Shibasaki. Is a big body and is safe defensively. Should do well in a stacked side. If the team was missing some strike then they might need Best.

Is this the worst year to be a Knights fan in a long time? Sure feels like it.

Apey

Happy for Shibasaki. Is a big body and is safe defensively. Should do well in a stacked side. If the team was missing some strike then they might need Best.

He is not that safe defensively. Good game last night but he was up against Meaney who blitzed him for a try in the first half. Yes, Meaney blitzed someone.

Rod

Do we honestly think Ponga is capable any more of what Walsh provided this final series?

Walsh is 4 years younger so it some ways it was inevitable he'd surpass Ponga but the problem is we're still forking out 1.3M+ for Ponga.

I've remained team Pong for a long time but jeez he needs to pull his finger out next year if we're serious.
At the start of the season I'd have taken Ponga over Walsh but right now there's not many players at all you'd take over Walsh. His problem was always there were plenty of rocks to go with the diamonds but the second half of the season in particular he's gotten most of the former out of his game.

He also has a physicality to his game that Ponga simply doesn't have.

Zoidberg

I
At the start of the season I'd have taken Ponga over Walsh but right now there's not many players at all you'd take over Walsh. His problem was always there were plenty of rocks to go with the diamonds but the second half of the season in particular he's gotten most of the former out of his game.

He also has a physicality to his game that Ponga simply doesn't have.
I found it interesting that Walsh mentioned he hadn’t been drinking all year. I think it’s a huge advantage to be able to do that. Not only physically but it puts you in a focused mindset.
I’m not a big drinker so it’s easy for me to say, but I’m surprised more players don’t do the same (maybe there are some, I’d have no idea).

Dunno if he's a better player, certainly in better form.
You don't know? lol, read less stats and watch more footy then I reckon. Shibs had a ripper year and was selected on recency bias and sure, he's in good form. This happens all the time, it's completely unremarkable. I don't even hate form selections, I wish NSW would select more form players over the years tbh.

Knight Tales

NSW should pick on form. The All Blacks have a massive player turnover every two or three years for this exact reason. Their depth is insane and every talented kid in NZ wants to be an All Black. So it is aim up or hit the road: that is why the greatest All Blacks are world class legends spoken about decades later.

He also missed more tackles (6) than any other bronco. Shibs is still a defencive liability

Knight Tales

Shibs gets his chance to make some real
Money now and that is great! Cobbo has a lot to think about this off season. Starting with how he let a guy with half his ability take all of his jumpers.

Does that say Fletcher Hunt is in the PMXIII?

*rubs eyes*

What the f**k? lol. I mean obviously congrats to the kid but christ, he's barely a first grader at the moment and has more holes than a slab of swiss cheese in his game. But yes I mean, big moment for the lad and I'm happy for him.

Yosh

Super happy for both Best and Hunt. There is a real player somewhere in there. Played way too many games in first grade all over the place. Should be only playing 6-7 games a season on the wing until he really develops into a proper first grader.

Does that say Fletcher Hunt is in the PMXIII?

*rubs eyes*

What the f**k? lol. I mean obviously congrats to the kid but christ, he's barely a first grader at the moment and has more holes than a slab of swiss cheese in his game. But yes I mean, big moment for the lad and I'm happy for him.
Its the PM 13 mate, they are notorious for picking young kids with potential and sometimes just out and out reserve graders. Theyve picked Schneider for example

mozza91

If someone told me 2-3 years ago that Shibasaki would win a premiership and a Kangaroo jumper before Best, I would have thought they were on crack
Fair play to Shiba. He’s had a good year and earned his Grand Final ring. His spot in the Kangaroos squad is due to Kevvie Walters’ QLD bias and stupidity more than anything else though. He’s about 1/3 of the player Best is.

Woosh

Head Moderator

This week’s Throwback Thursday is quite fitting with the Broncos mens winning the premiership and Southwell signing with their women’s team.

Must be the only player to ever turn down Brisbane for Newcastle.
Here’s hoping he gets his own Benny Hunt fairytale :(