Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Articles

getsmarty

Can St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor save NRL campaign?
Local Sport
r0_0_3425_2200_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Runaway: Reimis Smith is chased by Matt Dufty. Picture: AAP Image/Brendan Esposito

Right, then.

So, ah, what now?

Prime Minister Scott Morrison might be a Sharks fan, but he has a bit in common with Dragons coach Paul McGregor right now.

A Government. An NRL club. And how to save themselves before it’s too late.

Days after another spectacular political meltdown resulted in Malcolm Turnbull’s demise, the fan frustration at St George Illawarra’s late-season slide morphed into full flaming torches and pitchforks reaction at Kogarah.

Another bitter defeat to the Bulldogs, another sour season wondering how the Red V on the jersey has come to point the direction they’re heading.

And now Jason Nightingale’s career could come to a premature end, after suffering an elbow injury.

But unlike last year, when Canterbury knocked the Dragons out of the finals equation with a shattering last-round result, this time there are still pieces to be picked up.

Whatever happens next week, St George Illawarra are in the playoffs.

r0_569_5568_3712_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Pressure: Paul McGregor. Picture: AAP Image/Brendan Esposito

A loss to the Knights in Newcastle on Saturday afternoon would likely see the Dragons slip to eighth, provided the Warriors beat Canberra in New Zealand and Brisbane outclass the in-turmoil Manly.

Up until the Dogs defeat, there was a lingering sense of hope the Dragons still had a shot to fire in the finals.

Now their cause seems hopeless, especially if Nightingale and Euan Aitken are out injured and Gareth Widdop fails to prove his fitness.

Without Widdop, halfback Ben Hunt is in danger of becoming the club’s new scapegoat, following in the footsteps of Jason Ryles and Trent Barrett.

Back in January, this column outlined the expectation he would face as the main man.

The problem for McGregor is the decision to demote Dufty now looks like a lack of confidence in what the Dragons are doing, a week after they appeared to turn the corner against the Tigers.

Is there a Hail Mary left in them?

Any selection revolution now can only rely purely on individual talent, they’ve run out of time on the training field to remodel the engine.

Maybe McGregor can take inspiration from the Bulldogs impressive late-season rise.

Of course, the Dogs can play off the leash when they’re not in the premiership picture, while in contrast the Dragons are once again melting in the pressure cooker.

But Dean Pay’s willingness to turn to youth has been a masterstroke, so much so Dogs fans are starting to believe they could be a force next season.

Winger Reimis Smith torched Dufty with electrifying pace on his way to a try-scoring hattrick on Sunday.

Lachlan Lewis has added some direction and unexpected polish to the halves, for a 22-year-old who has played eight games.

Goalkicking second-rower Rhyse Martin, lock Adam Elliott and utility option Jeremy Marshall-King have added extra dimensions to a team once ready to be smacked with the wooden spoon.

So where does that spark come from for the Dragons?

Jai Field to fullback? Or in the halves?

Zac Lomax to the wing or the centres?

Kurt Mann to the centres, if Aitken is injured anyway?

Darren Nicholls to come in if Widdop is still injured?

Keep the faith with Luciano Leilua starting?

Reuben Garrick? Tristan Sailor?

Something! Anything!

Or should it be left up to the fit ones in this hole to dig themselves out?

Morrison has until next year to win an election.

McGregor has less than two weeks to save the campaign.

r0_136_3600_2160_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Twist and shout: Malcolm Turnbull with Scott Morrison at the footy. Picture: AAP Image/Craig Golding

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...ail-mary-left-in-the-dragons-campaign/?cs=302

getsmarty

St George Illawarra veteran Jason Nightingale may have played his last NRL game
  • Local Sport
    r249_852_4173_3025_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Dragons wing Jason Nightingale might have ended his NRL career in pain after dislocating an elbow

• Jason Nightingale's NRL farewell likely rests in the fate of his St George Illawarra teammates as the Dragons' fan favourite admits he may have played his last first grade game.

The veteran wing, who will retire at the end of the year, dislocated his left elbow in an awkward tackle with teammate Jeremy Latimore in Sunday's 38-0 loss to Canterbury.

Although the elbow was placed back in on the sideline, there are fears he will miss between four and six weeks. Scans on Monday should provide a clearer indication.

If the time frame is accurate Nightingale might not return until the September 30 grand final - a scenario that appears unlikely after the Dragons dropped their sixth game in eight weeks.

"I think that might depend on how far we go and that sort of thing, and that's a shame but we will look at the prognosis (on Monday)," Nightingale said.

"There is a little bit of light until you get the bad news and they tell you how long it is going to be.

Read more: Dragons fans vent their fury as Bulldogs revive ghost of 2017

"It felt alright once it got back in and it wasn't that painful, I can push out okay."

Nightingale has previously injured his right elbow, and was on the comeback from a neck injury when he suffered his latest setback during his 50th and final game at Kogarah.

Despite the blow, Nightingale said he had been relatively injury-free during his 11-year, 265-game NRL career.

"I have been lucky with injury, it's a shame it has happened now, but that's rugby league."

Dragons centre Euan Aitken will also go for scans on a torn hamstring - Zac Lomax will likely come into the side for Saturday's final round clash in Newcastle.

The Dragons' loss was the worst of any Saints' outfit at the ground dating back back to their first game there in 1950, while it saw them slump to sixth on the ladder.

After sitting first as recently as round 16, the Dragons now need to flog the Knights and have a myriad of results go in their favour to have a second life come finals time.

"It's a new competition once you get to finals, but we are limping in there at the moment and it's not good enough," Nightingale said.

"We saw things out of the bag like North Queensland did last year (to make the grand final from eighth), but you don't want to rely on those sorts of things."

AAP
https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...ale-may-have-played-his-last-nrl-game/?cs=302

getsmarty

nrl-womens-premiership-launch-2gp_561901.jpg

DRAGONS

Women ready to get down to business
Author
Tanisha Stanton
Timestamp
Sun 26 Aug 2018, 01:43 PM

Dragons second-rower Talesha Quinn said excitement is overshadowing nerves as players gear up for the inaugural NRL Holden Women's Premiership which kicks off in two weeks time.

At Rugby League Central on Sunday, players from each of the four NRL clubs gathered for the unveiling of the premiership trophy.

"I'm so excited, especially coming here today and seeing the trophy and feeling how heavy it is," Quinn told NRL.com.

"To know that this is the first ever competition to happen, it's kind of nerve-racking but we're more excited to know that we are creating history and to know that there are so many young girls out there are looking up to us."

Quinn will join the Dragons' women for her first field session on Sunday after undergoing surgery on her knee five weeks ago. She remains uncertain whether she will run out for their first match.

"I've been in the cardio room watching the girls out on the field which has been pretty hard for me but the girls are looking really good and really fit - everyone is bonding really well and everyone's so excited to take the field," Quinn said.

Countdown is on to NRL Holden Women’s Premiership

"I get to put my boots on for the first time today. It's touch and go for me at the moment but I'm keeping faith and hopefully I'll be out there but we will just see how the old knee holds up today."

Roosters front-rower Simaima Taufa said she's counting down the days until she can put on the jersey with her teammates and have her family supporting her from the sideline.

"I'm looking forward to putting on the jersey, I never thought as a young girl that I would be able to say that I'm a NRLW player," Taufa said.

"This is a pinnacle for myself and a journey that I'm looking forward to achieving and be a part of and to have some of my closest mates playing alongside me and it being so close to home that my family can travel out.

"I will probably shed a tear [having her family watch on from the sideline], it's going to be my motivation."

With a number of current and former Kiwi Ferns in the Warriors side, hooker Hilda Mariu said after the Kiwi's 23-16 loss to the Jillaroos at the 2017 World Cup, the side will be out for revenge.

"I'm expecting for the competition to be very tough," Mariu told NRL.com

nrl-womens-premiership-launch-2gp_5512.jpg

The NRL Women's Premiership launch. :copyright:Gregg Porteous/NRL Photos
"I think we are very lucky in terms of experience. We have the former Kiwi Ferns captain in our team so she brings a lot of knowledge, 16 years of it and she's been very good in guiding the young ones that are new to this to prepare them for this massive competition.

"Being a former Kiwi Fern myself and after the world cup when we lost to the Jillaroos, in which we have a Kiwi Ferns in our team that definitely want to make sure we change that in terms of the Warriors team."

Broncos centre Jayme Fressard has been ruled out of the Premiership due to an ACL injury, but the 21-year-old said although she is devastated she can't play, she's grateful she is able to still be a part of the team and support the girls.

Bremner honoured with Dragons captaincy

Fressard has been undergoing her rehabilitation in Sydney but will head up to Brisbane next Sunday to support them in their trial match against PNG and to spend the last week with the side before the competition kicks off.

"I'm shattered [to be watching from the sideline]. I just come back from an injury has year - I did the same thing with my hip bone, my middle quad muscle which snapped off my hip bone so I had a long recovery coming back from that," Fressard said.

"This year I was I got into it, trained hard and did everything I could and then go picked up from the Broncos and a week later did my ACL.

"It's awesome that the Broncos have given me the opportunity even though I'm not playing to be on the sideline support the girls and still be a part of the team."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/08/27/women-ready-to-get-down-to-business/

tumbidragon

Disgruntled Dragons fans the game's biggest 'crisis merchants

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/08/27...gons-fans-the-games-biggest-crisis-merchants/

Did his damnedest to ignore why the fans were actually disgusted at the players and the club as a whole.

Nothing to do with a gutless performance on such a significant occasion. Nothing to do with yet another disastrous fade in form we've come to expect year in year out. Nothing to do with the deafening silence from the club when "so-called supporters" ask questions about how under performing coaches or players maintain their positions...

What a Muppet!

rednwhites

Webster sounds as po'd as the rest of us now. Obviously now on the sack McGregor bandwagon. About time. Good article, very true.

McGregor wanted to send a message by dropping Dufty. It didn’t work.

Andrew Webster26 August 2018 — 9:06pm

When Dragons coach Paul McGregor made a mess of our match-day programs with a raft of changes an hour before kick-off, he was trying to send a message.

The message wasn’t just for fullback Matt Dufty, who was sensationally dumped to the bench and replaced by winger Jason Nightingale.

MATCH REPORT
Dragons thumped by Bulldogs as top four hopes vanish
Five minutes later, he was presented with the perfect opportunity to win back McGregor’s trust.

The Bulldogs were working their way off their own line when an interchange of passes set winger Reimis Smith free.

He streaked into the backfield. The last man standing in his way was Dufty.

At 196cm and 97kgs, Smith had every right to just run over the top of Dufty, who at 179cm and 80kgs is the smallest but arguably fastest fullback in the league.

Instead, Smith went around him, galloping away to score.

It’s a bit like the Dragons’ season, really. The longer it goes on, the more it seems to be inching out of their grasp.

16ec734252533af0b9c65ef9abf11771d23f4094

Jason Nightingale didn't get the home farewell he was hoping for.

Photo: AAP
They must now thump the Knights in Newcastle on Saturday and hope the Bulldogs thump the Sharks at ANZ Stadium on Sunday to finish in the top four. They also rely on Storm beating Penrith.

Dragons fans have every right to ask how it came to this after their side had started the season so emphatically.

Of course, State of Origin has taken its toll.

Players like Jack de Belin and Tariq Sims talked about playing for NSW like it would be the pinnacle of their season when it should’ve been the cream on top.

0f68594206c8f2d9b7205de577776bfc8ad87f2e

Reimis Smith takes the direct route past Matthew Dufty.

When the Blues won the series, de Belin put his head on assistant coach Greg Alexander’s shoulder and wept like a child, such was the pressure and then the release.

Since then, the Dragons have tried to sell us the notion that Origin didn’t hurt them.

“Well, it did,” halfback Ben Hunt told Fairfax Media. “And more than a lot of us have really said. Having so many forwards, almost our starting pack [playing for NSW], is going to take a lot of energy out of your team and that’s where our success was early in the year. Our forwards were playing so well. Origin zapped them a little bit. They won’t say it or admit it. But it’s true.”

Origin zapped nobody more than Hunt.

In the 54th minute, with the Bulldogs in total control at 20-0, he grubber kicked the ball so hard on the last tackle it almost ended up in the Leagues Club.

The Kogarah faithful booed. They stayed around long after to full-time to boo him again as he left the field. He’s testing their patience.

There’s some chance five-eighth Gareth Widdop will return from his shoulder injury next week for the match against Newcastle. His reappearance cannot come quick enough for Hunt.

In the 64th minute, the ball found Smith, this time on his own 30m line. The last man standing in his way was Dufty. Again.

Smith shifted right, turned Dufty inside out, and then back to the left to score his third try.

It was another insult on an afternoon when the Dragons had all the emotion on their side following the death of favourite son Lance Thompson.

e992416395c22307954f874795a32eff0df1f786

Tariq Sims presents match jersey to Shalisse Thompson, the daughter of late Dragons and Sharks forward Lance Thompson.

After the game, Sims handed his No.12 jumper to Thompson’s 17-year-old, daughter, Shalisse, and his boots to twins Layla and Lachlan.

Thommo, bless him, was a rough diamond who in his early years had a deceptive step and offload but as the years went on simply ran hard and tackled harder.

Of all the images we’ve seen in tributes since his death on Thursday night, the one that stands out is of him standing in front of the Kogarah hill, tugging at the Red V of his jumper.

It’s the type of passion McGregor could use right now.

getsmarty

ah-maul_2nh_6233.jpg

STATS

Where your team could finish: The final round
Author
NRL.com
Timestamp
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 10:00 AM

The eight finals-bound teams may be decided but each of those sides are technically capable of finishing in the top four as we head into the last round of the Telstra Premiership regular season.

The Melbourne Storm will lock up their third straight minor premiership if they beat the struggling Panthers in Melbourne on Friday night, after their top-of-the-table rivals the Roosters and Rabbitohs both lost on Saturday.

ladder-positions_20180827.jpg

Those two teams should be able to hold onto a top-four finish even if they lose this weekend, with points differentials of +147 and +104 respectively (the fifth-placed Panthers have a for-and-against of +50). The Roosters are in the box seat to lock up second place and a home final next week if they beat Parramatta, who appear destined for the wooden spoon after a heavy loss to fellow strugglers North Queensland in Johnathan Thurston's final home game on Friday night.

Cronulla are arguably the form team of the competition after strong home wins over the Cowboys and Knights, but will be keen to climb into third spot to avoid a visit to Melbourne. They'll get their chance if Souths lose to the Wests Tigers on Thursday, otherwise they'd need to both beat the revitalised Bulldogs and close a 20-point for-and-against gap with the Rabbitohs.

the-run-home_r25_top.jpg

In the bottom half of the eight Penrith and St George Illawarra are currently hanging onto a home final spot by the skin of their teeth. Both sides were beaten badly on the weekend – the Panthers losing 36-16 to potential finals opponents the Warriors and the Dragons crushed 38-0 by the Bulldogs. The situation looks particularly dire for Penrith with a trip to Melbourne looming, although the out-of-form Dragons are no sure things of leaving Newcastle with a win either.

Brisbane and the Warriors meanwhile will be playing for a chance of a home final, and both have home ground advantage this week against a team that will miss the eight. The Broncos face Manly on Sunday while the Warriors host Canberra on Friday. The Sea Eagles may be struggling but they did shock the Sharks earlier this month while the Raiders can't be underestimated after claiming the scalps of the Roosters and Rabbitohs in the past fortnight.

At the foot of the ladder, the spoon will almost certainly go to the Eels, unless they can somehow pull off a big win against the Roosters while Manly suffers a huge loss to Brisbane. The Cowboys' superior for-and-against should save them from the spoon even if they fail to beat the Gold Coast Titans on Saturday.

the-run-home_r25_bottom.jpg

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/08/27/where-your-team-could-finish-the-final-round/

getsmarty

grahamj_2nh_6552.jpg

DRAGONS

Under siege Dragons hope honesty session can revive season
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Tue 28 Aug 2018, 06:43 PM

St George Illawarra players were asked at an honesty session after last Sunday’s 38-0 capitulation to Canterbury to put themselves in Jason Nightingale’s shoes and consider whether they’d be satisfied if that was their final game.

As expected, the answer was a resounding “no”, following a performance described as the worst by any NRL team this season and one which cost the Dragons a top-four finish.

As they returned to training on Tuesday, the players were still stinging from the defeat and felt they had let down Nightingale, who was making his farewell at Kogarah and will not play again unless the Dragons advance deep into the finals.

“We’ve had a few honest conversations already so it is how we respond,” second-rower Tariq Sims said.

The NSW Origin forward said the theme of the discussion had been: “Was that your best effort?”

“Gypsy [Nightingale], that was his last game playing there in a regular round, Jubilee [Oval] is part of the furniture and with Lance [Thompson’s] passing, if that was the last game you ever played would you be happy with that,” Sims said.

“Across the board, it was pretty much ‘no’, so we have got a lot of areas that we need to address.”

Dragons remain stoic despite upset fans

Nightingale will continue training in the hope that his career is not over after being told he would be sidelined for two-to-four weeks with a dislocated elbow.

Centre Euan Aitken hopes to return for the finals after suffering a low-grade hamstring tear against the Bulldogs, while captain Gareth Widdop is also due back from a dislocated shoulder in the play-offs.

The Dragons remain confident they can still be a force in the finals and believe they need to revert to the playing style which saw them lead the Telstra Premiership for the first 16 rounds of the season.

Discipline has become a problem for the team and they were forced to make a mammoth 449 tackles last Sunday, compared to 314 by Canterbury.

“I think we clocked in another record for the most tackles on the weekend so for us to get that is obviously disappointing, but the penalties we are giving away are just childish, schoolboy penalties,” Sims said.

Lock Jack de Belin added: "When you never have any ball and all you are doing is tackling it is pretty hard to find the energy to run hard. When we finally do get it we are gassed and fatigued and can't get a roll on".

He also revealed the Dragons had changed their game plan and defensive structure.

nightingalej_1nh_3718.jpg

Dragons winger Jason Nightingale farewells the Kogarah faithful. :copyright:Nathan Hopkins/NRL Photos
“I think we are just playing edge to edge football, whereas we need to go back to playing power,” Sims said. “Our strength is our forward pack. That’s what got us the wins earlier in the season.”

De Belin said some players were trying to do too much on their own and admitted his form had been down since Origin after losing 5kg and suffering a sternum injury.

“I haven’t been playing my best footy, and the rest of the team would have to put their hand up to say the same thing,” de Belin said.

However, the Blues stars insisted they had not felt the need for a rest after Origin and told coach Paul McGregor they wanted to continue playing for their club.

“As players. we took it out of ‘Mary’s’ hands and said we wanted to play. I think to a person we just haven’t played up to our standards as representative players.”

De Belin and Sims defended McGregor and halfback Ben Hunt, who have borne the brunt of most criticism for their team’s poor performances since Origin.

“I feel he has done a great job for us and he is in the same boat as me and half the side, we aren’t playing our best and I suppose it is hard when you are the halfback and the focal point of the side and you are obviously not performing, then you cop a lot of criticism,” de Belin said of Hunt.

Sims, who has been defending next to Hunt on the right edge since NSW prop Paul Vaughan was injured four weeks ago, added: “As a back-rower I didn’t do my job on the weekend so to be honest I am pretty dirty on myself."

He also rejected criticism of McGregor.

“He’s one of those coaches who as a player makes you want to play for him,” Sims said. “I’ve got a lot of respect for Mary, he was pretty much the reason I came here. To play for a coach such as Mary was too good to knock back.”

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/201...agons-hope-honesty-session-can-revive-season/

However, the Blues stars insisted they had not felt the need for a rest after Origin and told coach Paul McGregor they wanted to continue playing for their club.

“As players. we took it out of ‘Mary’s’ hands and said we wanted to play. I think to a person we just haven’t played up to our standards as representative players.”

Holey god do you believe that one?
The players “took it out of Mary’s hands”

Mary “I think you need a rest”
Player “no coach, all good I’m playing”

Mary “I think you need a drop to ISP to regain some form”
Player “no I’m good, I think I’ll play first grade instead”
Mary “ok then, see you Sunday”

That right there is what’s wrong with our club.

Mickthedragon

Im a fan of most of our players barring a few. But if what is written above is true, it all makes sense now.
Its not only that Mary can't coach, he lets the lunatics run the asylum.
He is everyones mate and not their coach, hence there is no accountability.

getsmarty

simst-180425_gt_3.jpg

DRAGONS

I love the passion the Dragons fans have: Tariq Sims
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Wed 29 Aug 2018, 08:01 AM

Dragons players have urged disgruntled supporters to get behind them as they aim to become the first team to win the NRL premiership from outside the top four.

Angry St George Illawarra supporters gathered around the tunnel at Jubilee Oval after last Sunday’s 38-0 loss to Canterbury to let the players know in no uncertain terms how they felt, and one fan later posted footage of him burning his jersey on social media.

Prop James Graham had a Dragons scarf thrown at him and other players needed to be dissuaded from responding to the abuse, which was so vitriolic at times that police felt the need to intervene.

While Tariq Sims and Jack de Belin said throwing things at players was unacceptable, they admitted the fans had a right to be unhappy with such a performance on the eve of the finals.

“We are in the top eight but to be honest I can see where they are coming from,” Sims said. “Memberships and tickets aren’t cheap so to hand over their hard-earned cash and be let down like that, I would be pretty filthy myself.”

Dragons remain stoic despite upset fans

De Belin described the performance as “embarrassing” and said St George Illawarra fans deserved better.

“It was hard but at the same time they are very passionate, the Dragons fans, so when you are winning they are right behind you and when you are losing they can kind of turn on you,” de Belin said.

“We hold ourselves accountable, we know it wasn’t good enough and the fans were quick to remind us that it wasn’t good enough as well.”

Sims also praised the passion of St George Illawarra fans and said their support could lift the team during the finals.

“I love the passion that St George Illawarra fans have, they turn out in droves and they travel and they pack out the hill, and carry their banners and that is just something that as a player really inspires me,” he said.

dragons-fan-boo_2nh_6692.jpg

Dragons fans vented their anger after the loss to the Bulldogs. :copyright:Nathan Hopkins/NRL Photos
“As a player, with fans so passionate that they’re screaming, they’re cheering and they’re crying, I think something about that really inspires me to want to go out there and satisfy them, and make them proud of myself and the club in general.”

Despite winning just two of their last eight games to drop out of top-four contention last Sunday, the Dragons are confident they can regain their early-season form and advance deep into the finals.

If they can achieve that, de Belin pointed out the Dragons had beaten the top four teams – Melbourne, Sydney Roosters, South Sydney and Cronulla – this season, and were capable of becoming the first team to win the Telstra Premiership from the bottom half of the eight.

“When you look at the big picture we are going to make finals and I supposed plenty of teams that haven’t been in the top four have gone on deep runs or teams have lost a lot going into the finals and had a deep run,” de Belin said.

“The ball’s in our court, how we want to handle it is up to us. We have just got to stay positive and know what we have got here in the group and the culture we have created at the Dragons.

“We have played all the top four sides and beaten them so I feel like when we are on our game we can beat anyone.”

Asked if he had a message for Dragons fans, de Belin said: “Players don’t go out there to lose. We know we have got to be better and we are accountable”.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/08/29/i-love-the-passion-the-dragons-fans-have-tariq-sims/

getsmarty

St George Illawarra Dragons stars back coach Paul McGregor
Dragons Den
r0_569_5568_3712_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Full support: Dragons players have defended their under-siege coach. Picture: AAP Image/Brendan Esposito.

St George Illawarra players have emphatically backed Dragons coach Paul McGregor to lead the team out of its late season form slump.

Talk has swirled in recent weeks that McGregor has lost the support of his players after the Dragons embarked on yet another late-season slump, losing six of their past eight matches.

After sliding from first on the ladder to sixth, the Dragons are at genuine risk of exiting the competition in the opening week of the finals.

However, while disappointed with the team’s recent form, forward Tariq Sims denied the players had lost faith in their coach.

“Yes absolutely [we still want to play for McGregor],” Sims said. “Someone said that to me the other day and I sort of rubbished that right on the spot.

“He’s probably one of the proudest coaches I’ve ever played for and he’s one of the coaches that as a player makes you want to play for him.

“I’ve got a lot of respect for Mary, he was one of the main reasons I came down here. Obviously the team and to play for my local club, to play for a coach such as Mary was too good for me to knock back, he was a major reason why I came here.”

Sims’ Origin teammate Jack de Belin also backed his coach, labelling the criticism premature given the fact McGregor has returned the team to the finals for the just the second time since 2011.

“That’s probably a little extreme, considering how well we started the year and at the time hearing people say we should re-sign him or extend him and things like that,” de Belin said of suggestions McGregor should be sacked.

“I suppose as soon as you go through a bad run, a month or however long it is, people are quick to drop the axe. Mary’s fine, all the boys are behind him, there shouldn't be an issue at all.”

The Dragons forward pack has struggled in recent weeks and McGregor has taken heat for opting against resting his Origin stars, however both players denied the Origin period was to blame for their late season struggles.

“I know, to a man, everyone that played representative football, wanted to play football, so that came down to us," Sims said. “As a player we took it out of Mary’s hands and said we wanted to play.

When quizzed if McGregor should have taken the decision out of the players hands, Sims suggested players are best positioned to make the decision.

“I don’t think if you’re injured you’re going to go out there and play. I think to a person we just haven’t played up to our standards as rep players.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5613930/dragons-stars-back-paul-mcgregor/?cs=3713