Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ausguy,where are you? Peach out of his depth.

Card Shark

stop trying to defend the club, botton line is webshark is correct we shouldn't cop what the club has done in recent times regarding player retention/recruitment, it's simply been diabolical..

I reckon our recent recruitment (before this year) has been exceptional.

Big Bloke

Let's face it not everyone is going to be happy about our recruitment. Some years when we have bought well, there is always someone who doesn't like x player or y player.

The Popper

Who is?

More to the point the derros we recruited are not in his class. He certainly polarises opinion! Scored some ripper tries in 20s and NSW cup. What do you want?

Scored 2 good ones and close to a third. He smoked the rated Hopoate and fended off 2 parra players along the way. Too early to judge but good signs. Only started about 6 games.

Don't tell us Peach fans that money would have been wasted on him then recruit World class nuffies!

Let's stop these threads pointless. No one changes their view. My mail is his first offer was less than half the Panthers. We will never know.

Losing him and Lichaa to keep Milford or Cordner I could cop. To lose them and get Richard, Holdsworth, Vave and Ayshford I cant. Lichaa for sure had his head turned by Hasler.

This is so much like my thoughts on the matter that I had to check the mirror to see that it wasn't me speaking, Webshark. :eek:

cb4

1 good game doesn't make a career.

He hasn't been a stand out, he has been dropped for form, and played well against an injury depleted Eels.

That said, good on him, I hope he lives up to his potential.

Why does this keep getting brought up?

I haven't seen the Roosters make an Arona thread this year?

webShark

I haven't seen the Roosters make an Arona thread this year?

That is because despite the hype on the forum, Arona is a bench NRL player. If we had SBW, Cordner and Guerra there wouldn't be a thread on here either about Peach.

We haven't. A lot of us see more potential in Peachey than Arona as well. Granted Arona has been better than I expected. I didn't expect much anyhow.

Peach has the potential X Factor we crave. As I type he is being interviewed on c9 news. Doubt that would ever happen with Arona.

There you go. Cue Arona lovers. Maybe we could start the Arona thread on the Roosters forum for them.

cb4

That is because despite the hype on the forum, Arona is a bench NRL player. If we had SBW, Cordner and Guerra there wouldn't be a thread on here either about Peach.

We haven't. A lot of us see more potential in Peachey than Arona as well. Granted Arona has been better than I expected. I didn't expect much anyhow.

Peach has the potential X Factor we crave. As I type he is being interviewed on c9 news. Doubt that would ever happen with Arona.

There you go. Cue Arona lovers. Maybe we could start the Arona thread on the Roosters forum for them.

Really? An interview on Channel 9?

Gards had a few of them once.

In terms of value for money, Arona has performed better out of the 2.

marrick5

Mate webshark is correct the roosters have the roster to easily cover for the loss of arona we simply don't. We don't have any long term Vision therefore we look a quick fix allowing youngsters to leave and signing older players. The fact is arona is the same type of player we already posses peachey had that unknown factor to create something and keep defences guessing. But I guess that's not the type of game we want yo play

webShark

Really? An interview on Channel 9?

Gards had a few of them once.

In terms of value for money, Arona has performed better out of the 2.

CB , I suspect you have business dealings with the Sharks. Respect your views , really do. But some of us disheartened fans are sick of this rhetoric. Value for money garbage. Always twisting the discussion point. I suppose with all the value for money expertese , we should be glad to be top of the comp. Well as Beau says , if you turn it upside down.

The mindset that values Arona higher than Peachey explains it all.

To use Sharks club speak , Holdsworth in terms of value for money has performed better than Carney.

I think we should have both Arona and Peachey. Didn't need Ayshford or Prior or Vave or Holdsworth or EGJ. Surely Peach and Arona cap equals the total of the other 5.

If you needed 3 squad players to balance the squad then Moroko and Coates were 2 possibles. Coates now at Mounties , who are above us in Reggies. Moroko given it away I heard.

I am fully aware we are where we are is down to injuries , my gripe is at full strength I put us 5th-12th. Not only that. We are seriously boring. Forum , for all the nutters (me included) is more fun than the game.

With your contacts, you should let the hierarchy know I am hearing 20 year plus members not keen to renew next year. Games are phenomenally boring.

There is a pretty simple solution to this .
All the peachy fan boys, what value should we have gone to retain him.

Seeing everytime we made an offer , Panthers trumped it, Im guessing Webby would have been happy for us to pay $500k for Peachy. because that is what it would have taken.

penrith are paying +$300k, there is no disputing that but it involves KPI's. But he should get that.

so we needed to come in at $350 or $400, just to stayin the bidding war.

No thanks. X 100

webShark

There is a pretty simple solution to this .
All the peachy fan boys, what value should we have gone to retain him.

Seeing everytime we made an offer , Panthers trumped it, Im guessing Webby would have been happy for us to pay $500k for Peachy. because that is what it would have taken.

penrith are paying +$300k, there is no disputing that but it involves KPI's. But he should get that.

so we needed to come in at $350 or $400, just to stayin the bidding war.

No thanks. X 100

Well thank god for KPI's. Saving us a fortune. Reef. You not a believer in social media for marketing but talking KPI bullshit. Gall will make his. Ayshford would make a KPI if he leaves.

We should save a motza this year. Not many KPI's reached for spoonsters.

Must tell Tyrone to stop ringing you about his contract dealings. In fact the knowledge you have about all NRL contract deals and offers is quite astounding/unbelievable.

So enlighten us. Do Sharks bother with KPI's? If so is TC on 750k plus KPI's or not. Ditto Fifita.

Strange. Many of us older mob don't need a KPI to know if a team is shit or not. What is Toops KPI as well? Turn up to Shark Park occasionally. You can happilly give Ayshford and Toops any KPI you like.

You might have to be careful with Peach, might actually score a few tries and get rep honours. Might have got rep honours already. Damn. Score 2 good tries. Fool.

Since 73

Why this one sticks in the craw is because of how we lost him.

The kid was carving it up in NSW cup. If we did everything we could to develop and keep him but he was stolen away for big bucks - so be it.

But this one stinks because we drove him away. His form warranted the same opportunity Cleary has provided.
Not his name.
His form.

The breaks he made the other nite. The elusiveness. That should be in a sharks jumper.

chewsta

His form warranted the same opportunity Cleary has provided.
Not his name.
His form.

Regardless of his last name, this is what I never understood, the kid did everything asked of him and more to get a shot at firsts, every week he killed it. why was he never given a go? It's a recurring problem too, with other players not getting a chance. seems to be harder to be dumped from firsts than it is to get in.

By the way, what the f**k is a KPI?

chewsta

Nah mate, probably not at this stage of his career. my gripe isnt that we lost him, it happens and will always continue to happen. My concern is that for those still within the club that are doing everything right (as Peach was) that they are not going to be given a fair go. why is it happening? who is behind it?

and my last question was serious to, what does KPI stand for?

marrick5

Key performance indicators. Agree 100% can't understand why young kids are never given a fair dinkum chance and I'm not talking about 1 game then dropped we seem to be the only club that does it

and yet Peachy has been dropped twice this year laready at Panthers. Dope.

webShark

Answer the question. Would you have paid $400k or more for Peachy after 6 games of first grade?

Can anyone play? Call it Reef Super coach for the record. Just give us all the players wages and contract lengths and we can pick. You know them. Should be fun. For the record I wouldn't have given 750k for Carney or 650k for Fifita so save cap there. Where else was Fifita heading?

Didn't want Marshall or Wade for 600k either.
If we want a player from another club we can just ask you for their contract signing value.

mxlegend99

Answer the question. Would you have paid $400k or more for Peachy after 6 games of first grade?
Why do you think the Panthers are? Gud has gotten rid of proven superstars like Jennings and Lewis, and to a lesser extent Grant and Coote because he considered them to be a poor use of the cap. why would he go and pay overs to an unproven player?

People seem to think every player he has signed is on massive money. But they wouldn't go close to fitting into the cap if he did.half his lure is taking players not getting the chance they arguably deserve and offering them that. Soward was blamed for Dragons form, Wallace was forced out of Broncos, Peach got a game when injuries forced him too, Whare was a Mr fix it when injuries hit Manly, Kite was forced out with the salary cap etc.

Peachey is just being given a fair go at Penrith. He's still very early into his career and showing promise. If you wait until potential is,delivered, you miss out and end up with duds or rejects.