Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Awarding our worst era

Sterling

Everlovin' Antichrist said:
I was a Parramatta supporter in 72, 73 & 74.

The early '90's team were overachievers in comparison.

Although, they did knock off Manly at Cumberland Oval 10 - 0 in the mud in 1973.

go back to your other crapy forum you loser...you have no life do you EA...and you must be about 40!!...poor sad life you must lead.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
Hollywood Jesus said:
Easy. Basically most of those guys back then busted their damned asses simply cause they wanted to play for Parramatta. Not for Premierships, rep honours, recognition etc - sure those thigns would have been good - but guys like Mahon, Erickson, Crnkovich, Bartolo etc were all great Parra players who loved the jersey and had a heart for the Club.

these days guys switch Clubs at the drop of a massive cheque, or because of status etc. How many Clubs chased Bartolo? But he stayed because he was an Eel. Look at what Kenny did in his final year, turning his back on a good offer from balmain cause he was a Parra boy through and through.

RIGHT ON you funny lookin' man! =D>
thats exactly why i love this team so much, but its also why im losing so much faith in it... players bought from other clubs will never know that type of love for this club unfortunatly
and jesus, you of all people know that some of our divvy boys have the same attitude towards this team... bubs...wheels... etc etc :cry: :cry:

Ron Jeremy

Nikki said:
Misty Bee said:
Yeah, those who followed the side from 75 to 86 were all bandwagoners, weren't they!
Hmm... dunno if im sensing a bit of sarcasm there but I hope you all know what I meant. I'll be the first to admit that i didnt start watchin league til '88 so i missed all the "glory" days. But i always have fond memories of sittin on my own in the empty terrace watchin the boys go around. I learnt alot about dedication in those days.

My first game was 88 aswell & i also have mond memories of sitting by myself in an empty terrace watcin the boy's go around and more often then not....getting flogged!!......Sad days for me :cry:

JessEel said:
thats exactly why i love this team so much, but its also why im losing so much faith in it... players bought from other clubs will never know that type of love for this club unfortunatly

Yeah, footy has changed and now it's a full-time "career" and run like a business, it'll be hard to see that type of passion again - at any club.

But seeing Hopkins during this year convinced me that it is possible for new buys to show that type of feeling and commitment. Let's hope some of our newer buys are like that - and that the club treats every player with respect (juniors included).

Chipmunk

Misty Bee said:
Nikki said:
You know why we love talking about it, coz no matter how bad the team was going at least we can say we were there. Not like the bandwagoners.

Yeah, those who followed the side from 75 to 86 were all bandwagoners, weren't they!

For me, the standouts of the 90-95 era were Pebbles Laurie and Scott Mahon.

And I still laugh at all the people who picked Brett kenny at 5/8 in their team of the 90s!

Mark Laurie played for the Eels up to 1990-1995? He was certainly around a long time! Did he not play in 3 of the 4 Premierships?

Ron Jeremy

Chipmunk said:
Misty Bee said:
Nikki said:
You know why we love talking about it, coz no matter how bad the team was going at least we can say we were there. Not like the bandwagoners.

For me, the standouts of the 90-95 era were Pebbles Laurie and Scott Mahon.

And I still laugh at all the people who picked Brett kenny at 5/8 in their team of the 90s!

Mark Laurie played for the Eels up to 1990-1995? He was certainly around a long time! Did he not play in 3 of the 4 Premierships?

Mark Laurie retired at the end of 92 & then wen't and had a season in the English RL....i think it was Salford??

Sterling said:
Everlovin' Antichrist said:
I was a Parramatta supporter in 72, 73 & 74.

The early '90's team were overachievers in comparison.

Although, they did knock off Manly at Cumberland Oval 10 - 0 in the mud in 1973.

go back to your other crapy forum you loser...you have no life do you EA...and you must be about 40!!...poor sad life you must lead.

About 40? Nah, I'm 45 you terminal gimp.

I'll post wherever I like and if you don't like it, give me your address and I'll post you a lace hanky.

dope.

noosa-eel

Good one EA....who does sterling think he is.

Obviously thinks people over 40 have no opinions and can't think for themselves. Supporters from late 80's onward have no idea just how good the mighty eels were in the early 80's and i know the game has changed alot but i think the committment has gone from the game...it's all about the money......... :cry:

noosa-eel said:
Good one EA....who does sterling think he is.

Obviously thinks people over 40 have no opinions and can't think for themselves. Supporters from late 80's onward have no idea just how good the mighty eels were in the early 80's and i know the game has changed alot but i think the committment has gone from the game...it's all about the money......... :cry:

Ta mate, I have cried more tears over Parramatta than that snot licking donkey fart will ever do.

I followed them until about '88. A young family made it difficult for me to go to matches for a few years in the '80s. I moved to Cambelltown in '87 and my allegiances changed slowly to Wests over time, being 5 minutes from their ground helped. I saw most of Parra's home games at Cumberland from '71 through to '81 and was there warming my hands when the grandstand was torched.

All is not lost though, my eldest son is a Parramatta supporter so the legacy lives on.

I was there is '75 when Parra made their midweek charge to and into the Finals.

I was there in '76 to see Glover and Sulkowicz combine to not win the Grand Final. I recall going to Parramatta on the Thursday night just to soak up the atmosphere. I also recall leaving to go to the ground the night before and spending all night playing the Parra song on my portable tape deck and drove all the Manly supporters mad. I went through 3 sets of batteries.

I was there in '77 to watch Mick Cronin's kick veer off to send it into a replay the next week and I was at the replay, cursing Fearnley for not allowing Parra to bash Saints. I spent the night at a mate's flat in Sydney, waving my flag from the 21st floor until we caught a Taxi to the ground at 10pm the night before the GF.

I've been heartbroken with their losses and celebrated their wins as well. The 1973 win over Manly still sticks in my mind as the one win against all odds that typified the Parramatta spirit of the time.

I was there when Parra won their first comp but it was somewhat of a let down that they didn't beat Manly or Saints in the decider. It was hard not to feel sorry for Newtown. But I was overjoyed that my favourite player, The Bear, had finally won a comp after so many years of playing with a crap side.

Screw you Sterling, I've earned the right to comment.

noosa-eel

EA i don't get to as many games as i used to either, in fact i only get to 1 game a year now since moving to Qld in 83.

I too was there when Glover stuffed up and also there for the huge bonfire at Cumberland Oval...i'll never forget it but once an eel always an eel for me......... :D :D

Who was there when Neville Glover juggled the ball through his legs, re-caught it and still scored a try???

I was.

desidirata

lol boys and girls it is not a competition. we all love parra and probabaly all equally as well, just because some of us weren't there in the eighties during the golden years doesn't make us any lesser of a supporter and just think in our future glory years when all you old timers are dead we'll still be here