Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Back to 1992

Misty Bee

Last night - 79th minute at my place. Misty throws the soup bowl up in the air and yells loud enough to make one of the kids burst into tears. Mum explains "Don't worry, darling. Parra haven't won a game for a while" as Misty pumps fists in the air and makes loud, indeciperable shrieks of joy. On telly, players jump upon one another in scenes remeniscent of Trafalgar Square on VE day 1945.

Sadly, it's more remeniscent of the day we beat the Poms on the '92 Lions tour rather than the day we put 50 on NZ in a semi final.

I doubt that the sheer jubilance across the Eels fan base was echoed when the Dogs beat Easts on Friday night.

Sadly, there is no greater testimony to the fact that we have sunk to the depths of an also ran that our reaction. MITS is pouring through the reord selection to find a theme song, and would still be smiling widely even if his house burned down today.

I recall a day when we would put 30 on someone and we would all be making chages to improve the side next week. Now we'll probably be unveiulling a new Dykes statue next week (something to run the truck into the week after when we all hate him again I guess!)

Such is the life of the also rans. That is where we are, and, unless drastic changes are wrought inside the club, that is where we will stay.

That will change next year my friend when we decide to go on our biggest spending spree since we bought the "Canterbury 4."

Actually, I was only smiling for a few hours, then I went back to worrying about my gran who was addmitted to hospital Saturday Morning.

In my opinion, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and you can't see it for the fact we are here with Brian.

It's cools, I am happy for all of us that we got our Fix this week, see if we can make it 2 in a row against Manly. 8)

The Godfather

Hey MarkInTheStands,

In keeping with the Life of Brian theme. if we could record a sing that goes "Always look on the dark side of life", please send it to Misty so he can enjoy it after every Parramatta win.

There's just no pleasing some people.

The fact is......Misty is probably right.

Come back in 6 weeks, and see if things have really changed that much.

I hope to god that they do......I just can't see it........yet.

bradeel

no need to be too negative about it though...

i can understand why we shouldn't all be jumping through hoops and i doubt that this win has sent us rocketing into premiership contention but the boys deserved a reward for their efforts and i am very happy that some luck could go our way after 5 very crap weeks in a row.

hopefully we can run with it as a confidence boost and get another one this weekend.

bradeel said:

i can understand why we shouldn't all be jumping through hoops and i doubt that this win has sent us rocketing into premiership contention but the boys deserved a reward for their efforts and i am very happy that some luck could go our way after 5 very crap weeks in a row.

hopefully we can run with it as a confidence boost and get another one this weekend.

I don't think any one is bitter.......just not getting too excited...........as I said.........yet.

Misty Bee

I agree Brad, we'll enjoy it while we can.

Godfather, I think you should re read my opening. Or maybe we should just call you Loretta.

Misty Bee

Godfather, I think you should re read my opening, and then tell me if I was bitter, you dope. Or maybe we should just call you Loretta.

bradeel

Suitman said:
bradeel said:

I don't think any one is bitter.......just not getting too excited...........as I said.........yet.

yeah, i agree with that, bitter was too a little too far on my part and i changed my post accordingly.

i think we are probably all on the same page here.

great win by the boys, more for the spirit shown than the class of football. hopefully we can build on it.

Mate, I wasn't here in 1992, so I haven't got a clue what you're talking about.

What I do know, though, are the following points:

* Anyone remember the win that got Penrith's momentum going? Because I do - a one point win over the Chooks.

* We showed plenty of heart and determination. I mean, Graham makes the intercept, runs, kicks, Newey get the ball. For that entire set of six, Newcastle is unable to get out of their 15 metre zone until they kick it. Why? Because the boys NEVER gave up. And we ended up scoring and winning.

* Our defence has also noticeably lifted.

* Our senior players, although maybe starting the game a little slow, really lifted. I though Wagon had a fantastic game in all aspects; Vella's second half was great and Dykes showed tremendous composure under pressure.

CONCLUSION: It's not always the win which is important, but the WAY you win.

I have heard a million times since Saturday that for a team low on form and confidence that is the hardest way to win.

That in conjunction with the attitude and passion displayed by the 17 men out there leads me to believe we may have turned the corner.

With ten minutes to go when they scored it could well have been the Parramatta that played against the Dragons or the team that turned out on Saturday night. They didn't give in, which was a good show that there is some character in the team that was not evident over recent weeks.

Redback71

i like how in the dieing moments when the kick was put in how vella ran up and made that tackle which kept the knights on the goal line i think that was turning point in our win cause it showed they wernt about to give up.

but next week will tell hopefuly a big crowd will turn up to cheer our boys on cause there gonna need it with no hindy on the feild

Misty Bee

I thought at the time that it could have been a turning point. I recall a very similar game vs Manly at Parra circa (from memory) 2000 where Burty and Ben Kusto put on a length of the fielder in the final minute, and Bury converted from the sideline. I recall that we gained much momentium from that.

I am recitent to allow ny thoughts to venture down that road just yet - lest another Eels collapse sees me back in therapy. Lets just say that I cleaned the chicken noodle off the ceilling in a very happy state. :mrgreen:

The Godfather

Misty Bee said:

Godfather, I think you should re read my opening, and then tell me if I was bitter, you dope. Or maybe we should just call you Loretta.

I've just read the first paragraph

I forgot about the second paragraph
Had temporary amnesia when I reached the third
I've skipped past the fourth paragraph
I've totally ignored the fifth paragraph
I had a dose ADHD when I reached the sixth paragraph,

You really are a joyous and positive person.

stuke

it mightn't have been pretty it might not have been the best display of football ever but it was better than the last 5 weeks. for the team to fight back after half time and then continue on in the last minute of the game showed spirit and passion that had been lacking.

would have been easy for them to walk off at half time and say oh well maybe next week or when gidley went over for the team to think it was alright as they hadn't been flogged. instead they kept at it, got a bit of good luck go their way and got a victory. to see the celebrations immediately after the game and in the sheds put a smile on my face for the rest of the weekend :D .

i don't know if we have turned the corner but at least we have a reason to smile this week. one win is all it takes some times.

Misty Bee

The Godfather said:
Misty Bee said:

And if you stop bagging forum participants about their thoughts, and concentrated on the team, you might be positive just like me ;-)

Misty Bee said:
The Godfather said:
Misty Bee said:

And if you stop bagging forum participants about their thoughts, and concentrated on the team, you might be positive just like me ;-)

and yet, in your thread, you cant help yourself having a go at a decent Parra supporter (eg MITS and his house burning down), a tad hypocritical ?

ah the 92 defeat of GB......my favourite game of all time (third time lucky this week, Kornstar?)

Dunno if that was anywhere near the ball park, but actually had the perfect timing to change ourseason. This week we play Manly, a team in a similar position to us (not playing great footy but with the potential to do so) with a win being important to both teams. They won't be easy beats by any means, but on the same card they won't be as hard as what comes next. A good, mid-card team to work on.

Then we have Brisbane. Top 4, always a threat, good record at Parra. Coming off a SOO game, but nevertheless a genuine struggle. Win that and it's three in a row, a 50% win record for the season, and back into the Top 8 most likely.

*crosses fingers*

The Worm

Avenger said:
That will change next year my friend when we decide to go on our biggest spending spree since we bought the "Canterbury 4."

There aren't a hell of a lot of top line players on the market though.