Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Back to Training for Parra-PJ

Parramatta chief executive Denis Fitzgerald said last night: "We've recruited well and hope to improve our strength and depth. PJ Marsh [another recruit] will play a key role for us at halfback."

Eels players go into a camp on the South Coast next week before resuming full training.

Asked were the players returning too early, Fitzgerald said: "Full-time professionals have got to work fulltime.

"We have had two disappointing seasons, missing the semi-finals, so we are desperate to improve our results for next season."

Daily Telegraph

Maybe it will be PJ at half afterall, still I'd like to see Tim Smith given a shot in the trials. Then again what does Fitzy know anyway.

Fitzy - pffft :roll: ....don't know shit :lol: :lol:

Altho I reckon he might know a bit more than we give him credit for.

may be he has a crystal abll, or may be he thinks he knows what will eventuate next year.

the facts are, the form player should be playing at halfback,

injuries form and other issues may determine who is playing at No 7

Fitzy may think he is god, but he aint

Vella was quick to point out on NRL on Fox earlier in the year that PJ was pretty much in the 7 jersey and I think Brian had something similar too. This sounds like it will be the plan but who knows..... ;-)

thats probably a better sumation Colonel, that Fitzy's comments

Utey

Sounds pretty set doesnt it. I think what will happen is that Marsh and Morris are our halve pairing and then around round 11-12 Smith will come in which will shift Marsh to the bench. I really dont like the idea of Morris going to hooker again when Riddell comes off unless Mateo slots into 5/8 or even Henderson plays the utility role off the bench.

I don't think there was any secret about where they want to play PJ but it's a long time between now and March 11.

fish eel

It was pretty much set from the day his signing was announced.

All the public words coming out of our club, including the announcement of his signing (which referred to him as an established half) all piont to PJ starting the year in the 7.

Unless of course, its the biggest smokescreen eva!

PJ said himself by best posy is at Hooker or coming off the bench.

Brian Smith said 2 weeks ago that: Marsh and Tim Smith were in the running so... who knows.

Utey

Yeah well as long as he gets a shot Iam happy. But Marsh at 7 is a good move by Smith because he has the experience at the top level. Cant wait.

I'm just spit-balling (is that the expresasion?) here, BUT:

I think the reason for all the hush-hush and 'PJ will play halfback' is to shield young Smith from the media and opposition clubs to ease his transition somewhat.

Utey

Well thats a good point as we dont want to burden him, but I think PJ will def have first crack at half just in case he is needed in a later time.

Yes.

I just think it's a little strange saying that a man who hasn't played footy in two years will play the most important position on the field for us.

As far as I'm concerned, both PJ and Tim are gambles, because realistically they are both untried in First Grade (yes, I know PJ played halfback a while back, but it was so long ago).

True EEL

well i have said for weeks i think it will be

6. Morris
7. Marsh

at least to begin with and Vella, Fitzy (twice) and BS have all pointed to Marsh being at halfback, however it is possible that it is a smokescreen for Smith, although don't forget that BS got on his roof with a mega-phone last year about his intentions of having a big pack......

so this might not be any different....gee Smithy your supposed to keep some things a secret mate ;-)

but yeah every one is right, Tim Smith should probably just come in at the most popular pre-determined time in the year of Round 11 (to 12).....????? :roll: ;-)

Jake the snake said:
Our coach specialises in playing players out of position, he loves it.

Yup.

And knowing that, the team for Round 1 will look a little something like this:

1. Hindmarsh
2. Tsoulos
3. Cayless
4. Riddell
5. Morrison
6. Vella
7. Wagon
8. Grothe
9. Burt
10. Widders
11. Graham
12. Tahu
13. McKinnon

14. Marsh
15. Robinson
16. Cannings
17. Stringer

True EEL said:
well i have said for weeks i think it will be

6. Morris
7. Marsh

at least to begin with and Vella, Fitzy (twice) and BS have all pointed to Marsh being at halfback, however it is possible that it is a smokescreen for Smith, although don't forget that BS got on his roof with a mega-phone last year about his intentions of having a big pack......
so this might not be any different....gee Smithy your supposed to keep some things a secret mate ;-)

but yeah every one is right, Tim Smith should probably just come in at the most popular pre-determined time in the year of Round 11 (to 12).....????? :roll: ;-)

Cannings, Tsoulos, Stapleton, Pearson, Vella - looks like a pretty bloody big pack to me.

Pazza

From the same article

Parramatta new buys Mark Riddell, Paul Stringer, Timana Tahu, Henry Perenara and Chad Robinson met yesterday at Eels headquarters to begin preparations for 2005.

I like the commitment shown by the clubs new buys. These guys are leaders and you can tell they want to take parra back up to the top.