Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

backline

mortz

with your team healthy you have tuqiri moltzen ryan daniella ayshford brown tuiaki fitzhenry lawrence benji lui and mckinno.

so where does that leave you guys... what will your backline look like when 100% healthy.

also what will happen to daniella when ayshford comes back. personally i reckon he is sh*t box and couldnt belive you let collis go to keep him.

N.C.

let collis go to keep him?

i think collis signed for cronulla before we signed daniela - but i could be wrong.

as for our backline, with so many injury prone players don't ever expect to have that problem.

Radical Rat

i meant let collis go to keep ayshford

I was a Collis fan, but I reckon as it stands Daniela is in front of Ayshford.

I like Ayshford but he hasn't come on this year as much as I was hoping. He's a bit one dimensional I think.

ShanghaiCharlie

I was a Collis fan, but I reckon as it stands Daniela is in front of Ayshford.

I like Ayshford but he hasn't come on this year as much as I was hoping. He's a bit one dimensional I think.

Incredibly one dimensional. He will go to the back of the scrum at some stage (hopefully not with us) because doesn't give us much out wide.

mortz

i dont think ayshford is much cop... and i was really surprised that collis was let go for this kid. daniella is so much better than ayshford

Collis had to go, for his benefit more than anyone elses.

Sheens was ruining him here.

Same goes for Bronson Harrison.

Our backline at full strength (Minus Moltzen) would probably be

1. McKinnon
2. Tuqiri
3. Daniella
4. Lawrence
5. Tuiaki
6. Marshall
7. Lui

although I believe Tuiaki isn't playing this year either, so replace him with Ryan.

Trollhammaren

Sheens will slot Moltzen into fullback and release McKinnon probably. He sees Lui as our long-term #7, although Moltzen has been great in that position.

gronkathon

Actually watch the defensive combination between Lui & Daniella in the first half of the Dogs game. It is terrible. The only thing that saved them from looking utterly hopeless is a) how bad Canterbury are playing and b) how freaking good Gareth Ellis is.

If Moltzen is our long term fullback we are in a world of trouble

Gus22

Ayshford is pure class & streets ahead of Daniela. Daniela is better suited on the wing. Collis is classy also but went stale at Wests & needed a change of scenery.

Our best IMO:

1. Moltzen
2. Tuqiri
3. Ayshford
4. Lawrence
5. Tuiaki
6. Marshall
7. Lui

hybrid_tiger

I don't see any class about Ayshford, can someone tell me what I'm missing?

He's solid, decent defensively, but he's a meat and potatoes style of player, no class about him.

gronkathon

The players around him are not yet reading his game properly. He creates more offload opportunities than most centres in the comp but rarely is anyone there

He's solid, decent defensively, but he's a meat and potatoes style of player, no class about him.

I use to think the same. I have re-watched some games lately and have a different opinion on him. His defence is good and he has ability in attack.

He actually makes good runs and looks to off-load but has been let down many times this year by the winger out side him.

When Brown came on to the wing in a game Ashford positioned him beautifully. He had made similar runs at least 3 times earlier in the match but was let down by his support players (winger, no points for guessing who).

I thing Ashford could develop into a good player and in him a Lawence we have a strong centre paring for years to come.

Gus22

Just trying to accomodate Lui at half back - he's developing well there, particularly given he's so young. He's actually utilising our backrowers wide running game better than anyone before him. Ellis, Dwyer, & Heighington are busting the line more often than ever thanks to Lui's passing.

Moltzen is more of a runner and has genuine pace, although he also has ball playing ability. He SHOULD be a good fullback with that sort of skill set. It's up to him to take his game to another level. If he hates the position he should suck it up & make the most of it as Moltzen at fullback is the best balance for this team.

I see Moltzen as similar to Darius Boyd. Boyd used to be just a quick winger backing up players but has now taken it upon himself to run the ball back from kicks with great aggression & purpose. Moltzen should take a leaf out of Boyd's book and do likewise. He could be even better than Boyd as I believe he has the better ball playing skills of the two.

Last edited by a moderator:

Gus22

Ayshford busts plenty of tackles and makes heaps of half breaks. He is not the fastest centre going around but is sufficiently quick to play the position. This year his good work has often been wasted as when he has looked to capitilise on his line break he's been let down by his winger having gone wondering in-field pretending to be a Fitz-hooker/Fitz-half back/Fitz-five eighth.

Ayshfords defense is top notch. He's a strong runner and close to the line he is very hard to stop.

If you get a chance watch him closely in the game against Manly at the SFS in 2009 (Monday night win 19-18, from memory). I was worried about him going up against an in-form Matai at the time. As it turned out, he had it all over Matai that night and has play similarly ever since. I actually think that night was a bit of a turning point for him, believing he could compete at NRL level.

I would much rather have Ayshford than Collis, even though I still rate Collis. Before that Manly game I did not feel this way, but now I have no doubts how good Ayshford is and will be.

BALMAINBOY

Spot on with Ayshford Gus22.... i believe Ayshford is a better defensive centre than Lawrence to be honest. Daniela has been good the last few games but i think that if Ayshford was playing in those games he would of scored a hatrick too. In attack Ayshford provides plenty for players inside and outside of him, his work sometimes goes unnoticed.

super_coach

Mate if nothing else Daniela offers pace, we have plenty of skill but nothing much in the way of pace to cash in on the skill. Aysford is a good player, finding it a bit harder in year two (most players do). I think his future is lock and for now i would earmark him for the no14 gig and stack the other three bench positions with gorillas. To win big matches you need speed merchants