Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Balmain V Magpies- the countdown

clives_bootlace said:
innsaneink said:
tigger said:
Lochie said:
Whats the go with Leichardt Wanderers raising Parra supporters?
That was the Juniors not the Wanderers. I am sure he followed Balmain and then gave them away when the merger happened. The ultimate insult is that he chose Parra to support instead of the JV..... alive and kicking :roll:

Yeah Im sure he followed the Tigers with a passion then when he turned 4 in 2000 went over to the eels.....LOL.

He's a little legend that kid....im pretty sure my sons played against that team...he's quick and the backbone of the team....and their coach will tell anyone that will listen that theyre undefeated for 2 years or 30+ games...LOL

SOUTH SYDNEY...JUST TO GOOD!!!!...LOL
Oh.....P!ss off!

yappy

I'll get in before you do Brook.

We stink to high heaven. (in all grades)

Well done Tigers. Played the game about 20% quicker than we did and had us backpeddling most of the game. Lima was the 10? - He smashed us. Your goal kicker sucks almost as much as we do though. You've still got a worry about your defence though. We should never have crossed for 5. At least you forced them all out where even Cov sometimes misses. That's your only concern though - we've got nothing but concerns. :cry:

tigger

:alcho:

Another outstanding victory for the mighty Balmain Tigers
:D

yappy

At least the fact Wests Tigers continue to suck the big one is some consolation ;-)

brook

yappy said:
I'll get in before you do Brook.

We stink to high heaven. (in all grades)

Well done Tigers. Played the game about 20% quicker than we did and had us backpeddling most of the game. Lima was the 10? - He smashed us. Your goal kicker sucks almost as much as we do though. You've still got a worry about your defence though. We should never have crossed for 5. At least you forced them all out where even Cov sometimes misses. That's your only concern though - we've got nothing but concerns. :cry:

I was a bit disapointed with out game across the park to be honest - there were some really stupid errors made and most were below their best

and yes carneys kicking was AWFUL!!, still a win is a win and Lima (the # 10 yes) had probably his best game so far this year and same goes for greally.

Flegg were a step up from last week though still disapointing...both our backrowers were good and I was very happy with the performance of Sammy Wara up from SG Ball

yappy

On a slightly bright note for us was Covell. He kept plugging away, didn't make a mistake and showed a 100% commitment. Got the Maggies game ball and really it's crap the way he's been treated. No he won't score a length of the field try, but really how often do they happen anyway?

He does the simple things well, finished his only try scoring opportunity off well (which is more than could be said for many others), then promptly banged it over from the chalk. Should start calling him Rexona.

oro

Samu Wara had a blinder! Jermaine Alberts a good game again.

Lima, Simpkins and Small must be v/close to WTs selection. How about Simpkins with his ability to step through the ruck; the great off load to Pethybridge for that long distance try!

You have to feel sorry for Liam Fulton with Lima using him as a doormat on at least two occassions!

Well done guys. What was the South Sydney Junior Development Officer doing at the game?

meltiger

brook said:
Lima (the # 10 yes) had probably his best game so far this year

:)

What a sensational weekend :) Richmond spank Collingwood (Go my Tigers :) :)), Balmain spank Wests and Tam ..... (Wait till you find out how this happened (Yes I am still in shock :) lol) & to top it off Jeff played well!

Tammys going to put Friday nights photos on cd for me today .... Wait till you see them, they are the funniest photos in history :)

I was a little drunk (Just a little ;-) ) when we were talking last night .... Did Robbie play for Balmain? If so how'd he go? & how did Pethybridge go?

brook

Robbie played very well - didn't play the full game but played a lot more than he has up to this point and when he was on the field he absolutely tore wests apart.

Pethybridge was.....hard to describe, he did some fantastic things but also stuffed up a few times - not his best game but in the end he got the job done

Once again our entire forward pack was very good, although they lacked the intensity they have had in the last few weeks...still they played as well as they needed to so I can't complain too much.

Greally was top knotch at the back and is slowly starting to inject himself into the attack more which is great. Sammy Wara scored too trys and was good all round up from sg ball (he's the one who scored two trys in one minute against canterbury last year) and ewen cameron (I think it was him playing in # 20 - can anyone confirm?) also held his own, considering both were playing their first flegg game and both would have played for ball on saturday I couldn't ask for much more.

Bronson wasn't as good as he has been - either centres or lock for him I just don't like him in the number 12...he was still good but he's been so much better over the last couple of weeks

meltiger

Robbie is going to be a sensational footballer. Is what Oro saying right? Jeff wouldn't be far off first grade?

I hope they do pick him at some point this year because I'd hate to see him in first grade somewhere else which he will be if Wests don't select him.

yappy

With Cashy injured he sure looks the most likely customer to me. Had a whale of a game yesterday. Really took it up with gusto for the full 80. Also backed it up with quick play the balls and crunching defence. A very big part of the difference between the two sides.

Patto despite what others have said elsewhere didn't have a bad game at all. But he sure doesn't have Lima's impact.

brook

He's cut the stupid mistakes out of his game and you know as well as I do that was always what has been holding him back. I also must say his discipline has improved - he still is as agressive as hell but he no longer seems to do the borderline shots that would have seen him constantly suspended in first grade (PL is a LOT more leniant in that regard)

Plus he's bulked up AGAIN since you last saw him and is a pretty scary sight - I think he's ready...If Gibbs ends up suspended next week he'd have to be the most likely call-up

(I actually do believe jaime small deserves it more but Lima outplayed him yesterday and either one would do the job well)

I think both teams leak a bit too much in defence.

And the Balmain Goal kicker was pretty average. You'll need better than that come the big matches.

brook

Everlovin' Antichrist said:

And the Balmain Goal kicker was pretty average. You'll need better than that come the big matches.

you're not kidding!!

to be fair he's not usually *that* bad but we do lack a top class kicker

I don't know why they didn't give Samia a go - he kicks alright from memory..although they might not have wanted to give too much pressure to him on his first game back

meltiger

brook said:
Everlovin' Antichrist said:

you're not kidding!!

to be fair he's not usually *that* bad but we do lack a top class kicker

I don't know why they didn't give Samia a go - he kicks alright from memory..although they might not have wanted to give too much pressure to him on his first game back

Could always give it to Jeff seeing as he seems to be able to kick from the sideline :)

meltiger

brook said:
He's cut the stupid mistakes out of his game and you know as well as I do that was always what has been holding him back. I also must say his discipline has improved - he still is as agressive as hell but he no longer seems to do the borderline shots that would have seen him constantly suspended in first grade (PL is a LOT more leniant in that regard)

Pfft what was holding him back was the fact that half the time he went for those thundering hits he bloody missed his target!!

tigger

Who needs defence or goal kicking when you are:
(a) playing Western Suburbs
(b) the greatest club in the world
Have one on me :alcho:

It's all you have to live for eh mate?

Good for you, the boys had a win.

Were you the guy behind the Southern Goal posts with the Mullet and the 1969 jersey?

tigger

Didn't go. Too many hobos. I only go to stand alone matches as i take my young fella and i don't like the idea of taking an 11 month old to Campbelltown when there is an NRL match on afterwards.

I'm sure he loves the Footy. :roll:

Give us a yell next time Balmain play at Campbelltown and I'll send a horse and cart for your sorry dinosaur arse. We'll set you up in the Popemobile at the ground so you can feel safe.

You're still a wanker.