Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Barrett tipped to move to Eels

He wont be coming

My concerns with Barrett are that he is a running 5/8th. If we purchased him Mortimer would be our 7. However with Kimmorley, Orford and Cronk, Mortimer would be pushed to 6 where he is best suited.

ianlovesparra

I'd take him in a second, been playing well this year. A good leader and can teach morts heaps. For one year you can't go wrong. Good signing by the club.

Wise Old Eel

"Parramatta CEO Paul Osborne made no secret of his desire to bring Barrett west, but denied he had already put pen to paper when he spoke to the Mercury yesterday.
"He hasn't signed anything yet," Osborne said.
"We're waiting to see if he's going to retire."
It is believed the Eels have quite a bit of money in the salary cap to throw at Barrett after Krisnan Inu, Feleti Mateo and Kris Keating all announced they would be leaving the club at the end of the season.
While Barrett has emerged as the favourite to partner youngster Daniel Mortimer in the halves in 2011, Osborne said the club was still undecided.
"We have three options: Trent Barrett, Brett Kimmorley and Matt Orford," he said.
"I've already spoken to Barrett's manager Wayne Beavis, and I'll be catching up with Orford and Kimmorley's manager George Mimis (today)."
Beavis originally denied having any negotiations with Parramatta, but after it was revealed that the Mercury had already spoken to Osborne, the player manager conceded he had met with the Eels.
"They said they would be interested in Trent but no formal offer has been made," Beavis said.
"I haven't even discussed it with him because he hasn't made up his mind if he's going to retire."
It was understood Cronulla were keen to keep their skipper at the club next season, but were also waiting on his decision to make a play for him.
"I think they would love to keep him," Beavis said.
"I'm sure that once he says he's going to play he'll be open to offers.
"But at this stage there's nothing in front of me."

Who is really doing the recruiting for this team anyway? I have heard nothing from Anderson [at this stage] to say this is what HE wants. Osborne is the problem at his club. It is he that got into a battle with Canterbury over Mortimer & it is he that was behind signing Tahu for way more than he is worth. Now it is Osborne saying HE wants BAZ here to work with Mortimer. Can anyone confirm Anderson gets any say in this??

I think it's good that we have one go-to man for the media. Ossie would be echoing Ando's thoughts I'm sure. No need for Ando to be hounded by the press as well. He has enough on his plate.

fish eel

I think it's good that we have one go-to man for the media. Ossie would be echoing Ando's thoughts I'm sure. No need for Ando to be hounded by the press as well. He has enough on his plate.

x2

as long as Ossie is echoing Anderson it's all good.

Swiftstylez

My preference and what I assume the coach and CEO's preference would be as well:
1. Orford
2. Barrett
3. Kimmorely

We haven't signed Barrett yet because I feel that they would want to try and snare Orford first.

I also feel as if we are going to sign a Storm player to accompany Orford after they disband, with news that they are shedding their entire roster bar the ones that were actually guilty.

Gazzamatta

So Barrett is going to help Mortimer realise his potential? He has done wonders with Tim Smith hasnt he?
So Kimorley will be the Mentor Mortimer needs! The Bulldogs change 5/8s as often as I have hot dinners.
Orford is definately the man. Or is he. Who was the regular 5/8 at Manly while he was there? I certainly cant remember.
Parramatta dont need these Pensioners.
What Parramatta need is one P Sterling getting involved with their halves.
Why the hell hasnt this happened as yet?
Im sure Sterlo would love to be assosciated again unless there is a reason why he wont. And that dont tell me its because of his media committments because I dont buy that for one second. Something smells fishy in the state of Cumberland.

natheel

well barrett himself hasnt come out and denied it yet....which is a good sign i guess. id say we will find out within the next 4-5 day about his decision i rekon.

Barrett i feel would have more success with morts as Morts is more a 5/8 where timmy is an all out 7! The way id have it next year would be either of these 2 combinations

6. Barrett
7. Robson
9. Keating
14. Mortimer with Humble as a replacement during rep or injuries

OR bring humble into it more

6. Mortimer
7. Barrett
9. Robbo
14. Humble

itll be a dilema out of who to really put in out of Keats, Humble and Robson i rekon.

2012 id say we will have an established 7...with Robson leaving and Humble on the bench as a utility back/hooker

and if Barrett does sign i wouldnt be surprised if he stays on another year with us if he has a very good season next year (thats IF he signs with us)

6. mortimer

barney gumble

Yeah a sharkies mate told me about the Barrett rumour a while ago. Would be a great signing I reckon. Can't believe people are knocking the idea, to me it would be a similar deal to when Jason Taylor signed, and that certainly worked for us.

Uncle Leo

to say this is what HE wants. Osborne is the problem at his club. It is he that got into a battle with Canterbury over Mortimer & it is he that was behind signing Tahu for way more than he is worth. Now it is Osborne saying HE wants BAZ here to work with Mortimer. Can anyone confirm Anderson gets any say in this??

Mate, Ossie made it very clear when he arrived as CEO of Football, that this was going to be HIS show. DA & the rest of the staff would be answerable direct to Ossie, whether it be player recruitment or stationery orders. According to Ossie, DA will do as he is told!!

lingard

I think Barrett is the better player of the 3 options. Possibly lean towards kimmorley as the best suited to what our club needs at present; but happy to have Barrett on board.

Agree; but I tell you what - this club better have a half-back recruitment plan beyond next year. If this is just another in a long line of one-year stop-gap measures because we don`t have any other ideas, I will be so pissed off. Parramatta has needed to BUY a good quality half-back in his prime for about three or four years now, and they have just fiddle-arsed around. Maybe they do have a plan. I certainly hope so.

lingard

Happy to have him. He's been playing good footy this year and is a good leader. No doubt that will not stop us shopping for a gun half to come to the club in 2012.

You reckon? Won`t we continue to 'groom' and 'be patient with' Mortimer? :roll: You know what`s going to happen? Parramatta will continue to use Tom Humble as a replacement utility player, which will give him exposure to first grade, and then he`ll be snapped up cheaply by some other club and become an absolute star five-eight. But we`ll still have Mortimer and someone like Barrett or some young half in Toyota Cup with 'loads of potential' who`ll either not perform in first grade or will be snapped up by Manly and become a star. I hate this club`s recruitment ineptness.