Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Battrick

JTR

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan said:
hmmmmm question of advice maybe to a few guys better than me. i have on average 200 000 sitting in my funds which really doesnt change. so theres batsman with ratings of strong out there. the one at the moment im lookign at is at 110 000, should i buy one of them? I mean I dont have a star batter like this, and its not like im using the money...

You'd be very lucky to get a decent proficient for 200k, let alone a strong.

If I were you I'd save your money, and get up to the max interest level (1.6 million) asap. Get there and you'll receive 80k a week interest. If you're in a lower division that should see you making a profit on away game weeks.

Quickest way to get to 1.6 million is to do a bit of skill trading. Buy a 17yo competent at the start of the season. Slap 3 primary nets on him and by seasons end he'll be strong. Sell him. 17yo strongs go for plenty so you'll have a nice fat bank balance super quick.

Once you get to 1.6 millon, make that your zero. Then you can spend money on whatever you like. It isn't working for you after reaching the max interest level, so there's no point sitting on it, just make sure you dont go below the new $0.

The first lot of spare cash you'd get I'd recommend spending on a stadium upgrade. Best investment you can make in the game. At the very least, make sure you get your seating in correct proportions. Leaving sections with no seats, or having incorrect proportions = guaranteed loss of $.

Then, start thinking about buying in some players. :cool:

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan

Johnny the Red said:
You'd be very lucky to get a decent proficient for 200k, let alone a strong.

If I were you I'd save your money, and get up to the max interest level (1.6 million) asap. Get there and you'll receive 80k a week interest. If you're in a lower division that should see you making a profit on away game weeks.

Quickest way to get to 1.6 million is to do a bit of skill trading. Buy a 17yo competent at the start of the season. Slap 3 primary nets on him and by seasons end he'll be strong. Sell him. 17yo strongs go for plenty so you'll have a nice fat bank balance super quick.

Once you get to 1.6 millon, make that your zero. Then you can spend money on whatever you like. It isn't working for you after reaching the max interest level, so there's no point sitting on it, just make sure you dont go below the new $0.

The first lot of spare cash you'd get I'd recommend spending on a stadium upgrade. Best investment you can make in the game. At the very least, make sure you get your seating in correct proportions. Leaving sections with no seats, or having incorrect proportions = guaranteed loss of $.

Then, start thinking about buying in some players. :cool:

Yeah the games a deadset stitch up! Here I was thinking 2 minutes to bid its on $110 000 ill get him here. But I didnt realise if you keep bidding it adds time to the auction. Ended up going for 220 000 or somthing and I stopped watching. Dead set wind up!

Ive signed a few 17 year olds and have them training all though its doing sweet f**k all (probably cause its only been two weeks). I havent done anything to my stadium yet....not pulling the crowds yet. My bank generally just sits around the $200 000 mark though.. it doesnt really get much higher. Any thoughts on that?

willvillain

Haha, that bidding thing is spot on. I remember thinking it was going to be like eBay. Like, if you time it well, then you get the player cheap. But it didn't bloody work that way! Very annoying.

JTR

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan said:
I havent done anything to my stadium yet....not pulling the crowds yet
If you haven't done an upgrade yet, then you'll have sections with no seats at all.
Those seats would have bums on them if the seats were there cause the crowds always turn up in the same proportions.

If you dont know, they are:
Members - 4%
Covered - 11%
Uncovered - 40%
Standing - 45%

As I mentioned earlier, leaving any section empty is a guaranteed loss of $ each game.

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan said:
My bank generally just sits around the $200 000 mark though.. it doesnt really get much higher. Any thoughts on that?
Well, I'm certainly not the most financially 'efficient' Battricker going around, but here are a few things off the top of my head...

Ways to make money:
- interest
- gate recepits
- sponsorship money
- FC subsidy
- player sales

You can control the first two yourself, by saving your $, and ensuring there are enough seats for the fans that want to come.

Sponsorship money is mainly determined by the number of members you have, so that will gradually increase over time.

The FC subsidy is guaranteed.

Player sales you have to try and be a bit smart with. My strategy early on was to sell my best two players cause ones with similar skills were going for a fair bit on the market. Short term loss is that you'll probably lose several games. Long term gain is that with the money from sales in the bank you'll get more interest. This interest you can then use to buy in replacements.

Ways lo lose money:
- ground maintenance
- player salaries
- staff costs
- youth academy
- player purchases

Your ground maintenance shouldn't be too high at this point, nor should players salaries if you're a reasonably new team.

Staff cost can be big if you're not carefull. Dont go overboard with these, only get what you afford, and dont chop and chage too much, particularly with coaches. Each time you fire a coach it'll cost you $2500 (severance pay), and when you rehire another one it'll cost another $2500. So, $5000 in all to (for example), fire a bowling coach & hire a batting coach.

The youth academy I would avoid early on. If you're not making money cause you're investing in ITS, or making academy repairs, then dont! Just leave that for a while and wait till your turning over a healthy profit.

Player purchases. Well, self explanatory really. Dont buy if you dont need to. When you do, make sure you do a bit of research first on the players worth and dont pay above it. Avoid bidding wars at all costs, unless when it's all done you'll still have a bargain.

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan

Cheers for all the help.

Ive lost out in a few areas, hired and fired a few unneccessary coaches. Dumb dumb dumb.

I will look into ground expansion, i didnt know about that cheers mate.

In other news the Bears are on fire early in there battrick affair. In the battle for last place Dhirenda Malik has ripped through in his first over to claim two wickets. The Yellow Aussies in massive trouble at 2\0

Another solid start for the Tassie Devils - 0-110 in the over. All Purpose has been my nemesis team since I started 3 seasons ago and it would be nice to score a win over them. Won't count my chickens just yet though as his top order are tough to dispose of.

_goParra

Best batting performance ever by the Hyd Blues. 327/7 in 50 overs with 4 50's. Lets hop my bowlers defend the total for my 1st league win.

willvillain

Not the best performance by the Stylers today.

All out for 238 on a road, only Bishop (a bowler...25 runs), Raven (35) and St Hubbins (66) really troubled the scorers.

Pricey's XI are chasing it down pretty comfortably. 4/194 after 37 overs. Need a hattrick pretty soon to stay in this one.

greenos

A good peformance by the Wagga Wagga Crocs. I batted first and it looks like I have the win.

End of Over 42: 216-7, runrate=5.14, reqrunrate=13.25 (321-5)

willvillain

Holy jeberus H f**king CHRIST. What a win.

Not long after I asked for a hattrick.....it nearly arrived. They got to 4/213. Big Greg Mellor comes back into the attack, by the end of the over he is on a hattrick and they are 6/213. Two balls later and Thay has picked up another one. 7/214. Dare I dream? Not just yet, not just yet...

2nd ball of the next over (Mellor missed out on the hattrick), and there is a brain explosion!

Botes cuts the ball hard just behind the point fielder and takes off for a quick run, but his partner hasn't moved! Both batsmen are stranded at the non-striker's end as Yorke takes off the bails. Bad calling there.

8/217! The dream is alive and well!

But no...they still have their reliable middle order batsman who is plugging along on his way to a well-deserved 50. Suddenly, it's 8/228 and they need only ten runs to win. Last roll of the dice. Bring back Blackstock. It's my only option. Try and picture it guys. It's all on the line. First ball....Blackstock swings it back into the pads WICKET!!! 9/228. Can it get any closer? Apparently yes! Their #11 Vadiveloo showed far too much flair for my liking, picking off singles for the rest of the over...rotating the strike, you know how it is.

Blackstock finishes his over. Mellor finishes his over. No luck. You can feel the win slipping from your fingers. Blackstock winds up for the first ball of his 9th over....and HE'S GOT HIM! CAUGHT BEHIND.

Clasic victory. A real turning point in the life of the Stylers. The first time I've played an opponent who has actually won a few games, and was proper stiff competition.

Thanks for supporting me along the way guys. MoM was Stevie St Hubbins for his solid 66 which set up the win.

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan

Its been a historic day for teams of League Unlimited.

The Bears cruised to their First ever win, moving the sponsors attitude from depleted to ecstatic.

After they were 3\213, The Bears rolled the Aussies for 235 and had little trouble chasing it down 3 down with all batsman chiming in.

This is the start of the Bears Resurgence. A New grandstand, a new culture, a new era.

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan

willvillain said:
Holy jeberus H f**king CHRIST. What a win.

Not long after I asked for a hattrick.....it nearly arrived. They got to 4/213. Big Greg Mellor comes back into the attack, by the end of the over he is on a hattrick and they are 6/213. Two balls later and Thay has picked up another one. 7/214. Dare I dream? Not just yet, not just yet...

2nd ball of the next over (Mellor missed out on the hattrick), and there is a brain explosion!

8/217! The dream is alive and well!

But no...they still have their reliable middle order batsman who is plugging along on his way to a well-deserved 50. Suddenly, it's 8/228 and they need only ten runs to win. Last roll of the dice. Bring back Blackstock. It's my only option. Try and picture it guys. It's all on the line. First ball....Blackstock swings it back into the pads WICKET!!! 9/228. Can it get any closer? Apparently yes! Their #11 Vadiveloo showed far too much flair for my liking, picking off singles for the rest of the over...rotating the strike, you know how it is.

Blackstock finishes his over. Mellor finishes his over. No luck. You can feel the win slipping from your fingers. Blackstock winds up for the first ball of his 9th over....and HE'S GOT HIM! CAUGHT BEHIND.

Clasic victory. A real turning point in the life of the Stylers. The first time I've played an opponent who has actually won a few games, and was proper stiff competition.

Thanks for supporting me along the way guys. MoM was Stevie St Hubbins for his solid 66 which set up the win.

That was emotional.
I felt like i was there

Big_Bad_Shark_Fan

playing big mick today
think im in some trouble
didnt realise he was underfeated in his league
my 1 match streak is heading down the drain.
the dream is over

greenos

I am playing Big Swings, No Dings who are in the same division but in a very hard league. They are coming 5th in theirs while im coming 2nd in mine. There squad is heaps better then mine and they will flog me. After the 10th over i am 47-3 on a flat pitch.

Big Mick

1/221 after 36 overs

Wilks the man out for 105

Palmer 90*
Talbot 15*

Run Rate 6.14

Hoping for 320+