Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

BBL commentators and f**king AFL

Why is Channel 10's commentary team so Victorian orientated??

The 2UE/Macquarie radio coverage is the same.

Can't see to get through a few overs without a f**king AFL reference.

Since when did a catch become a f**king chest mark???

might have to post this here as well

[youtube]BhzUPxRMyPQ[/youtube]

AJB1102

Its a bit much hey. I can cop the odd reference, but they get more plugs in for the AFL than they do the BBL sponsors.

Punter called a catch the other night a "chest mark in the forward pocket" or some shit - doesn't cricket have enough of its own names for field positions?

Flog ball fans are the most tedious, boring and deluded in the country. Every chance they get they peddle their shit.

that Mark Howard idiot even called the Cricket Australia Live Pass app the AFL Live Pass

Flemming can't get through a game without mentioning Hawthorn

10's commentators are for worse than 9's imo

every cricket show 9 have seems to have some AFL wanker on it

home of Rugby League my arse

I find the ads for "im a celebrity get me out of here " annoying as hell.

I don't mind the afl talk in t20, as long as it is kept in t20..

mozza91

every cricket show 9 have seems to have some AFL wanker on it

home of Rugby League my arse

This is what shits me the most. The big bash has a bunch of Victorians who can't help but talk about flogball (although Junior will occasionally give RL a mention which is always greeted with silence).

Channel 9 has more New South Welshman and a Queenslander yet they are constantly referencing AFL and having players as guests when they cover a sport which is its direct rival and gets them their best ratings. Someone from the NRL should get up them for constantly promoting another code.

undertaker

Channel 9 has more New South Welshman and a Queenslander yet they are constantly referencing AFL and having players as guests when they cover a sport which is its direct rival and gets them their best ratings. Someone from the NRL should get up them for constantly promoting another code.

Yeah, I saw during the Cricket Show that Mark Taylor was interviewing Campbell Brown. Is this the same Campbell Brown who bashed his own team-mate during an off-season team holiday and was then sacked by the Thuns after a series of on-field suspensions for being a grub, but then somehow gets rewarded by Ch9 et al. giving him free tickets to last year's Lord's Ashes test (even allowed on the field with the other commentators pre-game), and then appearing as a permanent panellist on The Verdict?

The bottom line: Act like a grub, and Ch9 gives you a job.

Yeah, I saw during the Cricket Show that Mark Taylor was interviewing Campbell Brown. Is this the same Campbell Brown who bashed his own team-mate during an off-season team holiday and was then sacked by the Thuns after a series of on-field suspensions for being a grub, but then somehow gets rewarded by Ch9 et al. giving him free tickets to last year's Lord's Ashes test (even allowed on the field with the other commentators pre-game), and then appearing as a permanent panellist on The Verdict?

The bottom line: Act like a grub, and Ch9 gives you a job.
Look at that Turd burglar Cam Williams gets sacked from Fox for being a grub but Nine where only to happy to pick him up. Another qlder who can't stop talking about Fumbleball. And he somehow gets a gig presenting RL :crazy:

Timbo

I find it particularly strange given Ten have the rights to rugby union - you'd think they'd be giving their commentators directives to promote the sport they have?

They had a couple of the Waratahs guys on before the Sixers game the other night and it took them approximately 0.5 seconds to move from rugby to AFL (by saying 'yes, it'll be footy season soon - excited about the Hawks, Flem?').

It really confuses me why they let them go on like they do.

The two ball by ball BBL commentators are Victorians.

The ball by ball commentators for Aussie matches on Macquarie Radio are also Victorians.

Shits me to tears.

Eelectrica

It'd make sense if the 10 still had broadcast rights to AFL, but so far as I'm aware they don't.
Gets tedious though

The corporate HQ is Pyrmont, Sydney, but they hire Victorians.

That said I usually do not have sound when I watch cricket.

Victorians are the exact reason why.