Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ben Hunt requests release from the Drags

All the Dragons have done is continue & entrench the unstable environment there , its a cluster f**k.
unless they have a plan other then just holding him to his contract then its the wrong call..
You consider it a clusterphark & the wrong call that a club wouldn’t release their best player to a club who’s vying for a premiership for a third of the season.
Piss Off Lord Sugar GIF by Celebrity Apprentice Australia

I think he will be released from the end of 2023, that is 100% the correct move.

Vibing

C'mon, be fair. This BS isn't of the Dragon's making. All the clowns in this situation are external to StGI + Hunt. They can sit in their own mess now.
The club is ultimately responsible for its present state its in , this Hunt situation is just a symptom of the deep problems caused by a litany of mistakes its made since Bennett left.

I believe this is another one

Mojo

Yeah there's no way the continued incompetence of the board has anything to do with it right?

They'd love the fact that Hunt is being blamed solely for this tbh.
Fair dinkum! They just can't win can they!
IMO, Hunt's an overrated muppet and I can't wait to see the back of him.
We're not going to pay him millions and then let him give us the middle finger though.

Mojo

When a player gets moved on he agrees to that move. The player can, and is entirely within his legal right to say no. I want to honour my contract (that may be playing in KOE Cup). This oh the poor player gets moved along is complete bullshit. Just like the clubs can say no mate we think you should honour your contract & no release is granted. The player can do exactly the same.
Of course. I agree with you.

Dragons have been helping Broncos win premierships since '92.
If we let merkin go to Brisbane and they win the comp it'll be the closest thing we'll have to success in '23. I'm happy for him to leave if he doesn't want to be here. The sooner he goes the sooner his spot can be taken by someone who wants it.

..or, they get to the grand final, and he fumbles again

Mojo

The club is ultimately responsible for its present state its in , this Hunt situation is just a symptom of the deep problems caused by a litany of mistakes its made since Bennett left.

The mistakes were: paying massive money to him in the first place, renewing his contract, employing his hopeless preference as coach, extending that nob end's contract, and recruiting his satellites of busted old bludger mates. This time they've got it right, except they should also strip him of the captaincy and piss him out of 1st grade until we get decent recompense in the process of disposing of his services altogether.

SBD82

The club is absolutely responsible for the state that it’s in. The worst decision they made (and it’s a strong field) was to pay elite money for a precious little merkin like Hunt, and then make him the captain.

Now that we’re in a situation where he wants out, we’re much better off using his contract as a bargaining chip to try to improve our roster, rather than just raising the white flag and letting him walk.

Honestly, does anyone actually think he’s going to be with us next year? He’s gone. The rest is just details, and the club would be doubling down on its shitf**kery if it didn’t try to get something in return for letting him go.

Vibing

The club is absolutely responsible for the state that it’s in. The worst decision they made (and it’s a strong field) was to pay elite money for a precious little merkin like Hunt, and then make him the captain.

Now that we’re in a situation where he wants out, we’re much better off using his contract as a bargaining chip to try to improve our roster, rather than just raising the white flag and letting him walk.

Honestly, does anyone actually think he’s going to be with us next year? He’s gone. The rest is just details, and the club would be doubling down on its shitf**kery if it didn’t try to get something in return for letting him go.
I did say they have to have a plan to benefit from his leaving not just hold him to his contract , I'd suggest while not saying it today , the Dragons will do exactly that & it needs to be more then just financial compensation , as its been reported the Dragons don't need the $$ , they're flush ATM

SBD82

I did say they have to have a plan to benefit from his leaving not just hold him to his contract , I'd suggest while not saying it today , the Dragons will do exactly that & it needs to be more then just financial compensation , as its been reported the Dragons don't need the $$ , they're flush ATM
All the Dragons have done is continue & entrench the unstable environment there , its a cluster f**k.
unless they have a plan other then just holding him to his contract then its the wrong call..
This you?

Sorry mate. It’s so hard to keep up with all the people making new accounts.

JamesRustle

Maybe. But that flow on isn’t happening now.

We aren’t buying anyone of quality this year. He has a contract for two more years. We can release him from those two years and let the little sook play reserve grade for the rest of this year without losing anything. This year is shot anyway.
Spot on.

Release him now, get a few bucks and nothing else, other than management losing more credibility.

Put him at 14 for rest of season and negotiate release terms with destination club.

some11

their best player
Is ben really the dragons best player?

All I see is everyone calling him a f**kstick loser shitstain who can't kick a ball to save his life. He's had exactly two seasons at the Dragons with a win rate above 50%

Shit player on huge money. Just get rid of him

Mojo

Is ben really the dragons best player?

All I see is everyone calling him a f**kstick loser shitstain who can't kick a ball to save his life. He's had exactly two seasons at the Dragons with a win rate above 50%

Shit player on huge money. Just get rid of him
Being the 'best' isn't a thing - it's a team sport. In that context, IMO, he's close to our worst. He's now proving this to be true.

Tweed Titan

You summed up the situation perfectly

Tweed Titan

Spot on.

Release him now, get a few bucks and nothing else, other than management losing more credibility.

Put him at 14 for rest of season and negotiate release terms with destination club.
If his motives are genuine big money Ben might even become willing to put his hand in his own pocket a bit if the Dragons cease relentlessly cucking to his every demand and play him at hooker, 14 or NSW Cup.

At the moment he's still firmly in the wanting to have his cake and eat it too camp.