Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji Marshall ?

18to87

Back on benji, the longer this drags the more he'll be a shark. We are so bad at the negotiation table perhaps that's what is hurting us. Perhaps also the fact he will need to commute to the gong. That's hardly a selling point for someone living in Sydney

Dugan took forever from the point of strong rumour to actually signing the dotted line. Seems to me that the Dragons have a lengthy contract writing process.

Twenty10

Have a look at his column in the Sun Herald tomorrow, hope it is printed in Red and White.

Are you referring to benjis column?

A lot of mail found around tht those closest to him have suggested he's now preferring the sharks. Also Doust has been very difficult during negotiations due to his hate of benjis manager. Benji is very close to tauber and this could break any deal.

nrlnrl

Dugan took forever from the point of strong rumour to actually signing the dotted line. Seems to me that the Dragons have a lengthy contract writing process.

that delay was caused by NRL having to approve the deal

nrlnrl

A lot of mail found around tht those closest to him have suggested he's now preferring the sharks. Also Doust has been very difficult during negotiations due to his hate of benjis manager. Benji is very close to tauber and this could break any deal.

yeah, reckon you've nailed it. Sharks were the preference all along.

Despite Wayne BEavis helping out with negotiations with the Dragons, the long term plan might've been to draw it out until other clubs were interested. Storm were out of it quickly when they only offered a contract for the rest of the season & then Dragons thought they'd jump in late. The manager would've recognised it as a chance to crank up the price & mess with the Dragons.

Another part that could be a worry, what does the Benji saga do to the fringe halves ? Would they start to look elsewhere ? The curse of the Dragons halfbacks continues.

blacksafake

If or when he does sign I hope the announcement is made by he club.Benji is supposed to be on t he footy show next week & I hope that he is not there to announce his signing as imo it will just show that HE is running the show/circus not the club.

Highland Saint

yeah, reckon you've nailed it. Sharks were the preference all along.

Despite Wayne BEavis helping out with negotiations with the Dragons, the long term plan might've been to draw it out until other clubs were interested. Storm were out of it quickly when they only offered a contract for the rest of the season & then Dragons thought they'd jump in late. The manager would've recognised it as a chance to crank up the price & mess with the Dragons.

Another part that could be a worry, what does the Benji saga do to the fringe halves ? Would they start to look elsewhere ? The curse of the Dragons halfbacks continues.

And raises the question of will Benji be part of winning a premiership in the next 2 and a half years or is he just going to block Williams or another half from building a long term team combination. To be honest the team as a whole needs to improve because based on our performances against competition leaders we might sneak into the 8 but I think we'd be eliminated straight away.
Long story short Benji may be a piece of the puzzle but he alone is not the solution

Back on benji, the longer this drags the more he'll be a shark. We are so bad at the negotiation table perhaps that's what is hurting us. Perhaps also the fact he will need to commute to the gong. That's hardly a selling point for someone living in Sydney
yeah but the duges lives in cronulla so they could car pool:D

grouch

Unbelievable back flip. Club has kept this massively quiet. He's coming. Sorry for the mixed mail but dead set cluB official said NO today. Now hearing it's all on. I give up.

How about you just keep quiet. You're embarrassing yourself. Better to remain silent and be thought a fool... etc etc

You think you guys have some dickheads I
Running your joint.

That is one of our Board members!

Now there's a completely brain dead move for you. Makes Doust look like a genius

The other is a player

Ace-STi

Darren McConnell - Australia | LinkedIn
au.linkedin.com/in/darrenmcconnell
Sydney Area, Australia - ‎Owner Career Corporation
View Darren McConnell's (Australia) professional profile on LinkedIn. LinkedIn is ... Director at Cronulla Sharks Football Club; Owner at Career Corporation. Past.

Works for cronulla - board of directors

nrlnrl

You think you guys have some dickheads I
Running your joint.

That is one of our Board members!

Now there's a completely brain dead move for you. Makes Doust look like a genius

The other is a player

are they legit Twitter accounts ?

Anyway, here's what's in the SundayTelegraph :

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...s-playing-future/story-fni3fbgz-1226904394107

D-day for Benji Marhsall and two NRL clubs as he determines his playing future
DAVID RICCIO CHIEF SPORTS WRITER THE DAILY TELEGRAPH MAY 04, 2014 12:00AM

THE target of Cronulla and St George Illawarra, Benji Marhsall is expected to determine his future within the next 48 hours, ironically as the Sharks current five-eighth Todd Carney, prepares to get his own immediate playing future sorted.

Yet to receive a formal offer from the Dragons, Marshall will wait until tomorrow before deciding whether to wait for an official offer or instead, accept the two and-a-half year deal to join the Sharks.

As late as Saturday afternoon, no formal offer from the Dragons had been forthcoming to Marshall’s agent Martin Tauber or leading player manager Wayne Beavis, who is assisting with the negotiations.

are they legit Twitter accounts ?

Anyway, here's what's in the SundayTelegraph :

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...s-playing-future/story-fni3fbgz-1226904394107

D-day for Benji Marhsall and two NRL clubs as he determines his playing future
DAVID RICCIO CHIEF SPORTS WRITER THE DAILY TELEGRAPH MAY 04, 2014 12:00AM

THE target of Cronulla and St George Illawarra, Benji Marhsall is expected to determine his future within the next 48 hours, ironically as the Sharks current five-eighth Todd Carney, prepares to get his own immediate playing future sorted.

Yet to receive a formal offer from the Dragons, Marshall will wait until tomorrow before deciding whether to wait for an official offer or instead, accept the two and-a-half year deal to join the Sharks.

As late as Saturday afternoon, no formal offer from the Dragons had been forthcoming to Marshall?s agent Martin Tauber or leading player manager Wayne Beavis, who is assisting with the negotiations.

Yes mate. They are real.

Oh dear, a few in here won't like that last paragraph.