Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benny 'trapdoor' Roberts...

True EEL

well you wanted a nickname for him.....Terry Kennedy from Big Sports Breakfast was just on the Footy Show, discussing innovations for the game in the 5 In the Bin segment, and suggested that a trapdoor could be placed on the field for performances like Benny Roberts on the weekend for the Eels.....Kennedy went on to elaborate by saying Kearney could just press a button and drop him through the trapdoor :lol: Slats suggested that Roberts wanted to drop himself through the trapdoor, and Sterlo suggested just the old fashioned Hook should have just reached out and got him :lol:

ahh, funny, funny, funny and sadly for Roberts and the Eels, far too relevant and justifiable stuff from the boys on the Footy Show.....hmmm, so Hook, or trapdoor....for mine its got to be trapdoor :cool:

Craig Johnston

i said from the start of the season that ben roberts is not the saviour for our club and he won't be starting 5/8th by the end of the season, his best position is 14.

he hasn't gone that bad, and the only people making him out to be a scapegoat now are the one's who bought into him being better than they thought

True EEL

He's been our best player all year dipstick. I hope Maccas closes soon.

If you truly believe the statement you made above that is Bolded, then you are either: (a) so blindly one-eyed about Parramatta and ANY player that plays for us that you need serious psychological help, (b) know absolutely nothing about football and haven't watched a game all year, (c) Benny himself, (d) all of the above

I'm guessing this thread will be about 12 pages long by the end of the week. Probably 8 of those pages due to True Eel and Suity battling one another.

True EEL

i said from the start of the season that ben roberts is not the saviour for our club and he won't be starting 5/8th by the end of the season, his best position is 14.

he hasn't gone that bad, and the only people making him out to be a scapegoat now are the one's who bought into him being better than they thought

I strongly voiced my opinions on Roberts on these forums LAST YEAR when we were sniffing him out and then *sigh* signed him, that he was mistake-prone, a current NSW Cup player and one of the most over-rated and consistently, inconsistent players in the NRL.....I NEVER bought into him being better than he was or god forbid any sort of saviour for our club :crazy:

I always thought it was a bad move, horrible move......

True EEL

I'm guessing this thread will be about 12 pages long by the end of the week. Probably 8 of those pages due to True Eel and Suity battling one another.

No mate. Won't get that from me on this one. I simply stumbled across this snipit on the Footy Show just now and thought it was too priceless to not share with some of the elevated Rugby League minds on here who constantly say things like Ben Roberts has been our best and most creative player all year :roll: and seem happy to blindly support him and shout myself and others down when critical of him as a player, or his often inept performances....

Just thought they might want to hear opinions from someone other than a Maccas-eating, Free WiFi-abusing 'nuffy' like me, who knows nothing about football ;-) :lol:

Craig Johnston

I strongly voiced my opinions on Roberts on these forums LAST YEAR when we were sniffing him out and then *sigh* signed him, that he was mistake-prone, a current NSW Cup player and one of the most over-rated and consistently, inconsistent players in the NRL.....I NEVER bought into him being better than he was or god forbid any sort of saviour for our club :crazy:

I always thought it was a bad move, horrible move......

he's no mug, he can win a game, he's proven that with 1 very successful season at the dogs, and he's won our only 2 points against manly, but his best position is impact off the bench WHEN you need it

mickdo

If you truly believe the statement you made above that is Bolded, then you are either: (a) so blindly one-eyed about Parramatta and ANY player that plays for us that you need serious psychological help, (b) know absolutely nothing about football and haven't watched a game all year, (c) Benny himself, (d) all of the above

(e) TE is a moron

Y2Eel

He has been the best attacking player for us this year but is that enough to cover for his poor defense?

True EEL

he's no mug, he can win a game, he's proven that with 1 very successful season at the dogs, and he's won our only 2 points against manly, but his best position is impact off the bench WHEN you need it

No, he's not a complete mug. He is capable of either solid games, or the occasional flash of brilliance. But we are going nowhere with him as one of our key playmakers...and I agree shifting him to another position where he can run the ball more often than pass or create for others would be more useful for the TEAM. Possibly off the bench - where I reckon he may play from this weekend - might work...

True EEL

He has been the best attacking player for us this year but is that enough to cover for his poor defense?

No, he hasn't. He had one good game v Manly and was OK in a couple of others. Where was he when Sandow was either scoring tries or setting them up early in the year and where was he when Hayne, McGuire (shock) and even 2nd-gamer Matt Ryan laid on points v Tigers?! And to answer your question, no, His poor attacking game is most certainly not enough to cover his poor defence. Not a good combo.

Y2Eel

No, he hasn't. He had one good game v Manly and was OK in a couple of others. Where was he when Sandow was either scoring tries or setting them up early in the year and where was he when Hayne, McGuire (shock) and even 2nd-gamer Matt Ryan laid on points v Tigers?! And to answer your question, no, His poor attacking game is most certainly not enough to cover his poor defence. Not a good combo.

When was Sandow setting tries up?

We all know what Hayne can do BTW

mickdo

He has only missed 16 tackles in 8 games. Hasn't been brilliant in defence, but certainly hasn't had a shocker either.

Oh, and 5 of those 16 missed tackles came last week against the Tigers when we all acknowledge he had a bad game.

boxhead

You complete moron, it's only twats like you that have been on his arse all year that see these suppossed disappointing performances.
Case in point; when he wins us the Manly game and has been a standout in Hayne's absence, you do your best to deflate positive critics, but when he has one bad performance you jump on it and gloat at your fellow fans for pointing out his good form this season.

You are a complete wanker and you should stop telling others to see past their bias, hypocrite.
Support your players or stop bothering everyone with your pedantic assertions.

He has only missed 11 tackles in 8 games. Hasn't been brilliant in defence, but certainly hasn't had a shocker either.

Unfortunately at least 4 of those 11 missed tackles have been simple one on one misses, which directly led to tries. So while he hasn't missed that many, the ones he has missed have been crucial misses.

mickdo

Unfortunately at least 4 of those 11 missed tackles have been simple one on one misses, which directly led to tries. So while he hasn't missed that many, the ones he has missed have been crucial misses.

Missed my edit, it was 16 (I hadn't included the 5 against the Tigers). No question though, he hasn't been a star defender. Nobody here has been pretending that he is. But he is nowhere near as bad as some people are trying to make out from one bad game. And in attack he has been our best. Sadly, those who decided they didn't like him before he came here are going to bag him at every opportunity. The creator of this thread being no exception.