Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Best player to never play at Origin/Test level

gronkathon

Presto, Skandalis & Orford

I get the feeling Pat Richards would have gotten a run if he didn't go to SL in '06

firechild

Robertson should have been given a shot on the wing for NSW and should have played for Australia in the 2008 world cup ahead of Williams. Orford was picked a few times and missed out due to injury.

anjado

Cambpell has never looked Origin quality tbh, besides 2005. Peachey was a great player and was unlucky, but we've had some top fullbacks over the years. Backlock definitely should have been there.

I reckon it's stupid when people think the NSW selectors are racists, though. Idris got picked for NSW when you could even argue he shouldn't of. Learoyd-Lahrs, Tahu and Bird also have aboriginal heritage, then you've got some of the pacific island players like Uate and Jennings playing for NSW.

Campbell not origin quality says who ? He played brilliantly in the 2003 Grand Final which is comparable to Origin he was player of the year in 2001 was basically outstanding from 2003 until last season. Matt Bowen proved he was an origin player and Campbell was every bit as good.

These players have been relatively new picks at a time when NSW are very desperate. Picking Ainscough over Blacklock just made no sense at all nobody thought Ainscough was a superior player than Blacklock.It didn't help they played for the same club which made it blatantly more obvious.

I have to say Origin player is the biggest myth in the game i remember Ryan Girdler not being picked for years because he wasn't an Origin player he gets picked and breaks numerous records. Guys like Adam Mogg i am sure weren't considered Origin players before they were actually given a chance.

Blacklock's continued omission was offensive. Especially when you consider that he was consistently overlooked for the likes of Jason Moodie and Jamie Ainscough - both average first graders.

Whereas on the other hand one could easily argue that Nathan Blacklock is the best NSW-born winger since Eric Grothe Sr.

Pretty sure Ainscough was named STI's best player in that GF year.

Ainscough was better than average.

Not better than the electric Tingha, but to call him average is off the mark.

Canard

I hate Mundine, but the non selections of Campbell,Blacklock and Peachey for many years was ridiculous. Mundine was wrong because it was all about him he played more origin games than those 3 combined but was probably less deserving.

They constantly made excuses he is too small etc, yet were being carved up by Matt Bowen.

Ricky Walford never played as many Origin's as he should have also.

SpaceMonkey

A lot of Kiwi players.

Nah pretty much every decent Kiwi who's stayed in the NRL has played at test level. There's a few who went to the UK who never got a test guernsey that were deserving though, Iafeta Paaleaesina is one who springs to mind, was awesome in his last year at the Warriors but went to Wigan before he could earn test honours.

RABK

As a Knights fan i thought Matt Parsons should have played Origin. A 200cm 120kg front rower who averaged 160m every week. Very underated.

Cherry Mescia was a tough little bastard who played some great footy for a rubbish magpies side. I thought he could have deserved a shot.

Simon Bonetti is another though Buderus was at his peak then.

natheel

Hey Presto and Tingha were too small for Origin... apparently.

@natheel: I thought Morrison did get a game for NSW at some point?

I agree about Matt Orford. Ridiculous he never got picked.

don't think so, i know he played for Country, and was in contention for NSW but never got there

betcats

De Gois?

Cmon he is a solid FG hooker, maybe above average. He shouldnt feel to hard done by imo.

Preston is a special player, but in his prime he was up against Fittler and Johns for a halves gig, with Noddy and Barrett as backups. Similarly, a glut of fullbacks dating from Brasher to Hayne including Mullins, Minichiello, Hodgeson, Stewart, plus the obscure man-love Bellamy has for Kurt Gidley went a long way to keeping the likes of Campbell, Peachey and Patten out. I can offer less excuse for Tingha - although the defence issue was always against him as in rep games you have to be roughly the shape of a fridge.

I still think David Fairleigh and Mario Fenech were the best never to represent their state or above - both fantastic first class forwards. Without checking the records, I'll nominate Phil Blake as well, and second Matt Parson's and Luke Burt's nominations.

There are stacks whose origin resume should have been heaps longer, including Matt Bowen, Steve Price (who was ignored untill his late 20's), Clinton Schifcofske, Nathan Hindmarsh, Hasem (suddenly we won when we picked him), Patton, Peachey (made for Origin imho) Scott Prince et al.

Is this the best didnt make Origin/Test side?

1) Luke Patten
2) Nathan Blacklock
3) Tony Martin
4) Steve Ella
5) Luke Burt
6) Jason Taylor
7) Kevin Hastings
8) Matt Parsons
9) Nathan Brown
10) John Skandalis.
11) Mario Fenech
12) David Fairleigh