Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Biased Footy Show reporting

Graf Vynda-k

Chook said:
As opposed to all the knowledgable, insightful, unbiased, factual, researched, relevant information Rebecca Wilson provides the league community?

Piss off moron. My geuss you're either a brain dead rad fem dyke with penis envy or president of Bourbon's fan club. Either way, you're a f**king idiot with no idea.

Chook.

i forgive you your impertinance............this time, but dont make a habit of it.

i understand this is a particularly upsetting time for all those staunch sterlo and fat fans out there who are witnessing the demise of the dynamic duo.........hey, but life goes on, we just need to adjust to the new footyshow regeime and accept that change is inevitable in this every changing universe.

look feather duster, just go out and buy a new set of footyshow dolls and take the old poster of sterlo and fat down from your bedroom ceiling and everythings sweet!!!

astalavista you low riding punk.

m0j0

Graf Vynda-k said:
astalavista you low riding punk.
Don't you get sick of saying that? You are as boring and repetitive as Rebecca "Mullet Head" Wilson...I'm becoming more and more convinced that you two are one and the same.
I think I prefer "Wooo...get some Mut up ya" than your inane catch phrase.

I'd love to see Fatty and co. armed with the Choppies incident.

A please explain if you like.

OVP

iggy plop said:
How biased has some the reporting over this Footy feud been?

Saying Fatty and Sterlo regularly take pot shots at people. When???

Continually bringing up the "dressing in women's clothes" chestnut. When was the last time they wore a dress?

I know the show needs a re-vamp, but for all these media people to support Wilson ahead of real rugby league men is a disgrace.

Not one journo has bothered to expose Wilson as a league hater and an AFL lackey. Not to mention a very poor journalist. This is why many league people hate her. Right from her days at The Fat she has continually talked up the other codes to the detriment of league. Her pathetic Stuart Maxfield v Trent Barrett article was just the latest installment.

Channel Nine as well seem to have left Fatty and Sterlo out in the cold with no support whatsoever.

Great call Iggy. Typical Smellygraph. And league isnt the only victim too. Take a look at the TV wars for racing telecasts between Sky and Thoroughvision (TVN). It just so happens that two employees of TVN, Ray Thomas and Ken Callander happen to be employed by the Smellygraph as well, and their reporting has to be the most biased i think ive ever seen. As a part time punter now and again, i love SKY and i love how all the races were on the 1 channel. Now they want us to fork out more money ... well they can go to hell and i hope TVN dies in the arse.

Sorry for going off topic a bit, but its a great example of the biased reporting in the Smellygraph. All sports cop the same treatment from that joke of a rag.

DIEHARD

----
I find it sick how all the News Ltd journos are jumping into the ring for Rebecca Wilson! They act with such holy riteousness as well!

That's right don't worry about integrity, got to hold that company line!

You should see the sh*t...the utter trash Mike Coleman wrote. And even the dumb bitch from the television section stuck the boot into the Footy Show, oh you are such a hero aren't you?

They have no idea that the overwhelming majority of rugby league fans, I'm talking 90%, are on Fatty and Sterlo's side. They have no idea about rugby league demographics, either do Nine.

They will be in for a rude awakening tonight. I wish I had tickets to the Footy Show!

Footy Show frontmen struggle to shake off new threat

Mike Colman - 19may05

There was movement at the station for the word had passed around that Fatty and Sterlo were in a bit of strife.

And that, south of the Tweed is big, big news.

If ever one needs reminding that Brisbane and Sydney are two cities divided by a common language, a short trip over the border should do the trick.

The launch of a new book to celebrate 25 years of State of Origin was a big event in Sydney.

The NRL was putting on free drinks and a superb feed, and all the cracks were gathered at the fray.

All those who are in the Fatty and Sterlo camp anyway. Blocker Roach wasn't there. They're not mates anymore since Blocker got the rocket from The Footy Show.

Ray Hadley wasn't there either, even though Bolts was tipped to be the boys' co-panellist.

He said he was too busy on radio to take on the extra gig, although everyone knows that the Vautin-Hadley friendship ended when Vautin's best mate Johnny Gibbs left Hadley (then on 2UE) to go to 2GB (where Hadley now hangs his hat, Gibbsy having returned to 2UE) and Bolts gave him both barrels. Still with me?

Arko wasn't there either. He and Fatty are said to be estranged since Fatty and Bozo had a bust-up over the Manly elections.

But the main person who wasn't there was Rebecca Wilson.

For years, Australian newspaper editors have been looking for a sports columnist version of Elvis – the white man who could sing like a black man. And in Rebecca they found it. A woman who writes like a man.

Unfortunately (depending on whose camp you're in) one of the main targets Rebecca has set her sights on in her News Limited Sydney column is The Footy Show (which may or may not have something to do with the fact that Gus Gould works for Channel 9 and nobody at News likes Gus).

Also Danny Weidler has just joined the station and Rebecca and Danny . . . don't get me started).

Anyway, to cut a long story short, when CEO David Gyngell left Channel 9 last week the echoes were heard all the way down to The Footy Show bunker.

As an insider said yesterday: "The geniuses who came in after David left took a look at last week's ratings and said 'this is a disaster'. Then someone who obviously has no idea of what's going on behind the scenes decided the show needed freshening up and came up with the brilliant idea of bringing in Hadley and Wilson."

In Sydney newspapers, Rebecca Wilson was on the front page and all over page three.

Schapelle Corby was on page seven. And down there they say Brisbane is a big country town.

Fatty and Sterlo have apparently told "the geniuses who came in after David" that they'll sit next to Rebecca on the panel but they won't talk to her which, if you know anything about television, means the geniuses are no dummies.

Tonight's edition of The Footy Show promises to be the biggest rater since that night in April 1995 when Fatty, Sterlo, Blocker, Arko, Bozo, Gus and Bolts (they were all mates back then) bashed up John Ribot over Super League.

But it won't have happened without a great deal of pain, angst and moral indignation.

In introducing them to launch State of Origin, 25 Years of Sport's Greatest Rivalry, their Channel 9 co-worker Ray Warren was compassion personified.

"Please welcome them," said Rabs. "They've shown up after a very difficult week." Looking a little shaken but un-stirred, Sterlo told the crowd: "We'll be there on Thursday night doing our best. We love what we do and we'll be giving 100 per cent like we always do, but just let me say this, Paul Vautin IS The Footy Show." To which Fatty added: "It's only a TV show." Only a TV show? That'll do me.

Graf Vynda-k

DIEHARD said:
They have no idea that the overwhelming majority of rugby league fans, I'm talking 90%, are on Fatty and Sterlo's side. They have no idea about rugby league demographics, either do Nine.

what planet are you on??.........for the past 3 years everyone has been unloading on the footyshow saying how crap it is, so how can 90% of rleague fans be on sterlo and fat's side??

the rleague demographic can be described with one word.........bogan, and that's the problem, it's about time this great game changed it's image and became more mainstream and not remain a throwback to the 1950's.

also sterlo saying that "fat is the footyshow" just goes to show how far gone these clowns are........living in lala land.

now we know who the ceative genius behind the show is.......fat, his personality is reflected in the show's style........so in real life he really is an immature purile kiddie.

this fat chappie seems to have made an awful number of enemies, does this say something about him??

Graf Vynda-k

m0j0 said:
Don't you get sick of saying that? You are as boring and repetitive as Rebecca "Mullet Head" Wilson...I'm becoming more and more convinced that you two are one and the same.
I think I prefer "Wooo...get some Mut up ya" than your inane catch phrase.

are you nuts??.........rebecca is totally shaggadelic

so get a dog up ya, ya low riding punk.

potter

Great call Iggy. Typical Smellygraph. And league isnt the only victim too. Take a look at the TV wars for racing telecasts between Sky and Thoroughvision (TVN). It just so happens that two employees of TVN, Ray Thomas and Ken Callander happen to be employed by the Smellygraph as well, and their reporting has to be the most biased i think ive ever seen. As a part time punter now and again, i love SKY and i love how all the races were on the 1 channel. Now they want us to fork out more money ... well they can go to hell and i hope TVN dies in the arse.

OVP Ray Thomas isnt employed by TVN, Ken Callander is and Im sure in his columns there is a footnote declaring that he is an employee of TVN. The telegraph has been very favourable towards Sky whereas the herald is pro TVN.

ali

The reporting of this has been pathetic. They are sticking up for a disgrace of journalist who shouldn't be anywhere near a RL TV show. More clubs should do a Bulldogs and refuse to talk to the lieing scum bag.

DIEHARD

----
Graf Vynda-k said:
what planet are you on??.........for the past 3 years everyone has been unloading on the footyshow saying how crap it is, so how can 90% of rleague fans be on sterlo and fat's side??

Maybe that will give you some idea of the gravity of the situation f**khead.