Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Biased Footy Show reporting

iggy plop

How biased has some the reporting over this Footy feud been?

Saying Fatty and Sterlo regularly take pot shots at people. When???

Continually bringing up the "dressing in women's clothes" chestnut. When was the last time they wore a dress?

I know the show needs a re-vamp, but for all these media people to support Wilson ahead of real rugby league men is a disgrace.

Not one journo has bothered to expose Wilson as a league hater and an AFL lackey. Not to mention a very poor journalist. This is why many league people hate her. Right from her days at The Fat she has continually talked up the other codes to the detriment of league. Her pathetic Stuart Maxfield v Trent Barrett article was just the latest installment.

Channel Nine as well seem to have left Fatty and Sterlo out in the cold with no support whatsoever.

Jae

I was thinking the same thing about the 'men in dresses' comments. Journo's are getting worse by the day, and when something media + sports related comes out then they all manage to scrape themselves off the floor and write some sh*t piece about it.

iggy plop

Could you imagine the AFL Footy Show people giving a position on the panel to someone who is more sympathetic towards rugby league?

I think not.

choisir

spot on Iggy. And could you imagine the Afl Footy show considering employing a gossip columnist??

LRC

So many talk back callers say the same things...
1/ the womans clothes issue (havent seen it for ages)
2/ they dont talk enough footy.. (this wouldnt be the hosts decision..this would come from the producers)

I think the show has become predictable and sometimes boring....it used to be edgy and very unpredictable which I enjoyed.
However...the last 2 shows have been great..I even think the PNG was one of the best Ide seen...was very educational and positive.

I dont think Wilson will make a difference to the contents..thats up to the producers.
But its always good to see a new face even if I dislike the person...
Time will tell.

Foz

Vautin regularly takes pot shots at people.
Whats doin there?
How bigs his nose?
Look at his hair.
What about the size of his melon.
He has so many little comments during the show people take it for granted.
Sterling sometimes laughs along but sometimes I dont know if he's laughing with Fatty or at him.
Reg Reagan makes a living out of it.

They used to dress up regularly with those anti ads.
That doesnt seem to happen as much now but the stigma lasts.

I can see where the criticism comes from.

As for Wilson. Why have her?
Her attempts at humour on channel 7 proved that she is no comedian and her attempts at writing in the Telegraph proves she's no League expert.

Lets hope there's a fight and one or all of them walk off and dont come back.

The more I think about it, the more I'm thinking this is all an orchestrated stew... A decision was made (probably by the new 9 boss) to take the show's focus back to footy, and in order to achieve it they've "invented" a conflict storyline so that the move isn't seen as a slap in the face of the "entertainment style" the show has striven for over recent years.

The focus is more on the personalities and (tuning in for) the resolution, rather than on the "ratings failure" of the way things were headed. Other journos seem in on it (is this NRL's preferred direction too, using their News Ltd partners?), and this article is just the final touch. The Wilson appearance might be a one week ratings boost to get more people tuning into the new footy version of show, and then it carries on without Wilson, but with new viewers, after that. (Substitute Hadley for Wilson had he accepted and it probably would have been the same game plan...)

Or maybe I'm just getting too cynical in my old age...?

Graf Vynda-k

the executives at ch9 are sick of sterlo and fat, who have developed really big egos and now think they run the station.

it didn't help when these two managed to weasle a lucrative contract extention from now sacked boss gary burns........even thou their ratings were heading south.

the new executives are sticking it right up these two clowns to show them who's boss and who's running the show, that's why they want to introduce anyone sterlo and fat are feuding with onto the show.........just to get them upset.

hopefully after a while of rebecca followed by hadley, then blocka, then fulton those two prima donas will pull the plug and ch9 can get out if their contract.

this is the danger of living in tv land folks........some of these clowns start to believe their own hype and sadly sterlo and fat began to think they were genuine entertainers and commedians not just boofheaded ex league players. that's where they went wrong.......they actually think the stuff they do is funny and they dont understand why ratings are bad and noone else is larfing.

Chook

Graf Vynda-k said:
the executives at ch9 are sick of sterlo and fat, who have developed really big egos and now think they run the station.

it didn't help when these two managed to weasle a lucrative contract extention from now sacked boss gary burns........even thou their ratings were heading south.

the new executives are sticking it right up these two clowns to show them who's boss and who's running the show, that's why they want to introduce anyone sterlo and fat are feuding with onto the show.........just to get them upset.

hopefully after a while of rebecca followed by hadley, then blocka, then fulton those two prima donas will pull the plug and ch9 can get out if their contract.

this is the danger of living in tv land folks........some of these clowns start to believe their own hype and sadly sterlo and fat began to think they were genuine entertainers and commedians not just boofheaded ex league players. that's where they went wrong.......they actually think the stuff they do is funny and they dont understand why ratings are bad and noone else is larfing.

As opposed to all the knowledgable, insightful, unbiased, factual, researched, relevant information Rebecca Wilson provides the league community?

Piss off moron. My geuss you're either a brain dead rad fem dyke with penis envy or president of Bourbon's fan club. Either way, you're a f**king idiot with no idea.

Chook.

The fact that it already has tongues wagging guarentees them of a rating sucess on the first few nights, till people make thier minds up.

I agree the show needs something and alot of the "tonight show" stlye has probably been brought in to attrack the whole family, rather than just the blokes.

Frankly I couldn't care less what they do, I never watch it.

Chook

bartman said:
The more I think about it, the more I'm thinking this is all an orchestrated stew... A decision was made (probably by the new 9 boss) to take the show's focus back to footy, and in order to achieve it they've "invented" a conflict storyline so that the move isn't seen as a slap in the face of the "entertainment style" the show has striven for over recent years.

The focus is more on the personalities and (tuning in for) the resolution, rather than on the "ratings failure" of the way things were headed. Other journos seem in on it (is this NRL's preferred direction too, using their News Ltd partners?), and this article is just the final touch. The Wilson appearance might be a one week ratings boost to get more people tuning into the new footy version of show, and then it carries on without Wilson, but with new viewers, after that. (Substitute Hadley for Wilson had he accepted and it probably would have been the same game plan...)

Don't be so sure Bartman. I was talking to a mate of mine last night about this very issue and we asked each other the same question, is Wilson the smoke screen?

There's been no confirmation that the she thing will actually make an appearance, yet Roy Masters mentions it specifically?

Hadley has left the door ajar for what he called "guest" appearences, but again nothing is confirmed.

Could this be their coy little way of introducing the "new" panelist, by playing a joke on us? Or is my Thursday paranioa running wild again?

Chook.

Big Mick

Maybe 9 is thinking

"Ah well, if we can't fire the buggers, we'll make em Quit!"

Why bring onto the show, arguably the 2 most noters haters of Sterlo and Vautin.

rugged

bartman said:

I think you've got it correct. And I think it's a great ploy. I'll be watching - haven't watched except for snippets (boring ones it seems) in the past year or two. Something to stir up the usual suspects who work on the Footy Show and keep them interested and interesting.

Rexxy

Graf Vynda-k said:
hopefully after a while of rebecca followed by hadley, then blocka, then fulton .

That my friend would be known as a coterie of merkins. The most evil line up since Hitler recruited Hess, Gobels and Himmler. Think Little River Band reunion and multiply the evil by 10,000 fold. There are not as many demons in hell that could match it with the above mentioned team. oh, maybe Arko.