Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Big Day Out 2013

Nevcost

98 or 99 I think, meh I actually liked last years lineup but this lineup looks pretty ordinary and not worth make the journey down to the Gold Coast. So unless they pull a good act out of their arse in the 2nd announcement, I'm not going

Firey_Dragon

I have free tickets to go see RHCP with free booze in September in San Francisco. I'm still contemplating whether I'll put myself through the pain.

Honestly I wouldn't pay $10 to see any band on that lineup, well maybe Band of Horses... Just.

Big Pete

Turned out to be one of the better festivals I've been to.

Caught...

Gary Clarke Jr.
Jeff The Brotherhood
Vampire Weekend
Yeah Yeah Yeahs
The Killers
Red Hot Chilli Peppers
Animal Collective
Sleigh Bells

None of them were bad and pretty much all of them were good. Heard great things about Gambino, Off!, Crystal Castles, Death Grips, Foals & Alabama Shakes as well.

joshie

I hit it up and caught a few various acts!

Grindspoon were great
Nicky Romero was awesome! Went off in the boiler room!
The Killers are always good to listen to!
B.O.B absolutely killed it, had the whole crowd pumping and was such a great set
360 was his usual self with some pumping tunes and calling the crowd mother f**kers
RHCP absolutely disappointed me. They just seemed bored and started with a song not many people would know or get pumped up to!
The Bloody Beetroots were AMAZING! Going halfway through RHCP set, this was the up tempo change I needed. It was awesome! They even incorporated some sort of 60's song into their set. Best way to finish.

azzah72

It was my Fav BDO I've been to surprisingly.

I loved killers, enjoyed chili's, Gambino rocked, B.o.B rocked, Gary clarke jr rocked, alabama shakes rocked, sleigh bells were cool, Grinners always great.

Had a top time!!

Chow town was awesome too!

Just spewin i missed the beetroots.

Danish

I thought the Sydney show was shithouse IMO.

The bands were fine (except RHCP. 75% of the songs played were from Californication or later. Terrible set list), but the organisation was at Soundwave levels of disgusting. There was just no food available as the lines at the stupid "chowtown" stores were about 50 deep, with the only other vendors allowed in the place the f**king horrendous food trucks. Whats more the Chowtown wankers packed up at 5 or 6pm. The usualy crazy cult pizza and row of indian, thai, chinese and all sorts of other options they used to have were far superior (and not charging $14 for 2 slices of bland pork on a stale bread roll).

Drink service was particularly shit, although to be expected given the temperature. Also, despite allowing people to bring in empty water bottles, they weren't allowing you to fill them up from the iced water jugs they had at the bar (disgusting toilet taps only).

Sunscreen was being charged for everywhere but at St Johns.

Transport was not included in the price of the ticket.

In short, BDO can get f**ked. Been going every year for ages but short of an awesome line up and an inability to get sideshow tickets next year then 2013 is my last.

Haffa

Sounds exactly like my experience on the Goldy two years ago. Vowed never to go back after that.

Red Bear

Turned out to be one of the better festivals I've been to.

Caught...

Gary Clarke Jr.
Jeff The Brotherhood
Vampire Weekend
Yeah Yeah Yeahs
The Killers
Red Hot Chilli Peppers
Animal Collective
Sleigh Bells

None of them were bad and pretty much all of them were good. Heard great things about Gambino, Off!, Crystal Castles, Death Grips, Foals & Alabama Shakes as well.
I really wish I went and saw Off! last thursday in Sydney. Keith Morris from Black Flag and the Circle Jerks, pretty legendary name in the punk world, plus Toe to Toe and Chinese Burns Unit (Jay Frenzals other band). Was apparently a ripper show.

Heard some of the live set from RHCP on friday night, just made me realise I dont particularly like them anymore. Glad I didnt go, I would've fried in that weather.

Anyone see Aginst Me! of Off!?

joshie

I thought the Sydney show was shithouse IMO.

The bands were fine (except RHCP. 75% of the songs played were from Californication or later. Terrible set list), but the organisation was at Soundwave levels of disgusting. There was just no food available as the lines at the stupid "chowtown" stores were about 50 deep, with the only other vendors allowed in the place the f**king horrendous food trucks. Whats more the Chowtown wankers packed up at 5 or 6pm. The usualy crazy cult pizza and row of indian, thai, chinese and all sorts of other options they used to have were far superior (and not charging $14 for 2 slices of bland pork on a stale bread roll).

Drink service was particularly shit, although to be expected given the temperature. Also, despite allowing people to bring in empty water bottles, they weren't allowing you to fill them up from the iced water jugs they had at the bar (disgusting toilet taps only).

Sunscreen was being charged for everywhere but at St Johns.

Transport was not included in the price of the ticket.

In short, BDO can get f**ked. Been going every year for ages but short of an awesome line up and an inability to get sideshow tickets next year then 2013 is my last.

On the Gold Coast I found heaps of food places, over priced but lots of it, we could fill water bottles up at two locations with ice cold water, got a bus ride in and back for 5 bucks, free sunscreen whenever you asked and a good day.

So maybe Sydney just suck or they learned from their mistakes haha

Big Pete

I would have liked to have seen Against Me! sadly they were lumped together with a lot of bands I had no real interest in. Sydney served as a good cautionary tale so the group I was with held off going until 3ish, wise decision too, even after missing 4 hours we were all pretty beat up.

Did hear good things about them, according to one mate they were the real festival starters.

As Joshie said, food stalls were in abundance on the GC and were still running well into RHCP set. From what I understand, the venue determines how those stalls are run and not the organisers so that might explain the difference.

Unfortunately future Queensland BDOs probably won't be anywhere near as good as Parklands is being converted into some athletes village in preparation for the Commonwealth games.

Speaking of RHCP, I'd been studying their set-lists heading into the BDO, so I knew what to expect and that I could pretty much drift off to Animal Collective after the first few songs. Their hits went off and the entire main stage was packed tighter than it had been for RATM, perhaps even more than Tool in 07. Sadly, they were few and far between and the Stadium Arcadium & Here With Me stuff fell a bit stale.

I'm glad I could tick them off but I've never been that big a fan outside of Blood Sugar Sex Magik & Californication.

IanG - I hadn't heard of a couple I had seen either until a few days prior. Half the fun for me is discovering new music.

Danish

On the Gold Coast I found heaps of food places, over priced but lots of it, we could fill water bottles up at two locations with ice cold water, got a bus ride in and back for 5 bucks, free sunscreen whenever you asked and a good day.

So maybe Sydney just suck or they learned from their mistakes haha

Sydney organisation definitely sucked, especially compared to previous years.

Having attended plenty of festivals BDO was always the leader in how it was run on the day. This year though it seemed that they just completely f**ked it in Sydney. The food stalls was a particular annoyance as it was advertised as this brilliant addition (and indeed sounded pretty good on the website) but ended up with not enough food stalls with plenty closing early (probably pussing out due to the heat)