Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Big four offer to take pay cuts to stick together

mrpwnd

Its poor attitude from the 4 players in the club.
They basically say that they don't care who gets the sack from the club so long as the 4 of them can continue to f**k around with the NRLs system.
I'm glad the refusals for Cronk as a potential signings are mutual.

parra.letic

Disgraceful if this is allowed to happen!!

I was under the impression that all Storm contracts that are already signed should still stand, ie if Inglis, Smith and Slater are on 600 then for the duration of their signed contract periods they should count as 600k against the storm cap. Therefore any players contracted to the club next season should not be able to renegotiate the same contract, only by releasing contracted players or not signing uncontracted players could the club get under the cap.

???

If this isnt what is happening then it is an absolute disgrace the Kingston incident should be rammed down Gallops throat until he chokes on it.

barney gumble

I can't see it happenning, but if it does it will be a disgrace. Every other club, including the Eels, who have in the past been denied the chance to let players take pay cuts to let other players stay, will take the NRL to Court for restraint of trade.

The big 4 take up at least half the salary cap. That leaves 21 more players for the remaining half. Surely that can't work.

I reckon it's going to happen. That's why Inglis knocked back the Broncos offer.

I will bet they already know what's happening & it's a done deal.

If they are not penalised in some way,shape or form (other than having no points this year) I will seriously have to consider what code I am going to follow. I may have to look at suburban rugby - although my team - Gordon- is not doing to well this year.:o:x

Is there someone we can write to, or a petition we can sign or something? I'd be very disillusioned if these motherf**king skunkbags were allowed to take pay cuts when people like Kevin Kingston had to leave despite the fact several Eels were more than happy to take pay cuts but the NRL said no.

Just on another point...

So yesterday there was no mention of paycuts to keep any of their other 10 players on the chopping block, then all of a sudden the extent of the rorting is exposed and their cap for next year will be even smaller.... so the 4 fun boys now start talking about pay cuts so they can stay together???

Seriously, with a clique like that, I don't know what would attract a player to joining the club.

I've never hated a team as much as Melbourne and I don't think I've hated a player as much as those 4. I'm glad we won't get Cronk next year, he has a sh*t attitude.

Exactly - imagine being one of the poor 10 blokes the club publicly said they'd be happy to let go to keep those 4 merkins together.

A f**king disgrace of a club.

I think if they take pay cuts we better make some noise, we need to get names on a petition to the NRL to say they are wrong the have given teams favors over others. Like Gasnier singing with Dragons etc.
We have lost heaps of players over the past 5 years.

born an eel

If they are allowed to do this every other club will have a blue print to a premiership. Recruit every player they want by offering him double his normal pay, after we get caught you only have to reduce their pay for the next year to normal level, they still get to keep the overpayment from previous years, so end up in front.

One year you play for no points but the following year you have a dream team, sounds like a plan to me.

Delboy

I emailed Gallop on the NRL link already, and stated that if he allow this to happen he will offend 99% of fans, we were not allowed to keep Kingston last year by players reducing current contracts as it was not in the spirit of the rules or salary cap or whatever

What a crock of hot you know what, they risk putting the majority of league fans offside if they allow the cheating scum to get away with this.

I would suggest we wait and see what happens first, you never know, Gallop may have grown a pair overnight :^o

Last season we were beaten by a team 1 million dollars over the cap :x f**king cheating Merkins.

Tax returns ! We want their tax returns ! :x

You know what - I think that is what a lot of them really have to worry about.

There will be people in the ATO salivating at the chance of chasing them.

The outcome from defrauding the tax office could be much worse, than what can happen to them in a footy competition.

AUDIT - is a VERY scary word! :lol:

I emailed Gallop on the NRL link already, and stated that if he allow this to happen he will offend 99% of fans, we were not allowed to keep Kingston last year by players reducing current contracts as it was not in the spirit of the rules or salary cap or whatever

What a crock of hot you know what, they risk putting the majority of league fans offside if they allow the cheating scum to get away with this.

I agree with you but I do not want any of them at our club.

De-register the merkins (if they were found out to know about it; the report is claiming no evidence they knew of it).