Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Biggest “Classic Sydney City Roosters” Moment

Seriously though where would the Roosters be without a rich benefactor do you think they would have had the same success ?.

More to do with having a successful board and management I'd suggest. Despite their small fanbase they would be one of the most financially viable clubs which is quite an achievement.

They have around $13.5mill in the bank and assets of $156mill.

The football club opertaes on a budget (2019) of $29.7million, and received a $2.1million grant from their LC.
Roosters sposnorship portfolio is very healthy with $8.4mill form sposnsrships and corporate box sales.

Their fan base generated revenue is:
$1.8mill gate receipts
$1.8mill memberships
$700k merch
https://www.roosters.com.au/siteassets/2020/documents/sr2019-annualreport-spreads_opt.pdf

Generalzod

Its much to do with the fact that the fans and players are the epitome of typical eastern suburbs flogs.
In all fairness I grew up in Mascot in the 70s when I was in public school most of the majority of kids who where of Greek background followed the Roosters or Bunnies I was the only who followed the Sharks...

Headless Chook

Same here

For a club with no fans we are well supported in the shire.

Sharks 1st, daylight 2nd, saints 3rd, daylight 4th.

We have a strong case for 5th in my experience.
I too grew up and lived in the Shire for 35 years before moving to the ACT 20 years ago. I’ve always supported Easts. Even with almost all of the kids at school and most of my mates following the Sharks it never entered my mind to follow suit.

Interesting - I’m seeing you claiming that roosters are bucking the ‘bald people won’t win GFs’ trend, but I don’t think Fitzgibbon alone proves it.
Further research required. I proposed that you take McGregor on as head coach to really see if Roosters can change the fates.

Well take Robinson.

LOL. Nice try :D

Mr Parramatta

The fact that they are one of the best teams of all time and seem to be getting better yet I still don’t give a single shred of a shit about them.

They’re a nothing club with a shitty fan base.
To be a shitty fan base, u have to have fans!!

blue bags

remember back then. decades ago, roosters reserve grade side team, was fully stacked with 1st grade players bought from other teams, just so roosters didn't play against them , that was a rort boo

Care to be more specific? Last time I can remember our reserves having anywhere near that depth was 1974. Manly on the other hand had Ray Brown playing reserve grade cause Max Krillich was the first grade hooker in the 1980s.

blue bags

images
sonny bill would have palmed him off