Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blake Lawrie .........Zzzzzzzz

Como Connection

He's high effort I'll give him that and he showed last season that his effort really made him into a decent player.

However, it's starting to very quickly show that if he isn't putting 110% every game, which is hard to do over long periods of time, he wouldn't be anywhere near any other first grade sides in this comp. It's unfortunately a fact as I do like Block.

Also, sorry to say, even though it's great to want to be in the conversation for rep footy, it most likely will not happen.
Very hard to do 110%!
CC

Parko1310

could his form be due to his mate lomax given the boot ...?
He's always been terrible.. it might have some sort of effect, but it hasn't majorly affected his output. He's an awful player. Year on year players are getting bigger, faster and stronger. Blake is the same beanbag shape he always has been, is still as slow as he's always been and still makes zero dents in the defensive line indicating a lack of strength improvement. He will just not get better whilst others do. He's not good, it's time those still pretending he is move on from the idea

2010Dragons

Every player in the 2024 squad looks fitter and has improved their discipline and more importantly ball handling skill compared to last year.
But Lawrie has gone backwards, he looks unfit, he gets pushed back by players half his size. He doesn't break the defensive line and once again gave away ridiculous penalties.

He needs to drop to NSW cup.
Also M Molo needs to be dropped. (This bloke must be the shortest PROP in NRL history.)
Ravalava need to be dropped too. Looks like he is not focused on the game.

He is in the conversation, when they say "pass"
Worst thing he could of said and done was open his trap about that in a press conference.
Newcastle made it personal in the middle tonight. The media talked us up about overpowering their pack.
Bloody death riding us right there.
We did over-power their pack. Especially in the first 25 minutes.

maestro1

A dead give away is Lawrie s body shape. That is not the modern game's shape for a middle. Middles need to look like Leota, Fisher Harris, TerellMay, Whyte, AFB, Debellin, Haas, Collins. Lawrie looks like a cream bun. The modern game won't carry this type of middle, unless that player has something special to offer. Unfortunately, Blake is like vanilla ice-cream....nice but nothing special. Hope he proves me wrong

VodkaSaint

A dead give away is Lawrie s body shape. That is not the modern game's shape for a middle. Middles need to look like Leota, Fisher Harris, TerellMay, Whyte, AFB, Debellin, Haas, Collins. Lawrie looks like a cream bun. The modern game won't carry this type of middle, unless that player has something special to offer. Unfortunately, Blake is like vanilla ice-cream....nice but nothing special. Hope he proves me wrong
more like a cream ban

TheRev

I feel like players can come in different shapes and sizes... to'o was laughed at on the wing, cotter far too small for lock etc..

Laurie lost a lot of fat over the off-season, and it could be that he needs another off season to keep it going and bulld back up.. But it could also be that he needs that extra weight given he doesn't have a step.. So maybe he needs to be a bit fatter..

He also may still be hampered by injury...

There aren't many middles out there + he wants to be here.. Local Jr.. Signed till 2026, I dont think his career is over.. Im not opposed to him playing reserve grade though..

At some point perhaps Tonga or Toby or Latu will be a better prospect, but I dont think its yet.. Toby maybe gets a game soon to see how he goes, but he doesn't make huge impact at the top level yet either.. He will get better in time.

Phantom V

I thought if any player was going to benefit from Flanno’s ‘fitter, faster, stronger’ training it was Lawrie and at the start of the season he looked a bit leaner. Since then he looks like he’s been running an account at the local Maccas after training. I gave him a pass last year but still lucky to be playing first grade IMO. He’s a confidence player and we have too many of those in our team at the moment.

Auntie.Gerald

guys i think everyone is on notice

It is a fairly easy game by numbers.

We know what has to be achieved by every single player and the team stats wise.

line speed for every player
metres gained and with what power to set up next play of the ball
tackle wrestle time slowing down the ruck
kick returns
errors / turnovers

etc etc etc etc

Flano is demanding this of the players and some are falling short
They are being exposed indv and as a team

the torch is being applied

BLM01

F

Fair enough
IMO at present as out of form Blake is sitting at 4 in the pecking order if you count JDB as a prop who is No 2 or 3 behind Moto then hopefully Sele
As everyone had noted including coach we need 1 more good prop to put pressure on existing with one of the young ones eg Fifita given time to mature in the role
I don’t want to see JDB play 13, but not sure Eisen or RFM fit that role yet