Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Boyd to quit club

I am smiling from ear to ear. We need to boo the spineless twat at the Titans game. Send him and Mr All Talk on their way. His books are a joke now. Man in the mirror indeed. He can spend his days knowing he betrayed a club in it's hour of need.

Spot On

Every cloud has a silver lining :clap:

No probs with the coach and fullback leaving after this weekend.

Knight Vision

All the dramas with his mrs over the years he's been at knights wouldn't help his head space
Theres some juicy gossip....I didnt know he had personal problems. That might explain a lot then because at Newcastle he's been crap. My first thought is who the f@c$k would marry that prick?

Knight Vision

I'm the opposite. I want us to go on a run so he looks foolish with his comments about the players being crap.

Thats pretty much what he has said. I'm almost in shock. He better leave Gagai, Leilua, Mamo , Clydsale , Sims , Tapine etc alone.

Noname36

Just a question from an outsider, but where exactly did he say the players were crap?

He was asked in the presser had the players let him down and he said something along the lines of "I'm not the one out there playing bad but I hired some of the blokes that are out there so I have to take some responsibility".

The general sentiment though of admitting they're a lost cause that he can't fix is enough.

knightsarmy

Sounds like the players were pretty shocked (about Wayne). Doesn't bode well for us for the rest of the season performance wise I don't think.

No i didn't think it could get any worse , but spoon is definitely back on - I don't think the guuys heads will be focused come Sunday

Nuffy

I think we should try and keep him.

He would know he needs to stand on his own two feet and he may not have a lot of options based on the media.

I reckon we should try and convince him that he is valued and can be part of a special town and one of the leaders to bring Newcastle back. I think if he feels wanted, he might come around.

I wouldn't give up on him, but he needs to be nurtured, particularly after his upbringing.

Dave_

Let him go. 27 is the start of the decline for most outside backs anyway. It seems that way anyhow.

Alex28

I don't reckon he'll find another club to go to that isn't worse than us - as such we'll keep him...

Still Nutty

He would know he needs to stand on his own two feet and he may not have a lot of options based on the media.

I reckon we should try and convince him that he is valued and can be part of a special town and one of the leaders to bring Newcastle back. I think if he feels wanted, he might come around.

I wouldn't give up on him, but he needs to be nurtured, particularly after his upbringing.

Sorry but I don't want any player that needs to be 'convinced' to play for the Knights!

I'm at every home game and he is not a $600k a year player when it comes to commitment and heart (and the $600k should be enough 'convincing' to step up every week and at least put in 100%)

Personally I think he is the greatest scourge on the attitude at the club -

• he's constantly complaining behind the try line about others when a try is scored;
  • is nearly always out of position or not seen to be the last line of defence most of the time himself;
  • has significantly underperformed since the day he arrived (except for a few very rare good weeks), yet has never been dropped for his underperformance by Bennett
If you are going to try and establish a benchmark on personal performance of individuals but run double standards when it comes to leaving an underperforming sook on the field, then you (as coach) are to significantly to blame for affecting player unity and team performance.

And I find it really pi$$ poor that they time this around the Rise for Alex round...

Happy to see them both leave now, give Rick Stone the run for the rest of the year and hope the players stick it up Bennett and Boyd and scrape into the 8.

Knight Vision

Sorry but I don't want any player that needs to be 'convinced' to play for the Knights!

I'm at every home game and he is not a $600k a year player when it comes to commitment and heart (and the $600k should be enough 'convincing' to step up every week and at least put in 100%)

Personally I think he is the greatest scourge on the attitude at the club -

• he's constantly complaining behind the try line about others when a try is scored;
  • is nearly always out of position or not seen to be the last line of defence most of the time himself;
  • has significantly underperformed since the day he arrived (except for a few very rare good weeks), yet has never been dropped for his underperformance by Bennett
If you are going to try and establish a benchmark on personal performance of individuals but run double standards when it comes to leaving an underperforming sook on the field, then you (as coach) are to significantly to blame for affecting player unity and team performance.

And I find it really pi$$ poor that they time this around the Rise for Alex round...

Happy to see them both leave now, give Rick Stone the run for the rest of the year and hope the players stick it up Bennett and Boyd and scrape into the 8.
You hit the nail on the head there, I suspect this is a very under rated contributing factor to our performance this year.

Isn't that what we've tried the past 3 years already?

Nuffy

News is reporting that Boyd is linked to the Raiders.

Is he really that desperate?

Surely just pure speculation.

doggone

Well the whole thing is pretty messy. Lets hope Stoney can get em going. I am sure things can only get better.

I thought the saying was pay peanuts get monkeys.:-( Not for Newcastle Pay Heaps and get no results,:-(